Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Turmeric or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Curcuma longa. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI. Turmeric is an ingredient of curry powder. It is used extensively in Indian dishes including lentil and meat dishes and in Southeast Asian cooking. Turmeric is routinely added to mustard blends and relishes. It also is used in place of saffron to provide color and flavor.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
49 out of 49(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shaww
Good product, bad packaging.
 April 9, 2014
"As another reviewer stated almost four years ago, the zip-lock has an issue. The first time I opened it the glue had come undone even before it was sealed it seems and the contents spilled over, so when I opened the package a bunch came out. Does not seem likely that the manufacturer cares though since its has been four years with the same bags. I'd rather it didn't have the zip-lock since it doesn't work anyway."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IndianaMom
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Quality at an unbelievable price!
 April 8, 2014
"For several years I've been buying Turmeric by the pound because we fill our own capsules. It's a miracle herb! I recently switched to this brand because the price is considerably lower, and the quality is great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yaneth
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product
 December 9, 2013
"Use this turmeric when cooking and also I put in water and drink just like that. Adds great flavor to recipes and its good for you too. Refill my glass bottles and this bag lasts a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MissPure
Best value
 September 30, 2013
"This is such a great buy for anyone who loves turmeric or is just looking to get into it. For the amount of organic turmeric that you get in this bag, it is well worth it! I had a minor issue with the packaging.. when I opened the bag the first time I was unable to close it shut because the zipper detached from the opposite side of the bag. I had to transfer the turmeric into mason jars because the bag wouldn't close."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deerun
fromWest Palm Beach, Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Clean & Healthy
 September 24, 2013
"This product is so healthy for you. I put it in my shakes in the morning or you can just use it as a spice. It has so many benifits that everyone should use it daily. Very good, clean product."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elle818
fromClearwater, Fla.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
fine tumeric
 August 29, 2013
"this is a high quality tumeric"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kamaole
Good turmeric, good value
 July 17, 2013
"I have used this turmeric for a year or two. I've found that it isn't bitter like some of the turmeric powders found in the bulk section of the grocery store. It also seems moister suggesting a higher oil content than some other turmeric brands which are noticeably drier. Keep it refrigerated."
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gutti
fromFaroe Islands
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good color - good price.
 June 27, 2013
"Long lasting big package - and organic too (no chemical used in the growing process)! Taste is good and the color is vibrant."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
silentdestroyer
fromGrand Rapids, Mn.
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
All around great!
 June 24, 2013
"Large quantity, great flavor and color!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PWMc
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Absolutely acceptable!
 May 7, 2013
"an excellent quality product. I would recommend it to anybody!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meac
fromColorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great in soup!
 April 27, 2013
"Turmeric is wonderful in soup."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ridinrosie
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good for health and for cooking
 April 25, 2013
"Turmeric is a very important health supplement. I take 1/4 t daily mixed in water or juice with a few more supplements. Buying in bulk is an affordable way to always have plenty on hand. Taking it that way doesn't taste the greatest, but it's doable. However it does taste great in cooking."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BSwanson
fromReno,NV
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
 February 22, 2013
"good"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
honeyedwords
fromKS
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent taste
 December 30, 2012
"Good Turmeric at a Great Price"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lokesh
fromMS
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Bulk is better
 December 16, 2012
"Buying in the 11b bag of turmeric is extremely cost-effective. The quality is excellent."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyjd
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Spice
 November 19, 2012
"This stuff is so good for you and the price for the amount you get here at Vitacost is crazy good. Plus don't waste bottles. I just fill up old bottles."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hiep
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 21, 2012
"It's useful and really needed for me.Recomendation to someone ."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katrinamonique
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 27, 2012
"Starwest products are great. I've been waiting for the Turmeric Root Powder, to be available, as it's usually sold out. I was getting low and fortunately, it was in stock. I got my order in a little sooner."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Houndjog
fromOrange County, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Health Drink
 March 30, 2012
"Fabulous deal! I use it as a drink: 2Tbsp tumeric added to 8 oz green tea with the juice of 1 lemon and 1 tsp black pepper. I've read that the pepper makes it work better!"
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starwest Botanicals Turmeric Root Powder Organic -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
myskin
fromNYC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
GOOD PROCUCT WITH A GOOD PRICE
 December 1, 2011
"I add it to my morning shake."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next