Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(481)
Aloe Vera(557)
Artichoke(21)
Astragalus(109)
Beet Root(24)
Berries(228)
Bilberry(104)
Boswellia(85)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(30)
Chia Seeds(479)
Chrysin(37)
Cinnamon(292)
Curcumin(101)
Dandelion(73)
Echinacea(159)
Elderberry(125)
Eleuthero(26)
Eyebright(39)
Fenugreek(116)
Feverfew(27)
Flaxseed(273)
Fo-Ti(45)
Garlic(324)
Ginger(150)
Ginseng(264)
Gotu Kola(34)
Green Tea(486)
Guggul(24)
Hawthorn(111)
Hibiscus(15)
Horsetail(38)
Kelp(189)
Kudzu(8)
Maca(317)
Mullein(24)
Mushrooms(288)
Neem(52)
Oregano(305)
Osha(1)
Other Herbs(1,871)
Pine Bark(62)
Pygeum(11)
Raspberry(62)
Relora(28)
Rose Hips(25)
Rosemary(18)
Senna(39)
Skullcap(33)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(14)
Triphala(176)
Turmeric(763)
Valerian(268)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Turmeric or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Curcuma longa. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI. Turmeric is an ingredient of curry powder. It is used extensively in Indian dishes including lentil and meat dishes and in Southeast Asian cooking. Turmeric is routinely added to mustard blends and relishes. It also is used in place of saffron to provide color and flavor.
Overall rating:
4.844 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
64 out of 64(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NatrlWoman7
fromNYC Tri-State area
Gender:Female
Deep, Rich Color
 July 8, 2015
"I've purchased turmeric in the past but was surprised that when I opened this package, the turmeric root powder I saw was of a deep rich color-- it was a pleasant surprise as I know that a deep color indicates great quality, and that quality is often affected by variables such as climate and harvesting conditions. This particular organic turmeric root powder looks to have been harvested from very favorable conditions. In the case of good quality turmeric root powder, a little bit goes a long way and this is no exception. I have put aside some turmeric powder in a separate, small Ball jar for my face masks (which works wonderfully on smoothing and clarifying my face from the dark spots that have plagued my complexion) and the rest has been stored into a larger jar for use in food.
Just a great quality product and I use it several times a week. I hope my next purchase is of equally good quality.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogirun
fromohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 June 28, 2015
"Great product. Turmeric has many health benefits. I add it to my morning smoothies, vegetables, soups...etc."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
setzjewelry
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Health Benefits
 February 9, 2015
"Tumeric should be consumed daily for great health benefits. I mix about a tablespoon in some milk and and add fresh ground pepper. They say you absorb the tumeric 2000% more if you mix it with pepper."
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SGFarm
fromNC
Exactly what you wxpect
 January 29, 2015
"True powder form. Light and airy, not grainy. Dissolves well."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sattva
fromCocoa Beach,Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
ATTENTION Turmeric Nuts!!
 January 15, 2015
"Check this out....I read this on earth clinic years ago. The greatest way to take turmeric is in chocolate milk. The turmeric clumps into little globules surrounded by the choc milk instead of dissolving completely so it still tastes like choc milk instead of bitter and horrible like when it's mixed with any other liquid(including white milk..yuck). Stop suffering people. I mix into choc milk turmeric, cinnamon, raw cocoa, protein powder for best drink ever!! Starwest is a great product and awesome value. The seals rarely work but so what?! Good Lord people, just fold it up and clip it like a bag of chips."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mommalissa
fromFriendswood, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This stuff is sooooooo good for you!
 December 26, 2014
"love being able to get it by the pound and it is organic. I try to use it daily."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coconuteater
fromNew York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
the best
 December 17, 2014
"I hope that this brand will continue to be available as it is by far the best and at the best price"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshinegirl01
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Amazing
 October 29, 2014
"Love starwest organic tumeric plus love all of their spices and herbs!! Love the packaging it comes in and a change from plastic.*Great Idea * I use a clip and not a problem if it don't seal or add into empty jars. Great buy on bulk and stays fresh!
Vitacost is the best as well and they always deliver everything on time and well packaged!!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
butterfly50
fromDecatur, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love Starwest Botanicals
 October 8, 2014
"I have been buying bulk herbs and spices from Starwest Botanicals for more than 10 years, and I was happy when Vitacost started carrying them.
I buy both Turmeric and Curry powder in bulk and fill empty capsules with them, rather than buying expensive supplements that are not as fresh or as good a quality as these.
Some people have complained about the packaging and say they will buy from Frontier because of it, but if you buy it from Frontier, the first thing you will notice is that it is not nearly as fragrant as the Starwest Botanicals, and it is also a lighter color than theirs.
Because of the higher quality of Starwest, I put up with the packaging, which is not that big of a deal. As soon as I open the bag, I just use one of the chip clips and then rubber band it. I use it so quickly, that I don't have to worry about it getting "old". If you are concerned and don't use it that often, put it in the freezer. It will keep forever.
I love Starwest Botanicals and without a doubt, they have a much higher quality than Frontier and on this product, (turmeric) they are even less expensive."
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nnmi1
great
 September 12, 2014
"Great Price and product. Organic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Margarahip1
fromBoca Raton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Starwest are simply beat quality
 August 27, 2014
"You can't beat the price of buying this product versus buying small bottles or packages. I use turmeric on everything, from smoothies to cooking. This organic turmeric has truly an aromatic flavor that lacks in other brands. We are a small family and still buy all the bulks from starwest, and freeze the remaining just in case."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
domonic
fromsedona,az
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 July 18, 2014
"This product came in a handy resealable bag which is handy for storing the unused portion the freezer. The tumeric was finely powered and pungent and I used it to make a "paste" which I store in the refrig and make "golden milk" from which is yummy and very healing."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yallgonsee
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect; exactly what I was looking for
 July 7, 2014
"I have started eating differently and was told how beneficial turmeric is for your body. T have been using it every since."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jetsetter
fromDenver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good product horrible packaging
 June 20, 2014
"I use turmeric for everything due to its health benefits. It is a good quality product for a great price.
I hate the packaging. The zip lock tears apart so it is useless and makes a mess and has to be transferred to another container upon opening. Turmeric stains and I don't want the residue all over. It is slighter cheaper than Frontier so I will stick with Frontier brand due to 4%!cumin content."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nuttincowboy
Awesome!!
 May 10, 2014
"Wether you're cooking or using turmeric for it's medicinal value, you'll look long and hard to find a product this fresh.
I put a portion in a conventional spice jar and keep the rest refrigerated as to preserve the volatile oils that give this product such efficacy..
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shaww
Good product, bad packaging.
 April 9, 2014
"As another reviewer stated almost four years ago, the zip-lock has an issue. The first time I opened it the glue had come undone even before it was sealed it seems and the contents spilled over, so when I opened the package a bunch came out. Does not seem likely that the manufacturer cares though since its has been four years with the same bags. I'd rather it didn't have the zip-lock since it doesn't work anyway."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IndianaMom
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Quality at an unbelievable price!
 April 8, 2014
"For several years I've been buying Turmeric by the pound because we fill our own capsules. It's a miracle herb! I recently switched to this brand because the price is considerably lower, and the quality is great!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yaneth
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product
 December 9, 2013
"Use this turmeric when cooking and also I put in water and drink just like that. Adds great flavor to recipes and its good for you too. Refill my glass bottles and this bag lasts a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MissPure
Best value
 September 30, 2013
"This is such a great buy for anyone who loves turmeric or is just looking to get into it. For the amount of organic turmeric that you get in this bag, it is well worth it! I had a minor issue with the packaging.. when I opened the bag the first time I was unable to close it shut because the zipper detached from the opposite side of the bag. I had to transfer the turmeric into mason jars because the bag wouldn't close."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deerun
fromWest Palm Beach, Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Clean & Healthy
 September 24, 2013
"This product is so healthy for you. I put it in my shakes in the morning or you can just use it as a spice. It has so many benifits that everyone should use it daily. Very good, clean product."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next