Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Breads & Baked Goods or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz

Wheat Free- Gluten Free- Dairy Free. Our bread is kept fresh through a highly developed vacuum packing process and guaranteed until each best before date on the package. With a long shelf life you can enjoy your favorites continuously. Since 1962 when we first created low protein products for renal pre-dialysis patients we have striven to meet the challenging requirements for diet restricted consumers. We not only offer wheat free gluten free products but also products for low protein diets egg free and dairy free products. Our bakery is dedicated to wheat free gluten free baking guaranteeing that contamination from gluten will not occur. Our innovative packaging gives our products a 1-year shelf life without the need for refrigeration. We bake our products as orders are received to insure that the freshest product is available.  .  
Overall rating:
3.972 / 5
4
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
90 out of 106(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
silentnyt
fromWilmington, DE
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free
 August 18, 2015
"This was my first time eating gluten free bread. I am not gluten intolerant but was cutting out wheat from my diet for a few weeks. I expected the bread to be horrible but to my delight, it was actually good. The bread is slightly tough and chewy and I wouldn't want to make a sandwich using two slices, but my favorite way to eat it was to toast a slice or two and make an open-faced sandwich. It helped to fill me up too.
Vitacost has a good price on this too, which is very helpful."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crg2
fromJasper
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Bread
 August 12, 2015
"Awesome bread! My son and I are allergic to about everything under the son and this bread is a must have in our house!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ArcticLaurel
fromIqaluit, NU, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good to have in the freezer
 July 25, 2015
"I am a couple of months into the Paleo diet, so this tapioca bread is for when I can't stop thinking about honey on toast or grilled cheese sandwiches. I just like to know it's there, because I have no patience to bake my own GF/paleo bread, and Ener-g Tapioca Loaf serves a noble purpose. It is not the texture of grocery store white bread, nor is it trying to be. Accept it for the heroic deeds it can perform, and belittle it not for its shortcomings."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
raea22
fromUnited States
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Ok
 July 15, 2015
"Toasted with lots of stuff on it is okay. It tastes like cardboard unless you have a lot of flavor going on it. The caloric content for a gluten free bread is pretty good if on a diet plan, and that's the only reason I would recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
jsnaz
fromny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Just OK
 June 19, 2015
"If you absolutely need gluten free, good option but not a lot of flavor. Would be good for PB&J sandwiches."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BarelyThere
fromColorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great low cal bread
 June 15, 2015
"Not many GF foods that taste good and are low calorie but this one hits the mark!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
shoppermom1
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It has its place
 May 24, 2015
"This bread is very dry and we don't eat it on its own, but it does a great job for certain recipes. It is perfect for stuffing since it's already dry. It's good for bread pudding, croutons, etc. It's even decent for grilled cheese when you butter or use spread on the outside and then it's got the cheese on the inside. So although we can't stand it for sandwiches, I usually keep a loaf on hand for the times when I need it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bargainmama
fromRochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Decent bread
 April 30, 2015
"This is the ONLY gluten free sandwich bread my son will eat..he is 18 now and I have tried others to no avail. I like that it is light in calories as he likes to eat it often! It toast up well and makes decent french toast. I recommend."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alrightythen
fromColonial Heights, Va.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Versatile Substitute
 March 16, 2015
"This bread has smaller slices but good for portion control. It is
dryer and crumbles more easily but I have used it to make a
healthier version of French toast, grilled cheese, French onion soup,
breading pudding, and meatloaf. I also use it with fruit spreads and
nut butters, This bread is not soft and fluffy yet dense like a
pound cake. The flavor is similar to sour dough bread if eaten alone.
I like its health value but enjoy it even more for its versatility. Allows
for ample creativity.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
angiebear
great product
 January 18, 2015
"It is light bread, low in calories and wheat-free, an overall great product. I would purchase it again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bunchee
fromriverdale,ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 16, 2015
"very good toasted.Low in calories"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GFgirl76
Fantastic gluten free choice!
 January 11, 2015
"Love this GF bread! I always lightly toast it for the best flavor. I use it for regular toast, sandwich bread, etc. It's my favorite of all the brands I've tried.
I used to buy the regular tapioca loaf, but it's a lot heavier bread. I recommend this one. Just wish there wasn't a limit of 6 when purchasing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pon2000
fromLA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tiny pieces but taste good
 January 3, 2015
"Bought this for my son after he was diagnosed with Celiac. I have not yet tried the bread itself, but my son said it was good. The pieces are really tiny, so you'll probably need to eat at least 4 of them to equal 2 regular pieces of bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jlong
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Great bread!
 November 23, 2014
"Not the best tasting gluten free bread I've tried, but it is low calorie, really cheap, and doesn't have too many ingredients. Definitely my favorite bread. Highly recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlutenfreeKate
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Better than most
 October 10, 2014
"This bread tastes much like white bread when toasted with butter/margarine. Much lighter than regular gluten free breads that tend to be very dense and heavy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bthom
fromcleveland, oh
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
affordable and light weight
 October 9, 2014
"problems with gluten free bread is that they are expensive, the flavor is different depending on what it is made of(bean, rice, tapioca flours)
a lot of them have to be kept in the freezer and the weight of loaf is double the weight of a full size reg loaf of bread(bc the flour is more dense). this loaf is light, the price is not bad(the more you buy the less per loaf), the flavor9if you've had gluten free bf you know how bad they can be) this is plain, and they can be stored in a cabinet.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kelbelou
fromLos Angeles, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tiny tasty toast
 September 30, 2014
"I went ahead and purchased three loaf because I couldn't go wrong on the price. The only downside is the slices are tiny but they are tasty so I can live with it. What I also enjoy is it doesn't take forever
for the bread to toast a nice color as well.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SeeingBear1
fromPhoenix, Arizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Small but Big on Taste
 September 26, 2014
"Spendy for the size of package but packs a tasteful punch.
No more gut aches.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
munshyne
fromVirginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This product has great taste and texture.
 September 12, 2014
"I've had to be on a gluten free diet for 15 years now and have tried several types of bread. This is the best in comparison to regular bread."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ener-G Light Tapioca Loaf Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AngelBearClaire
fromNashua NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reasonable price, nice toasted
 September 1, 2014
"Gluten, dairy, egg free - taste free ... as my friend jokes. But this bread is not bad. The slices are small, but that's OK as I can eat 2 small instead of one. The package isn't too large, but that's OK too, as no one else in the house wants to try my gluten free stuff. Would recommend."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next