Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Breads & Baked Goods or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz

Wheat Free- Gluten Free- Dairy Free. Our bread is kept fresh through a highly developed vacuum packing process and guaranteed until each best before date on the package. With a long shelf life you can enjoy your favorites continuously. Since 1962 when we first created low protein products for renal pre-dialysis patients we have striven to meet the challenging requirements for diet restricted consumers. We not only offer wheat free gluten free products but also products for low protein diets egg free and dairy free products. Our bakery is dedicated to wheat free gluten free baking guaranteeing that contamination from gluten will not occur. Our innovative packaging gives our products a 1-year shelf life without the need for refrigeration. We bake our products as orders are received to insure that the freshest product is available.  .  
Overall rating:
3.954 / 5
4
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
70 out of 86(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SLSW
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Toast
 August 20, 2014
"I love this bread, it makes great toast and grilled cheese for both my daughter and myself. It crumbles easy if used for regular sandwiches but the taste is good. I order at least 4 loafs a month!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HappyCatToo
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great when toasted
 August 10, 2014
"I froze one loaf, put in air tight container. Defrosted by letting it sit out on counter. It was perfectly fine. You must lightly toast this bread. Very small slices, but I was very happy with the taste and quality.
Wasn't thrilled about having to buy 3 loaves, so I gave one loaf to my sister as I didn't know how it would freeze and kept the 3rd in the fridge. But now that I know I can safely freeze it, buying 3 loaves is fine. Great for sandwiches or open-face snacks, like PB&J."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
vintagegoodness
fromColumbus, OH
I call it Tiny Toast...
 July 12, 2014
"I am new to trying gluten free products, so I am still in the sticker shock phase I guess... This bread tastes good and toasts well, but be warned - the loaf is about half the size of a normal loaf of bread, and the slices are about half the size of a normal slice of bread. I call it Tiny Toast! I like how it keeps in the cupboard for a year if you don't open it, and for a week in the fridge once opened. I do appreciate Vitacost's price - it is cheaper than what I saw when I was looking in the store, those prices about made me have a heart attack in the isle!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NotionView
fromSaint Petersburg FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Disappointed
 July 9, 2014
"I was REALLY excited to receive this gluten-free bread! I have not eaten bread in about 5 years...it was HORRIBLE! The packaging looked promising but the bread was dry and tasteless. It literally fell apart when i bit into it. I could have more effectively eaten bread crumbs!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyAnna
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good for gluten-free on a budget
 June 29, 2014
"I prefer Udi's GF bread but it costs twice as much. This bread has a good taste and texture, but is not as filling. I like that you don't have to keep it frozen. I put slices in sandwich baggies and refrigerate it to last over the week."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Betsy1945
fromSanta Barbara, Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
If you need to have low carb this works
 June 18, 2014
"Not too bad compared to the paleo stuff that is out there.
If you need low sugar and low carb this is a decent alternative.
Put nut butter or cheese on it and it works even better.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hazelsmom
fromGeorgia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good for gluten free bread
 June 8, 2014
"I miss real bread, but this is one of the best gluten free substitutes. Makes good sandwiches."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromColumbus,GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
strange bread:-)
 May 27, 2014
"There are a few things I like to do with this bread like
make french toast or toast with butter on it. My
replacement for bread that I cant have. A friend suggested
it. She makes peanutbutter and jelly sandwiches out of it. It
is dry and not like your regular bread. Experment!!
I use it a lot. Good price! Thank you vitacost.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
popi
fromMarion SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 March 22, 2014
"Was OK. But not much texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bnamommyisfun
Great price!!
 December 4, 2013
"This gluten free bread does not have the best texture, but it makes delicious toast and French toast. My GF daughter is always happy with her PB and J on this bread. By far the best deal on GF bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisa22
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gluten free, delcious, and low calories
 November 23, 2013
"This is my favorite gluten free bread/toast. I love that it tastes so good when toasted (this is the gluten free bread a prefer), and also that it is low calories. I find it much better than any other gluten free bread I have tried. I tastes like brioche. I put either some butter, almond butter, or peanut butter, and it makes a delicious snack or lunch as well as for breakfast."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CollegeBuyer
fromNorthfield, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product with great shelf life!
 November 18, 2013
"This loaf is a great option for the health conscious eater! It also helps it has an incredible shelf life, due to vacuum sealing, for large quantities ordered!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Globugg
Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
 November 9, 2013
"The product is too dry for me, even when I microwave it according to the directions on the package."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
clifshan
fromdemorest, ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
glad I found you
 November 7, 2013
"I like the fact I don't have to drive 30 miles to get this product. The only place I could find it was a long drive and now am very happy to order and receive my bread at the house. THANKS"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WDMAmy
fromWest Des Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good, but a little dry
 March 18, 2013
"This is one of the better GF breads, but it tends to be a little dry. Best used either toasted or warmed up in the microwave. My kids like it better than "regular" bread :-)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ann1e
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best gluten free bread
 March 18, 2013
"Tried a variety of gluten free breads and happened upon this at an Amish market. I was amazed how much I like it- the texture is much lighter than other brands and found the flavor more to my taste. Would recommend."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
feathermaye
fromDallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A nice alternative for gluten-free bread
 March 11, 2013
"This was our first test of tapioca bread, in an effort to find a convenient and palatable replacement to wheat-based breads.
My favorite way to have this particular bread is with grilled cheese, as the slight toasting in the pan has a great affect. For toast, I pop it out of the toaster after about 20 seconds or so and it's perfect."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Savysenior
fromNo CAL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good enough
 March 10, 2013
"I liked the loaf but did not like that it couldn't be frozen to remain fresh. I'm not a big bread eater.
I would not buy it again because of that.
Yes, I was warned but thought I'd get it anyway.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrandmaNancy
fromLiberty, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good Product
 March 9, 2013
"This one of the better breads that I have tried since going gluten and egg free."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
glutefreemom
great price but sadly limited quantity
 March 7, 2013
"I have been buying this bread by the cases for my gluten free family of 7 (two are teenage boys). Sadly, vitacost has limited the quantity I can order to 6 loaves. That is not even enough to get my family through a week. The price is great, but not if I need it shipped to my house 6 or more times a month. Sadly, I will have to shop else where unless the quantity restriction is lifted."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next