Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz

No Chemicals--Cruelty Free--Safe. Natural Hair Color--Effective & Economical--100% Pure Botanical Hair Color. Hair Color and Conditioner--No Animal Testing--Money Back Guarantee
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Review 1 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMich.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 February 25, 2016
" Works well, love the result. I aften receive compliments on my hair's shine and color. I didn't give it 5 stars because it is messy, takes some time and I smell like spinach for a few days. Still, it's worth it to be chemical free and to have such lovely results. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Perfection
 February 20, 2016
" Let me just say that I have been using this product for as long as I can remember. I used to use the Red Fox but now I use Auburn Cover the Grey with no animal on the front :( I get more comments on my hair than anything else. It's fairly easy to apply once you get used to it (you need a couple of hours), gives a gorgeous shine and majestic auburn coverage, forcing people to ask, "Are you a natural red?" No, but my hair colour is, I say 100% of the time. As a vegan, I try to avoid chemicals and products that have been tested on animals. Bravo, Light Mountain for keeping me looking young, and at such a low cost! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMesa, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
It works
 October 9, 2014
" hard to believe this product works so well and is good for you, it is messy but worth it "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromNEW YORK, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
THIS IS A VERY GOOD PRODUCT
 June 17, 2013
" I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANY ONE SINCE IT HAS GREAT FEATURES. IT'S VERY GENTLE FOR THE HAIR & THE COLOR IS TRUE TO THE AD. THE ONLY THING THAT I DIDN'T APPRECIATE WAS THAT IT COULD TAKE UP TO 3 HOURS TO CURE BEFORE USING. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDelray Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The Ultimate in Henna Hair Color
 May 8, 2013
" I started using this product a few years back after I discovered that the holistic color I had been using was actually toxic!! It was time for a switch, so after some research I found this amazing product!! I use the auburn color and it looks so natural! It matches my auburn haired twin daughters!! This product is not something you can thrown on your hair and be done in an hour. It does take time to "cure" and is a longer process, but it is so much better for you and looks so great its worth it!!! This henna is also great for people with extreme chemical sensitivities like myself! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMichigan
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great
 March 12, 2013
" I am allergic to hair dye. I have used this product for 17 years. It is an herb, makes my hair soft, healthy and doessn't break me out. I get so many people stoppiing me to tell me they love the color of my hair. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Product EVER
 September 25, 2012
" I have been using this product for 5 years now, and the compliments just keep coming. I wish I would have known about this product before I ever started chemically treating my hair b/c it is the best and totally safe. This is the only time when the more gray hair you have, the better it is. It literally turns your gray hair into copper type highlights. It makes it look like some fancy over-priced salon dye job. LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!!! Auburn is my favorite one, but I have used red, medium brown and mahogany also. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
 September 23, 2012
" I love my hair after using this product. My hair is soft and smooth and its color is awesome! Small is not too great, but who cares. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!
 July 1, 2011
" I love the results of this henna product! My hair looks and feels healthy and I've gotten tons of compliments.
The only down side is the amount of time it takes for the entire process. Several hours from start to finish, but the time spent was well worth it!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFrance
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Go for it
 July 26, 2010
" I never wanted to color my hair, but as a lark, I used a coloring cream with a henna base (not this product at all!) that instead of washing out in 4-6 shampoos as it should have, was permanent and left my gray hair orange! Yikes! When the roots began to show, I needed to do something, so I decided to try this Light Mountain Color the Gray product - my choice of hue, auburn. It's a bit complicated to use, and I was nervous about it, but I followed the directions as best I could for a beginner, and the result was really nice. The former orange tinted hair had a more normal tone to it, and the overall effect was quite good. I think the Color the Gray system works really well, covering up those gray hairs effectively while coloring the rest of the hair nicely too. I've used the Light Mountain Color the Gray twice now, and I will again next time I need to. The only drawback for me is that I don't like the way it smells, but it only lasts a day or so. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Diego
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very Nice
 March 23, 2009
" I used this product this weekend and am satisfied with the results. I used auburn and the color seems true. There is a 2 step process, first you open the number 1 bag a mix it up and then the number 2 bag you mix it up and apply number 1 bag for 15 minutes, rinse and apply number 2 bag up to an hour. I left number 2 mixture for 45 minutes. The fragrance was very pleasant and made my hair very well conditioned. Directions say to use distilled water. I used bottled water cause I did not have distilled at hand. I am going to order the auburn for my mom since I liked it so much. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Light Mountain Color the Gray Auburn -- 7 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
awsome and amazing product
 December 22, 2008
" The average american has not yet fully discovered the natural HENNA. Its a green powder and the longer you soak it in hot water the more color comes through. It is amazing and makes my hair fuller and conditioned and shiny when covering the gray. Be patient. Let this natural vegatable paste sit on your head for an hour, just wrap it up with a towel and read a book or something. You will love the results. Henna starts out reddish but gets darker with longer soaks. This is why the product also contains some indego (blue). if its too red you can always recoat with blue. no need to worry. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.