Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(468)
Aloe Vera(560)
Astragalus(101)
Chia Seeds(472)
Cinnamon(269)
Curcumin(72)
Fenugreek(100)
Flaxseed(229)
Garlic(299)
Ginger(141)
Ginseng(234)
Green Tea(460)
Mushrooms(233)
Oregano(270)
Other Herbs(7,207)
Alfalfa(68)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(21)
Bacopa(26)
Banaba(12)
Basil(17)
Beet Root(23)
Berries(210)
Bilberry(101)
Bioperine(13)
Borage(26)
Boswellia(75)
Broccoli(16)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(34)
Calendula(18)
Camu Camu(11)
Catnip(3)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(25)
Chrysin(34)
Cloves(9)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(46)
Echinacea(147)
Elderberry(106)
Eleuthero(23)
Eyebright(35)
Fennel(32)
Feverfew(26)
Fo-Ti(40)
Gotu Kola(33)
Guarana(27)
Guggul(23)
Hawthorn(103)
Hemp(3)
Hibiscus(11)
Horsetail(32)
Kava Kava(16)
Kelp(177)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(5)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(11)
Maca(381)
Melissa(9)
Mucuna(11)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(49)
Nettle(39)
Oat(26)
Osha(1)
Papaya(97)
Parsley(13)
Pine Bark(60)
Pygeum(11)
Raspberry(56)
Relora(24)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(17)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(34)
Shatavari(17)
Skullcap(31)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(19)
Triphala(161)
Valerian(245)
Wild Yam(29)
Yarrow(7)
Yohimbe(9)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(587)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Basil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb

Botanical Name: Ocimum Basilicum. Origin: Egypt. Certified by Kosher. Certified Organic by QAI. Description: 1 lb. of Organic Basil Leaf Cut & Sifted (C/S). Common Names: Common Basil Sweet Basil. Common Uses: Basil is widely used in Italian cuisine and is often paired with tomatoes. It is also used in Thai cooking. The herb complements meat vegetables cheese and egg dishes. Qualities & Properties: Antispasmodic appetizer carminative galactagogue stomachic.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
buttery
fromPaonia CO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil
 May 20, 2014
"All of this companies herbs seem to be consistently fresh tasting and hold up well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kokapelli
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Price
 April 11, 2014
"I use a lot of herbs and spices in my cooking. I also prefer using organic but that can be very expensive. Starwest Botanicals organic herbs and spices are available in 1lb. bags and at very affordable prices. I love this product line. Thank You for carrying it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizzerLou
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Just the best deal ever
 April 7, 2014
"When is a pound of organic anything less than $10? I made spaghetti squash, mixed it with garlic, coconut oil, salt, red pepper flakes and this basil, and I was catapulted into summer with one bite as I was reminded of the fresh pesto we make in the summer months. Definitely a kitchen staple."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cmomage46twoyounggirls
fromOklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love this stuff
 December 4, 2012
"I have used this before and love it. It is a great deal and the basil tastes great. We use several tablespoons per batch of sauce for spaghetti, ravioli, or pizza. It was great to find a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BearCan
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Really clean, super cheap
 November 9, 2012
"Get this. Worth it. Cheapest organic basil you will ever find."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grateful2
fromSunny Arizona
A Lot For Your Money
 March 27, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Wow! I use a lot of basil in cooking, so this was a great find. It is hard to picture how much one pound of such a light herb is, so I have included a picture that puts things in perspective. The jar of basil contains .54 oz. or 15.3 g. Starwest Botanicals packages this in a plastifoil sealed package and comes from Vitacost enclosed in a large zip-lock bag. The quality of this product is excellent, great flavor and aroma. Will purchase again."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CAP10
fromOSSINING, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
ORGANIC BASIL LEAF
 December 26, 2011
"TELL ME WHERE ARE YOU GOING TO GET ORGANIC BASIL LEAF FOR THIS PRICE? VERY SWEET IN MY SPRING MIX SALD.
JUST ADD XTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL BALSAMIC VINEGAR AND OREGANO WITH CHERRY TOMATOES AND RED ONIONS. WOW!
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dancing
fromCalifornia
Gender:Female
Amazing
 July 11, 2011
"It is the best ever Basil! Fresh, with a brilliant taste, it is like tasting dried Basil for the first time. A must for any cook. The price is incredible as is the product. Try their Oregano, it is equally amazing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
axelrod608
fromFL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
great product
 February 4, 2011
"5 stars on the product. Fresh and tasty.
2 stars on the package. The resealable strip is defective on this batch of 4 Starwest products. It's probably a temporary issue since the resealable strips on all past Starwest products have worked great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ompeace
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazingly good buy!!
 January 3, 2011
"This is quality, dried basil, and the price is unbelievable! It's a breeze to make basil-infused olive oil and pesto-like components. And the closure makes it easy to store this without losing any product. I'm very pleased with this!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
karmala
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very fresh tasting
 January 20, 2010
"of course nothing is as good as fresh basil leaf, but this is the next best thing. The quality is amazing. I use it to infuse extra virgin olive oil, mix it in salads, soups, teas. I like to sprinkle it on slices of heirloom tomatoes along with some goat cheese. Yummy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ahappymom2
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent quality
 March 25, 2009
"Love to use basil in all my veggie stir fries. Very tasty!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Starwest Botanicals Organic Basil Leaf Cut and Sifted -- 1 lb
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product