Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Green Tea or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb

Camellia Sinensis. Origin: China. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI.   This green tea type is made from young to medium leaves in a long twisted style.  The cup has a fresh green full-bodied liquor.
Overall rating:
3.111 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
5 out of 9(56%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
PickyCeliac
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
twigs, stems, and stale taste
 January 21, 2013
"Bummer. I usually love Starwest products. The Starwest Gunpowder tea which I love was out of stock, so I bought this Young Hyson Green Tea instead. Twigs, stems, stale....really, not at all up to Starwest's usually high quality. I will never order this tea ever again. Thank goodness the Gunpowder is in stock again. The rest of the Young Hyson is going into my compost pile."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TeaReviewer
 December 1, 2011
"I returned this product as soon as I opened the bag. There were many, many twigs among the leaves and did not think the quality was there."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
photoartist2828
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
not great
 June 11, 2011
"The taste is not like the clean fresh taste of a sencha."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
1kit
fromTampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bad tea
 May 20, 2011
"I normally buy my loose leaf tea at a local health food store but I thought I'd try this kind as it was a better value. All I can say is that sometimes you get what you pay for. This is far inferior to what I usually pruchase. The taste is awful and wil not be purchasing it again. In fact, I really wish i could just return it as it's so bad, I won't be making more of it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coloradan
fromCO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great everyday green tea
 February 19, 2011
"I am so glad to find such a great price on good quality, organic green tea. We drink so much of it and I was pleased with the mild/medium flavor. I would recommend this tea to all tea lovers, who want to enjoy the daily benefits of healthy sipping!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
yogamoma
Good
 September 12, 2010
"This is good green tea, but not as good as some of the other green tea from Starwest. It did have a few twigs."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AQPUNK
fromBayside, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great tea - great buy!
 March 12, 2010
"I drink 3-4 cups of this tea a day. For someone who appreciates quality loose leaf green tea, try this!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LaughingDove
fromLas Vegas, NV and Sacramento, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful Green Tea
 June 23, 2009
"I ordered Young Hyson Tea to take to a historical reinactment of the 1830's era of American History after researching what kind of tea was used in the colonies and taken to Mountain Man Rendezvous. While there I served the tea to dozens of people. Some had much experience and knowledge about green teas, some were novices. Every person loved the tea hot and/or iced. The flavor is exactly as described on the website and in the myriads of articles I read. We will be re-ordering as we have discovered a new favorite green tea in Young Hyson. I was surprised at the quantity of tea a pound will produce. Everyone commented on how large the leaves were when they unfurled. The tiny size when dry is deceptive. We were able to get 2-3 brews out of the leaves. I cannot recommend this product highly enough. Packaging was excellent as was shipping time.
Thank you for offering this superior product at a most reasonable price.
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Starwest Botanicals Young Hyson Organic Green Tea -- 1 lb
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product