Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Breads & Baked Goods or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz

Wheat Free- Gluten Free- Dairy Free. Our bread is kept fresh through a highly developed vacuum packing process and guaranteed until each best before date on the package. With a long shelf life you can enjoy your favorites continuously. Since 1962 when we first created low protein products for renal pre-dialysis patients we have striven to meet the challenging requirements for diet restricted consumers. We not only offer wheat free gluten free products but also products for low protein diets egg free and dairy free products. Our bakery is dedicated to wheat free gluten free baking guaranteeing that contamination from gluten will not occur. Our innovative packaging gives our products a 1-year shelf life without the need for refrigeration. We bake our products as orders are received to insure that the freshest product is available.  .  
Overall rating:
3.956 / 5
4
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
75 out of 91(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlutenfreeKate
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Better than most
 October 10, 2014
"This bread tastes much like white bread when toasted with butter/margarine. Much lighter than regular gluten free breads that tend to be very dense and heavy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bthom
fromcleveland, oh
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
affordable and light weight
 October 9, 2014
"problems with gluten free bread is that they are expensive, the flavor is different depending on what it is made of(bean, rice, tapioca flours)
a lot of them have to be kept in the freezer and the weight of loaf is double the weight of a full size reg loaf of bread(bc the flour is more dense). this loaf is light, the price is not bad(the more you buy the less per loaf), the flavor9if you've had gluten free bf you know how bad they can be) this is plain, and they can be stored in a cabinet.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kelbelou
fromLos Angeles, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tiny tasty toast
 September 30, 2014
"I went ahead and purchased three loaf because I couldn't go wrong on the price. The only downside is the slices are tiny but they are tasty so I can live with it. What I also enjoy is it doesn't take forever
for the bread to toast a nice color as well.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
munshyne
fromVirginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This product has great taste and texture.
 September 12, 2014
"I've had to be on a gluten free diet for 15 years now and have tried several types of bread. This is the best in comparison to regular bread."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AngelBearClaire
fromNashua NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reasonable price, nice toasted
 September 1, 2014
"Gluten, dairy, egg free - taste free ... as my friend jokes. But this bread is not bad. The slices are small, but that's OK as I can eat 2 small instead of one. The package isn't too large, but that's OK too, as no one else in the house wants to try my gluten free stuff. Would recommend."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SLSW
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Toast
 August 20, 2014
"I love this bread, it makes great toast and grilled cheese for both my daughter and myself. It crumbles easy if used for regular sandwiches but the taste is good. I order at least 4 loafs a month!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HappyCatToo
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great when toasted
 August 10, 2014
"I froze one loaf, put in air tight container. Defrosted by letting it sit out on counter. It was perfectly fine. You must lightly toast this bread. Very small slices, but I was very happy with the taste and quality.
Wasn't thrilled about having to buy 3 loaves, so I gave one loaf to my sister as I didn't know how it would freeze and kept the 3rd in the fridge. But now that I know I can safely freeze it, buying 3 loaves is fine. Great for sandwiches or open-face snacks, like PB&J."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
vintagegoodness
fromColumbus, OH
I call it Tiny Toast...
 July 12, 2014
"I am new to trying gluten free products, so I am still in the sticker shock phase I guess... This bread tastes good and toasts well, but be warned - the loaf is about half the size of a normal loaf of bread, and the slices are about half the size of a normal slice of bread. I call it Tiny Toast! I like how it keeps in the cupboard for a year if you don't open it, and for a week in the fridge once opened. I do appreciate Vitacost's price - it is cheaper than what I saw when I was looking in the store, those prices about made me have a heart attack in the isle!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NotionView
fromSaint Petersburg FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Disappointed
 July 9, 2014
"I was REALLY excited to receive this gluten-free bread! I have not eaten bread in about 5 years...it was HORRIBLE! The packaging looked promising but the bread was dry and tasteless. It literally fell apart when i bit into it. I could have more effectively eaten bread crumbs!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyAnna
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good for gluten-free on a budget
 June 29, 2014
"I prefer Udi's GF bread but it costs twice as much. This bread has a good taste and texture, but is not as filling. I like that you don't have to keep it frozen. I put slices in sandwich baggies and refrigerate it to last over the week."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Betsy1945
fromSanta Barbara, Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
If you need to have low carb this works
 June 18, 2014
"Not too bad compared to the paleo stuff that is out there.
If you need low sugar and low carb this is a decent alternative.
Put nut butter or cheese on it and it works even better.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hazelsmom
fromGeorgia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good for gluten free bread
 June 8, 2014
"I miss real bread, but this is one of the best gluten free substitutes. Makes good sandwiches."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromColumbus,GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
strange bread:-)
 May 27, 2014
"There are a few things I like to do with this bread like
make french toast or toast with butter on it. My
replacement for bread that I cant have. A friend suggested
it. She makes peanutbutter and jelly sandwiches out of it. It
is dry and not like your regular bread. Experment!!
I use it a lot. Good price! Thank you vitacost.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
popi
fromMarion SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 March 22, 2014
"Was OK. But not much texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bnamommyisfun
Great price!!
 December 4, 2013
"This gluten free bread does not have the best texture, but it makes delicious toast and French toast. My GF daughter is always happy with her PB and J on this bread. By far the best deal on GF bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisa22
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gluten free, delcious, and low calories
 November 23, 2013
"This is my favorite gluten free bread/toast. I love that it tastes so good when toasted (this is the gluten free bread a prefer), and also that it is low calories. I find it much better than any other gluten free bread I have tried. I tastes like brioche. I put either some butter, almond butter, or peanut butter, and it makes a delicious snack or lunch as well as for breakfast."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CollegeBuyer
fromNorthfield, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product with great shelf life!
 November 18, 2013
"This loaf is a great option for the health conscious eater! It also helps it has an incredible shelf life, due to vacuum sealing, for large quantities ordered!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Globugg
Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
 November 9, 2013
"The product is too dry for me, even when I microwave it according to the directions on the package."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
clifshan
fromdemorest, ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
glad I found you
 November 7, 2013
"I like the fact I don't have to drive 30 miles to get this product. The only place I could find it was a long drive and now am very happy to order and receive my bread at the house. THANKS"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WDMAmy
fromWest Des Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good, but a little dry
 March 18, 2013
"This is one of the better GF breads, but it tends to be a little dry. Best used either toasted or warmed up in the microwave. My kids like it better than "regular" bread :-)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next