Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz

Wheat-Free. Gluten-Free. Dairy-Free. No Cholesterol. No Saturated Fat. 0g Trans Fat. Since 1962 Ener-G Foods has worked to meet the challenging requirements for diet-restricted consumers. They have developed their bakery line to not only exclusively produce wheat-free gluten-free dairy-free nut-free products but they also offer egg-free soy-free and yeast-free items. For over 40 years they have been committed to product freshness and producing the most innovative baked goods.  . Ener-G gas pioneered a vacuum packaging system that eliminates the need for preservatives and gives their products a long shelf life without the need for refrigeration or freezing.
Overall rating:
2.933 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
7 out of 15(47%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Review 1 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
sharoncookie
fromTN
Age:75+
Gender:Female
YUK!!!
 February 23, 2014
"THESE DON'T TASTE GOOD OR BITE GOOD."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
LauraBth02
fromNorthern California
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Too dry and crumbly and not already sliced
 September 12, 2013
"I was really excited to find hot dog buns that are gluten and egg free. At home when you can microwave them, they aren't quite as bad, but I got these for camping and they were just horrible. First of all, it's not sliced in half like a normal hot dog bun so I had to cut it (which isn't easy to do). They are too big and bulky and not at all soft- they are hard, crumbly and sooo dry even slathered in mustard and relish. I ended up throwing most of it in the campfire and just eating the hot dog. I really like the Ener-g bread and some of the other products I've tried, but these were really disappointing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Karenlyn
fromPgh, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Gluten-Free Hot Dog Bun
 May 1, 2013
"These are a bit hard for a hot dog bun."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pillsgalore
fromsouth carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
beats no bread at all
 April 28, 2013
"This product is good in a pinch. II would recommend that they individually wrap each hot dog bun separately but its better than no bread at all. I have since started to bake my own bread from scratch once a week and am enjoying it immensely. It is a great opportunity for quality time my for daughter and I.and yes I would order again if I was going on a trip and eating out alot or packing lunchs. The buns can be used for slim sandwichs as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
peanut01
fromIndiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is one dry product
 April 7, 2013
"I felt that the product was dry and tasteless. Would not buy it again"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SunnyAlps
fromAPO overseas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Gluten-free alternative
 December 30, 2012
"I tried this product for our Celiac teen daughter = and of course our whole family who supports her in this new diet style. Dad grilled them a bit which helped improve the flavor. We had this product shipped to our APO address and I appreciate that it has a decent shelf life since I can't bake everything from scratch. All in all, not a bad gluten-free alternative although we started eating our hot dogs chunked with the baked beans, forsaking the buns."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
A big disappointment
 December 10, 2012
"We have been using a variety of Ener-G products for the past several years, and I have never been disappointed until now. These arrived, and were so dry and hard that even when heated they never became soft. Both my daughter and I had been looking forward to having a hotdog with a bun and neither of us was able to eat the bun."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IrishFiddle
Great Toasted!
 October 3, 2012
"Like a lot of GF breads, this bun really improves with toasting. They are definitely large enough to use as hoagie rolls or meatball sandwiches."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
diana7
Excellent Sturdy Hot Dog Bun
 September 13, 2012
"This is a great gluten-free hot dog bun. It doesn't crumble or break--even when you load it with condiments. It's soft when microwaved--yet still holds up to mustard and relish. It's relatively high in fiber and low in calories. This product very much has the taste and texture of a 'normal' wheat-based bun.
I also like the fact that it is shelf-stable--no refrigeration or freezing is needed (unless you want to store an open package for longer than a few days). Will be ordering this one again.
Btw--the vitacost price is decent---my grocery store charges over $6 for a pack of 4 buns."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
busdriverwife
fromCharlton, New York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Hot Dog Buns
 January 21, 2012
"These hot dog buns serve two purposes: first, they keep for almost a year unopened, taste good and second, they are only 3 Weight Watchers Points Plus so you can enjoy them for a variety of foods, hot dogs, steak sandwiches, chicken sandwiches, meat ball sandwiches, etc. and you can also cut them in half and toast them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
prairiedog
fromRocky Mountains
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
too dry
 September 11, 2011
"very dry"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
veggie00
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great for gluten free kids!
 February 2, 2011
"My daughter has a gluten free diet and has for the past 3 years. She is only 7 yrs old so it is so nice to find gluten free hot dog buns so she can have a "hot dog" like she sees other kids and adults having."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
wfcook
Hot Dog!..Not so much
 October 21, 2009
"They look like hot dog buns...but, the texture leaves alot to be desired. "Tough texture", are not words you want to use when describing a bread product. Yet, if you have to adere to a strict gluten free diet they will do in a pinch."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
KristineG
aweful
 October 11, 2009
"I enjoyed the tapioca bread so being on a Gluten free diet I tried the hotdog buns... they taste aweful, dont try it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ener-G Tapioca Hotdog Buns Gluten Free -- 7.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gymdawgfan
Super Hot Dog Buns
 September 2, 2009
"My son is on a GF/CF diet. We have finally found hot dog buns. He prefers the bun to the hot dog. Wonderful product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.