Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(480)
Aloe Vera(618)
Artichoke(24)
Astragalus(115)
Beet Root(29)
Berries(248)
Bilberry(108)
Boswellia(93)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(34)
Chia Seeds(490)
Chrysin(40)
Cinnamon(304)
Curcumin(132)
Dandelion(85)
Echinacea(170)
Elderberry(153)
Eleuthero(28)
Eyebright(43)
Fenugreek(123)
Feverfew(31)
Flaxseed(291)
Fo-Ti(55)
Garlic(375)
Ginger(174)
Ginseng(276)
Gotu Kola(37)
Green Tea(516)
Guggul(25)
Hawthorn(119)
Hibiscus(18)
Holy Basil(106)
Horsetail(40)
Kelp(204)
Kudzu(9)
Maca(342)
Mullein(25)
Mushrooms(324)
Neem(57)
Oregano(340)
Other Herbs(2,044)
Pine Bark(63)
Pygeum(13)
Raspberry(67)
Relora(32)
Rose Hips(28)
Rosemary(22)
Senna(39)
Skullcap(35)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(15)
Triphala(194)
Turmeric(854)
Uva Ursi(11)
Valerian(295)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Slippery Elm Bark or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Ulmus rubra . Kosher Certified by Kosher Certification Services. Certified Organic by QAI. Slippery Elm Bark is a soothing nutritive demulcent which may benefit the digestive system.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razweb
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
slippery elm
 January 23, 2016
"i have purchased this product twice and both times i am very impressed with the value of it. i use it in my tea in the morning. it is a mild fiber and especially a natural fiber. i would recommend this to anyone who wants to add a little more natural fiber to their diet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hoover
fromchicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not as good as Herbal Revelations
 October 11, 2015
"I have been having digestive issues and thought I would try the Slippery Elm Bark as that is supposed to help. I bought the Herbal Revelations from Vitacost first and liked it. This brand was cheaper so when I ordered again thought I would try this one. It is not near as good as brand 1, more grainy and doesn't get really thick like the other brand. It does not seem to be the same quality. I will order the other brand next time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4healthyK9
fromReno, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 11, 2015
"Good product for digestive health."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gardenpath
fromCentral Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful Elm Bark
 August 31, 2014
"I have been using Slippery Elm Bark for almost 30 years and this is one of the best I have found. Great powdery texture, not rough. Mixes easily but easiest in warm water, like all brands. I would definitely recommend this product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Interestedinhealth
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Vitacost - great service, great product
 July 16, 2014
"The Starwest Botanical Slippery Elm Bark Powder Organic (1 lb.) is the best slippery elm that I have found. It is more expensive too, but Vitacost has the best price. When I also get quick and accurate service, that's an unbeatable combination! Thanks, Vitacost."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
reiki333
fromCorona, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Product fine--ziploc seal broke immediately tho...
 December 31, 2013
"The product itself is fine. I am disappointed that the "ziploc-type" closure came part the 1st time I opened it!!! Please inform Starwest to improve on the packaging materials."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
highonlife
Delicious and seems to be working
 July 29, 2013
"I have only been using slippery elm bark for a little over a month so I could be enjoying the placebo effect.
But I am really enjoying drinking this as a tea. I Mix one packed level teaspoon of slippery elm with 2 packed level teaspoons of dark brown sugar (I know the sugar's not healthy but Mmmm). MIX THOROUGHLY before adding 10 oz of boiling water. BLISS.
It makes a lovely beverage. Mixing the slippery elm and the sugar thoroughly makes it so you do not have the usual lumping problem. You could probably use less sugar if you want. Enjoy. (Drink while hot)"
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taid
fromOregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
was recommended for bowel issues
 May 14, 2013
"taking 1 tsp in an 8 oz glass of warm water first thing every morning, seems to be helping. Was told it may take 6 mo to really see results. Since it is easy to do and doesn't taste horrible I am willing to stay with it and see what happens.
Need some sort of whip to mix into the water. I got a "frother" from Ikea, used for milk with coffee drinks, cheap and works great.
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Juliav
fromStormville, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Acquired Taste...but you get to like it.
 January 29, 2013
"It takes time to get used to the product, but slippery elm tea doesn't taste bad and it is very soothing to the stomach."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JTB1
fromConnecticut
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wish I had found this sooner
 September 8, 2010
"Bought this to use when dogs get loose stools. Works fast and safely. Bag does not stay closed, needs improvement."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
organicmom2
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful Product
 June 4, 2009
"This is a great product to add to your oatmeal etc."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Slippery Elm Bark Powder -- 1 lb
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product