Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(480)
Aloe Vera(618)
Artichoke(24)
Astragalus(115)
Beet Root(29)
Berries(248)
Bilberry(108)
Boswellia(93)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(34)
Chia Seeds(490)
Chrysin(40)
Cinnamon(304)
Curcumin(132)
Dandelion(86)
Echinacea(170)
Elderberry(153)
Eleuthero(28)
Eyebright(43)
Fenugreek(123)
Feverfew(31)
Flaxseed(291)
Fo-Ti(55)
Garlic(376)
Ginger(175)
Ginseng(276)
Gotu Kola(37)
Green Tea(516)
Guggul(25)
Hawthorn(119)
Hibiscus(18)
Holy Basil(106)
Horsetail(40)
Kelp(204)
Kudzu(9)
Maca(343)
Mullein(25)
Mushrooms(324)
Neem(57)
Oregano(340)
Other Herbs(2,051)
Pine Bark(63)
Pygeum(13)
Raspberry(67)
Relora(32)
Rose Hips(28)
Rosemary(22)
Senna(40)
Skullcap(35)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(15)
Triphala(194)
Turmeric(855)
Uva Ursi(11)
Valerian(296)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Turmeric or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Curcuma longa. Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI. Turmeric is an ingredient of curry powder. It is used extensively in Indian dishes including lentil and meat dishes and in Southeast Asian cooking. Turmeric is routinely added to mustard blends and relishes. It also is used in place of saffron to provide color and flavor.
Overall rating:
4.851 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
74 out of 74(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
starwolf
fromBoston, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Quality product
 March 31, 2016
"I add turmeric to eggs and many other foods for its numerous health benefits. I pour some into a shaker and store the rest in the freezer to keep it fresh and potent. Buying the 1 lb bulk quantity is definitely the best value. Recommend highly!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
andersonsc
fromanderson sc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good quality
 March 13, 2016
"We use it everyday for the whole family, to include our furr babies."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoonBoots
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Water stays clear
 March 12, 2016
"Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder passed the water test with flying colors - even after sitting for hours!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MizJ
fromLos Angeles
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Turmeric Powder
 March 5, 2016
"This is the most potent of turmeric powders I have tried. I make a tea of it, 1tsp turmeric, 1 tsp ginger, some honey and coconut milk. Be sure to use ground black pepper to bring out the medicinal components of turmeric.
You can of course, use it for cooking and herbal medicine too.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HolisticHappiness
fromPA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
WONDERFUL FLAVOR
 February 24, 2016
"Tumeric is one of my essential spices. Used since ancient times as therapeutic medicinal Tumeric comes with healing and healthful power. This is a rich golden Tumeric, true to flavor. I usually use Frontier (I believe in their company values very strongly) however Starwest Botannicals Organic Tumeric is a quality product. Definitely recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngieMom57
fromOjai, Ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very Good Quality Organic and 100% Turmeric
 February 10, 2016
"Shipped, packaged and arrived in a very timely fashion. I've tried a number for different Turmeric powders and recommend Starwest."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoieN
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tumeric
 February 8, 2016
"I am on an anti-inflammatory diet. This is the best for that. Bulk price is great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
farmlovingit
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tastes Great
 November 24, 2015
"I bought this to use in my golden milk paste I make and take 3x day. Love this brand."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IowaCustomer
fromIowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good Product
 October 7, 2015
"Has a rich color indicative of good quality. Great price. Packaged in a good protective bag for freshness. 1 pound bag should last a long time when used as a supplelment."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NatrlWoman7
fromNYC Tri-State area
Gender:Female
Deep, Rich Color
 July 8, 2015
"I've purchased turmeric in the past but was surprised that when I opened this package, the turmeric root powder I saw was of a deep rich color-- it was a pleasant surprise as I know that a deep color indicates great quality, and that quality is often affected by variables such as climate and harvesting conditions. This particular organic turmeric root powder looks to have been harvested from very favorable conditions. In the case of good quality turmeric root powder, a little bit goes a long way and this is no exception. I have put aside some turmeric powder in a separate, small Ball jar for my face masks (which works wonderfully on smoothing and clarifying my face from the dark spots that have plagued my complexion) and the rest has been stored into a larger jar for use in food.
Just a great quality product and I use it several times a week. I hope my next purchase is of equally good quality.
"
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogirun
fromohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 June 28, 2015
"Great product. Turmeric has many health benefits. I add it to my morning smoothies, vegetables, soups...etc."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
setzjewelry
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Health Benefits
 February 9, 2015
"Tumeric should be consumed daily for great health benefits. I mix about a tablespoon in some milk and and add fresh ground pepper. They say you absorb the tumeric 2000% more if you mix it with pepper."
+14points
20of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SGFarm
fromNC
Exactly what you wxpect
 January 29, 2015
"True powder form. Light and airy, not grainy. Dissolves well."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sattva
fromCocoa Beach,Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
ATTENTION Turmeric Nuts!!
 January 15, 2015
"Check this out....I read this on earth clinic years ago. The greatest way to take turmeric is in chocolate milk. The turmeric clumps into little globules surrounded by the choc milk instead of dissolving completely so it still tastes like choc milk instead of bitter and horrible like when it's mixed with any other liquid(including white milk..yuck). Stop suffering people. I mix into choc milk turmeric, cinnamon, raw cocoa, protein powder for best drink ever!! Starwest is a great product and awesome value. The seals rarely work but so what?! Good Lord people, just fold it up and clip it like a bag of chips."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mommalissa
fromFriendswood, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This stuff is sooooooo good for you!
 December 26, 2014
"love being able to get it by the pound and it is organic. I try to use it daily."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coconuteater
fromNew York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
the best
 December 17, 2014
"I hope that this brand will continue to be available as it is by far the best and at the best price"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshinegirl01
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Amazing
 October 29, 2014
"Love starwest organic tumeric plus love all of their spices and herbs!! Love the packaging it comes in and a change from plastic.*Great Idea * I use a clip and not a problem if it don't seal or add into empty jars. Great buy on bulk and stays fresh!
Vitacost is the best as well and they always deliver everything on time and well packaged!!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
butterfly50
fromDecatur, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love Starwest Botanicals
 October 8, 2014
"I have been buying bulk herbs and spices from Starwest Botanicals for more than 10 years, and I was happy when Vitacost started carrying them.
I buy both Turmeric and Curry powder in bulk and fill empty capsules with them, rather than buying expensive supplements that are not as fresh or as good a quality as these.
Some people have complained about the packaging and say they will buy from Frontier because of it, but if you buy it from Frontier, the first thing you will notice is that it is not nearly as fragrant as the Starwest Botanicals, and it is also a lighter color than theirs.
Because of the higher quality of Starwest, I put up with the packaging, which is not that big of a deal. As soon as I open the bag, I just use one of the chip clips and then rubber band it. I use it so quickly, that I don't have to worry about it getting "old". If you are concerned and don't use it that often, put it in the freezer. It will keep forever.
I love Starwest Botanicals and without a doubt, they have a much higher quality than Frontier and on this product, (turmeric) they are even less expensive."
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nnmi1
great
 September 12, 2014
"Great Price and product. Organic."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Turmeric Root Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Margarahip1
fromBoca Raton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Starwest are simply beat quality
 August 27, 2014
"You can't beat the price of buying this product versus buying small bottles or packages. I use turmeric on everything, from smoothies to cooking. This organic turmeric has truly an aromatic flavor that lacks in other brands. We are a small family and still buy all the bulks from starwest, and freeze the remaining just in case."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next