Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Turmeric or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Curcuma longa. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI. Turmeric is an ingredient of curry powder. It is used extensively in Indian dishes including lentil and meat dishes and in Southeast Asian cooking. Turmeric is routinely added to mustard blends and relishes. It also is used in place of saffron to provide color and flavor.
Overall rating:
4.862 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
58 out of 58(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coconuteater
fromNew York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
the best
 December 17, 2014
"I hope that this brand will continue to be available as it is by far the best and at the best price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshinegirl01
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Amazing
 October 29, 2014
"Love starwest organic tumeric plus love all of their spices and herbs!! Love the packaging it comes in and a change from plastic.*Great Idea * I use a clip and not a problem if it don't seal or add into empty jars. Great buy on bulk and stays fresh!
Vitacost is the best as well and they always deliver everything on time and well packaged!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
butterfly50
fromDecatur, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love Starwest Botanicals
 October 8, 2014
"I have been buying bulk herbs and spices from Starwest Botanicals for more than 10 years, and I was happy when Vitacost started carrying them.
I buy both Turmeric and Curry powder in bulk and fill empty capsules with them, rather than buying expensive supplements that are not as fresh or as good a quality as these.
Some people have complained about the packaging and say they will buy from Frontier because of it, but if you buy it from Frontier, the first thing you will notice is that it is not nearly as fragrant as the Starwest Botanicals, and it is also a lighter color than theirs.
Because of the higher quality of Starwest, I put up with the packaging, which is not that big of a deal. As soon as I open the bag, I just use one of the chip clips and then rubber band it. I use it so quickly, that I don't have to worry about it getting "old". If you are concerned and don't use it that often, put it in the freezer. It will keep forever.
I love Starwest Botanicals and without a doubt, they have a much higher quality than Frontier and on this product, (turmeric) they are even less expensive."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nnmi1
great
 September 12, 2014
"Great Price and product. Organic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Margarahip1
fromBoca Raton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Starwest are simply beat quality
 August 27, 2014
"You can't beat the price of buying this product versus buying small bottles or packages. I use turmeric on everything, from smoothies to cooking. This organic turmeric has truly an aromatic flavor that lacks in other brands. We are a small family and still buy all the bulks from starwest, and freeze the remaining just in case."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
domonic
fromsedona,az
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 July 18, 2014
"This product came in a handy resealable bag which is handy for storing the unused portion the freezer. The tumeric was finely powered and pungent and I used it to make a "paste" which I store in the refrig and make "golden milk" from which is yummy and very healing."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yallgonsee
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect; exactly what I was looking for
 July 7, 2014
"I have started eating differently and was told how beneficial turmeric is for your body. T have been using it every since."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jetsetter
fromDenver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good product horrible packaging
 June 20, 2014
"I use turmeric for everything due to its health benefits. It is a good quality product for a great price.
I hate the packaging. The zip lock tears apart so it is useless and makes a mess and has to be transferred to another container upon opening. Turmeric stains and I don't want the residue all over. It is slighter cheaper than Frontier so I will stick with Frontier brand due to 4%!cumin content."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nuttincowboy
Awesome!!
 May 10, 2014
"Wether you're cooking or using turmeric for it's medicinal value, you'll look long and hard to find a product this fresh.
I put a portion in a conventional spice jar and keep the rest refrigerated as to preserve the volatile oils that give this product such efficacy..
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shaww
Good product, bad packaging.
 April 9, 2014
"As another reviewer stated almost four years ago, the zip-lock has an issue. The first time I opened it the glue had come undone even before it was sealed it seems and the contents spilled over, so when I opened the package a bunch came out. Does not seem likely that the manufacturer cares though since its has been four years with the same bags. I'd rather it didn't have the zip-lock since it doesn't work anyway."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IndianaMom
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Quality at an unbelievable price!
 April 8, 2014
"For several years I've been buying Turmeric by the pound because we fill our own capsules. It's a miracle herb! I recently switched to this brand because the price is considerably lower, and the quality is great!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yaneth
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product
 December 9, 2013
"Use this turmeric when cooking and also I put in water and drink just like that. Adds great flavor to recipes and its good for you too. Refill my glass bottles and this bag lasts a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MissPure
Best value
 September 30, 2013
"This is such a great buy for anyone who loves turmeric or is just looking to get into it. For the amount of organic turmeric that you get in this bag, it is well worth it! I had a minor issue with the packaging.. when I opened the bag the first time I was unable to close it shut because the zipper detached from the opposite side of the bag. I had to transfer the turmeric into mason jars because the bag wouldn't close."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deerun
fromWest Palm Beach, Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Clean & Healthy
 September 24, 2013
"This product is so healthy for you. I put it in my shakes in the morning or you can just use it as a spice. It has so many benifits that everyone should use it daily. Very good, clean product."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elle818
fromClearwater, Fla.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
fine tumeric
 August 29, 2013
"this is a high quality tumeric"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kamaole
Good turmeric, good value
 July 17, 2013
"I have used this turmeric for a year or two. I've found that it isn't bitter like some of the turmeric powders found in the bulk section of the grocery store. It also seems moister suggesting a higher oil content than some other turmeric brands which are noticeably drier. Keep it refrigerated."
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gutti
fromFaroe Islands
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good color - good price.
 June 27, 2013
"Long lasting big package - and organic too (no chemical used in the growing process)! Taste is good and the color is vibrant."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
silentdestroyer
fromGrand Rapids, Mn.
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
All around great!
 June 24, 2013
"Large quantity, great flavor and color!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PWMc
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Absolutely acceptable!
 May 7, 2013
"an excellent quality product. I would recommend it to anybody!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meac
fromColorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great in soup!
 April 27, 2013
"Turmeric is wonderful in soup."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next