Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Seasonings & Spices or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb

Allium Sativum. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Origin: China. Certified Organic by QAI.  
Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
23 out of 27(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DoctorMark
fromOrange County, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
If You're Looking for Granules, DON'T Buy This !!!
 December 18, 2014
"It's a shame that, when it comes to Onion & Garlic Powders, and you make a "blind" purchase online for the first time, for a particular brand and type, you can really get burned, because each manufacturer's definition of "powder" can range from anything as fine as talcum-powder consistency, to the granules that we generally associate "Onion Powder" and "Garlic Powder" with, from our previous, traditional supermarket experiences. When I think of "Garlic" or "Onion" Powder, I think of the latter -- something which does not clump, and which flows freely and uniformly through the perforated lid of the bottle. This, on the other hand, is nothing of the sort. It is of the aforementioned talcum-powder consistency, so finely-ground, that when you try to shake it out from such a perforated-lid jar, it either doesn't come out at all ( due to its tendency to clump inside the jar ) or, when it does come out, it flies all over the place, like a dust-storm. You end up wasting quite a bit of it in this manner, since it goes everywhere, except where you want it to. I wasted the money on the purchase of this, as well as for a 16-oz. pack of what was it's talcum-powdered equivalent in the "Onion Powder" category ( "Frontier Natural Products White Onion Powdered" - SKU # SKU# 089836001696 - on the other hand, if you prefer the granules, as I do, then you can get the same company's excellent product, labeled as "Frontier Natural Products White Onion Granulated" - SKU # 089836001689 with no surprises in store for you -- at lease THIS company has the decency to distinguish between "Powdered" and "Granulated" -- which is more than I can say for the other companies, who simply throw the title "Powder" or "Powdered" and leave you guessing, as to what you're actually purchasing ). My advice? If you like the granules, stick to Badia brand, and save yourself a bundle of money, while getting the consistency you expect -- or, if you prefer to waste your money insanely, while still getting the granule consistency, go for the Simply Organic Garlic Powder, and spend $5.09 ( as of this date ) on 3.64 oz."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truthseekerhealth
fromLeeds, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Better than most
 November 7, 2014
"We like this garlic powder in some recipes that do not call for fresh garlic, like our homemade Italian Salad Dressing. It is a nice natural garlic powder that is organically raised."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
psyrain
great
 October 2, 2014
"This is the best garlic powder I v tasted"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muppypart
This garlic is the best.
 September 18, 2014
"This product has become a staple in our household. It is the best priced bulk garlic and very potent. We use it like most people use salt and sugar. I'm sure it's the reason we never get colds. No self respecting germ would invade our garlic saturated systems."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mardee57
fromFort Worth, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Garlic Powder
 August 19, 2014
"Very fresh and tasty... Finely ground and it is very potent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabbys
fromNW Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product and price
 April 27, 2014
"I don't use a whole lot of spices, but I do use a lot of garlic. The price of buying individual shaker bottles just got to expensive. I decided to buy the bulk pound and am very happy with the quality and the price. My local health food store was double or triple this price."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kjmk
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
powdery
 December 13, 2013
"I was very surprised to discover that this garlic powder was the consistency of flour--a very very fine, very soft powder. Usually when I buy garlic powder, I expect it to be a bit more granular. It still tastes good, but I don't think I like the consistency for when I sprinkle it on the outside of baked potatoes, or on steaks on the grill--it comes out in a powdery poof."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamainNH
Flavorful garlic powder
 December 8, 2013
"I got this once my container of Simply Organic garlic powder ran out (buying bulk is so much less expensive). This powder is much finer than Simply Organics, and I actually prefer that. The flavor was fresh. I will buy again (when and if I ever run out of 1 lb of this stuff!)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimmyi
fromPhiladelphia Pa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent product. Used it in the past.
 November 10, 2013
"Excellent product. Will reorder again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cfran
fromsf,ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
super deal thanks so much
 October 11, 2013
"I love garlic - so this is a real time saver since i dont chop well, many many thanks and hope u r on the market a long time at such a reasonable offer when pkt books r tight."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
punkinjello
fromSt Pete, FL
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Never have I enjoyed a purer garlic powder.
 September 14, 2013
"Except for pudding, I don't think there is anything I don't add it to when cooking! May I just suggest you include a shaker of some kind (with small holes) for tabletop use. This would deem this product perfect!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kittycat7
fromFranklin, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Brand is great, but don't like the powdered form..
 August 10, 2013
"I mistakenly ordered the garlic Powder- rather than the Starwest garlic Granules, as I usually do. This is a great company, we and others I know order their products regularly. It's just that personally, I totally Prefer the garlic Granules form of garlic over the powdered form. The Starwest seasonings and other products are great quality, economical, and offer a variety of products in the larger 1# bags. I Highly recommend their products, it is just that I find the Garlic Granules a much better choice, easier to use and also to control the amount when cooking than the powder."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamkpa
frompa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Powder Organic Garlic
 June 21, 2013
"I was pleasantly surprised on how good and delicious this garlic is. When I ordered it, I thought it was the fine granular product, but in fact it is a very fine white powder almost like bread flour consistency. After trying and using it, I now prefer this texture and grind. It has ha very fresh taste, easy to use and shake/pour and dissolves very quickly on wet food items. Store well too in its re-sealable bag."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tynya
fromhawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Nice flavor
 June 12, 2013
"I put this product on just about everything. It gives popcorn, veges and meat a wonderful flavor. My husband and I are hooked!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good taste,Price, not quite so easy to work with
 April 17, 2013
"this product is tasty at a great price for the volume yet it is very powdery and more difficult too work with"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4ANGELS
fromFL.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
GREAT GARLIC !!
 March 22, 2013
"This garlic powder is a very fine powdery product, but I love it ,it has a strong garlic taste to it & I find because it is so fine that it stays & goes on your food a lot better than others ..Being all Italian I definitely recommend this & will be ordering again ..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dollystar
fromLebanon, oh
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Organic and it's from China?
 March 20, 2013
"You can not trust organic food that comes out of china. This is junk and an insult to call it organic"
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SASHABASHA
fromnj
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good powder
 March 7, 2013
"Good way to save money by making your own capsules."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
AlabamaGirl2
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Bag Will Not Seal
 September 9, 2012
"Love everything about it except the bag doesn't seal. Quality control dropped the ball on this one. I've had several other Starwest spice bags that wouldn't seal as well. A good seal is vital to keeping the spices fresh. Why even have the seal if it doesn't work? I give it only 3 stars because this problem has yet to be resolved, otherwise it would be 5."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Garlic Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wiinner
Love it
 August 29, 2012
"Great Garlic taste almost as good as my homegrown garlic"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next