Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Green Tea or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb

Camellia Sinensis. Origin: China. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI.  An organic tea made from young to medium leaves rolled in balls.  Because of its tightly rolled leaf it has the greatest shelf life of any tea manufactured.  The cup is of medium body with a crisp clear flavor.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
21 out of 24(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KosherOrganicHome
Great Komboucha Tea
 January 5, 2014
"we love this tea for our home brewed Komboucha. its is smokey and flavorful, we can't get enough of this rich tea."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenTeaMonster
Excellent!
 October 25, 2013
"I was skeptical at first--but for the price--and the number of good supporting reviews--I took a chance on a pound. I was surprised when I opened the bag, and a cloud of pleasant aroma wafted upward--sweet, rich, mildly green--with the bonus of being organic as well.
I've had my fair share of of Chinese greens over the years--including some of the more expensive varieties--this tea is simply excellent--and the price makes it doubly so.
It's great hot, iced, and even brewed double strength for a green tea chai concoction.
I'll keep ordering this--I am interested to see if this was just an exceptional batch--or whether this is the consistent product of this source."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
muddyduck
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very good tea
 July 26, 2013
"This tea is a staple for us. It's very nice. This is a terrific price as well. I keep a cup or so of the tea in a covered, glass container in a drawer with other favorite teas. My husband drinks this almost every day using a personal sized French press."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Swissykin
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Pretty good
 July 2, 2013
"At first I thought this tea was bunk. I'd make about 24 oz's at a time and it just wasn't steeping at all, and just tasted like a penny. Didn't think I was going to drink it all but decided to make a gallon and ice it, and it was pretty good/great. Almost like the commercial "green teas" but fuller body.
Bring half gallon of water almost to a boil, add 1/3c or 1/2c of green tea (I usually add tea to a little bit of water while I'm waiting for the boil.) Stir so it's dispered and put a lid on it for about 5 minutes. Pour through strainer, add 3/4c or 1c sugar, add half gallon of water (or ice) and chill.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
prairiepolly
fromGreat Plains
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good gunpowder green, has body, smoke...
 April 8, 2013
"This is a good gunpowder green, has body, smoke, and is not too bitter. Might be a little challenging for some palates. I sometimes blend it half and half with some "fruity" green teas to help give them a little more "oomph". It's a great deal considering how many servings you get out of 1 lb. It's my everyday tea."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RhondaK
fromSacramento, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
The ultimate green tea
 March 17, 2013
"I bought this tea to make kombucha, and it's great for that. However, you have to try it on its own to appreciate its full flavor. I often drink several cups of it daily, something I never did when using bagged green tea (which has such an inferior taste that its convenience just isn't worth it). This is the variety to which all other green teas must compare. As its name suggests, it has a sort of smokiness, but it is surprisingly smooth. And as a side perk, the leaves are very easy to clean out of a used teapot since they are rolled up whole instead of being chopped into tiny pieces."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
bittyjackel
fromphx az
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
not what its supposed to be
 March 7, 2013
"this is from china not even gunpowder tea poor quality china has very poor standards of organics to many chemical pollutants"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NovemberOwl
fromEureka, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
A great combination of flavor and smoothness.
 January 20, 2013
"I'd never tried this tea before, and I'm glad I decided to try it. Whether you prefer your tea mild, moderate, or strong, this tea stays smooth and a pleasure savor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
aswimmer
fromArizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product is a great value!
 October 25, 2012
"I drink green tea daily. This Starwest product is a great value for the money. I enjoy it hot or iced."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trust2400
fromTempe, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best tea ever
 October 11, 2012
"I have tried many green teas, and have been drinking green tea daily for several years. I have paid upwards of $4/ounce for "premium" green tea. Not only is this tea the best deal, ever, but it is without a doubt the best tasting, ever. Brewed correctly, for a daily drinker, a pound of this can last someone several months."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PickyCeliac
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent green tea...drink it daily!
 October 3, 2012
"I love Starwest Botanicals Organic Gunpowder Green Tea 1 lb. I drink it every day. I order it regularly from Vitacost and reorder it when the bag runs low. This is a very high quality loose leaf organic tea.
I don't give high reviews lightly. I am picky. I've tried many other brands, and they taste stale or bitter to me. This is the best green tea, and it is a great value!"
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Areskai
fromCincinnati
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great price excellent quality!
 July 31, 2012
"I love this green tea. I brew my own each day so having it in bulk is wonderful. Great price and excellent, whole leaf quality.
*helpful tip* - You don't want to add green tea to boiling water. Boiling water scorches green tea and gives it a bitter taste. Heat up your water to just below boiling then add the tea to that. Let steep for about 3 minutes then remove. Makes a great tasting cup that way."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
leepa
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Green or Brown Tea?
 September 11, 2011
"Although I am pleased overall with Starwest Botanical products, this particular item, Chinese Gunmetal Green Tea, has a distinct taste and aroma that does not appeal to me.
I much prefer their 'Japanese Sencha Green Tea,' as it embodies the natural essence of organic green tea.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4ANGELS
fromFLORIDA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Taste !
 June 24, 2011
"I am a green tea fanatic & love to try all & any green teas out there ,especially organic because I drink so much of it & this one has it all taste wise & price & most important Organic ..You can determine the amount of taste you want by the amount you use .."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
InUnison
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Gunpowder...
 June 20, 2011
"This is the best tasting gunpowder I have found, and it's organic! Even if I forget it, it doesn't get bitter. Very smooth light smokey flavor... such a nice green tea. I use about 1 teaspoon per 10oz cup."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigmahhh
fromNovato, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Gud Stuff
 June 11, 2011
"gr8t product, packaging, price, value, & etc., Y shop anywhere else? P.S.: Just check out the attached image. Me & the buds drink it on special occasions."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigGram
fromWashington state
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good value
 April 13, 2011
"Better price than our local suppliers. Can use little because it is whole leaf. Very economical. I sometimes mix it with other flavors or herbs."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MonstersOfTheMidway
fromAurora, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great Value
 March 30, 2011
"This Green Tea is great quality at a prety good price! It's got a good flavor that supplies me with well balanced energy to get through the day and tastes great iced as well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
princessbandit
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Hard to find Gunpowder Green Tea at a Great Price
 August 20, 2010
"My husband is the tea drinker here and gunpowder green tea is one of his favorites. It's usually hard to find and can be pricey. I'm very glad I came across this tea at Vitacost. Shipping was fast, it's a reasonable cost, and my husband enjoys it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starwest Botanicals Gunpowder Green Tea Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
binki65
Energy
 April 30, 2010
"I had talked to a friend and said I was tired all the time. She suggested this tea. I purchased the tea and after a week of drinking one cup per day, I find I am more alert and eager to do things!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next