Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Zingiber officinale. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI. Ginger is used in gingerbread ginger ale gingersnaps and Asian dishes.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LynnieT
fromCartersville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love Ginger- This is a great brand.
 April 14, 2014
"I purchased this because we use a great deal of ginger and the price is SO much cheaper in bulk. I have an overflow panty so I can jar bulk thinks and they stay fresh.
I also use ginger in my salt detox bath.
I purchased the cinamon too and it is unbelievable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tjintexas
Delicious
 February 2, 2014
"Good product, organic, tastes yummy and e price s right!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maltastar
fromArizona
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 December 29, 2013
"I am so happy to have found this online at a reasonable price. I use ginger a lot."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbalist55
fromchattanooga, tn
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
potent, real thing!
 December 12, 2013
"This is fresh ground ginger and it is potent! It is a large zipper packet, although the zipper didn't work good for me, so I use a clothes pin to hold it shut. But it will last me a very long time. Great buy and great product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DebiLu
fromAlliance, NE
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love that fragrance!
 August 15, 2013
"I have been using this ginger for my health-related fever baths and it has been a god-send!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JSNJ
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Thumb up for ginger root product!
 August 9, 2013
"My natural health practitioner recommended ginger tea for maintaining good health. I have been drinking 2-3 cups per day. I tried another product first and then Starwest. I find Starwest ginger root to be an excellent product with an excellent price. I even used the ginger powder for tooth pain and for brushing my teeth, and it worked well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FussyGirl
fromLouisiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great taste!
 July 24, 2013
"I was reluctant to try powdered ginger because fresh is so yummy. But the fresh was constantly getting lost and then drying up in the fridge. This solved that problem.
Good deal on: taste, price, convenience. And it's organic, which is no small thing. :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrMachine
fromSLO, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
All Around Great Product
 June 10, 2013
"Great product at a great price. Excellent quality ginger; there is nothing negative to report about this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mandy26
fromUtah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Quality
 May 11, 2013
"This has been excellent ginger. I have mostly used it for cleansing baths, but I've also cooked with it and has great flavor."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TasteBuds
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Tasted Adulterated
 November 29, 2012
"This did not have a strong, pure ginger taste. I felt like it was ginger mixed with sawdust."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Doc1969
fromLA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good idea. Some questions.
 August 31, 2012
"I like the fact that it's organic, but would like to see some that's got the USDA Organic stamp. This was my 2nd batch. the 1st was great. This one was lighter in color & VERY strong."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
steelers6xchamps
do not like china ginger
 May 3, 2012
"I was disappointed with this ginger, first that it is from china, second that the ginger is not finely ground like other powders, and thirdly- the taste is lame. The good: it's organic!"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
indigomagic69
fromBillings, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderfully Spicy
 April 19, 2011
"This Ginger is fresh so it has the heat you would expect from quality ginger. This is the best tasting ginger I have ever had; the package is easily resealable for freshness as well."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bethy22
fromErie, PA
Gender:Female
Great Value
 November 9, 2010
"I used to get ginger powder at another store, but when I found how much cheaper and great quality this one was....I am hooked!!! LOVE IT!! The only bad thing about this product, is the storage. I have to put it in a snap lock dish to store it. It keeps it fresh."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
incis
fromDublin, Ireland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 19, 2010
"Ginger is great on a number of levels.
This powder is perfect for someone like me who can not tolerate the smell of fresh ginger. I just put the powder in an empty capsule and take it.
Good value for the amount, will last me for quite a while.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CareFree
fromFort Worth
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Value, Good flavor
 April 25, 2010
"This 1lb bag is a good value. I so wish it was available in 1/2 pound bags as personal home use as a suppliment and spice - a pound is really more than we will use in a reasonable amount of time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Starwest Botanicals Ginger Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product