Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Vitamin C Powder & Crystals or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz

Ascorbic Acid
Overall rating:
4.629 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
33 out of 35(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Review 1 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anniepat
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Easy breezy
 March 24, 2013
"Hate pills? One little tsp gives you 5 grams, people! In juice, smoothie or water, i appreciate the high dosage."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ciao
fromLong Island
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
 March 3, 2013
"I like the vitamin C strength, you can't beat the value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
racheljean85
Works for us!
 February 27, 2013
"In order for us to give vitamin C to our toddler, one easy way to get her to take it is to add a little to her juice or milk. But we don't like giving her sugary juice, so lots of times we add it to her milk. Some other brands we've tried have caused weird reactions to the milk but this brand doesn't. So, especially for the price we really like it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NannetteM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 29, 2012
"SEEMS TO DO ITS JOB VERY WELL.... I USUALLY TAKE A 1/4 TSP AND THROW IT BACK TO MY THROAT IN FULL...THEN I CHASE IT DOWN W/ WATER. EXCELLENT PRODUCT AS FAR AS I KNOW...."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mythtern
fromUSA
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best c powder
 November 18, 2012
"best price c powder but i would reccomend to use a straw when drinking it or it will etch your teeth :)"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wilburg
fromDenver, CO
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good value
 August 26, 2012
"Anyone wishing to use large doses of vitamin C, as recommended by Dr Linus Pauling, will find this product to be a good value.
Very tart, but, hey it is very concentrated vitamin C."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PowderGuy
fromSequim, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Powder vs Pills
 July 28, 2012
"If your into supplements, you are probably tired of taking quantities of pills every day. I know I am. So I go out of my way looking for powdered supplements. I mix 5 different ones every morning in 8oz's of water with some Tang to sweeten the very sour vitamin C powder. It's an easy swallow and I wish all my supplements would come in powder form. I believe in daily mega doses of vitamin C and have been taking 5 grams in the morning and another 5 grams in the evening for the past 6 months and I do feel better. I don't think I could do that in pill form. Those 1000mg pills are large and 10 a day would be to much for me to put up with. Plus the powdered vitamin C comes in at a very good price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raeberg
fromAuburndale, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good tasting, economical and desolves well
 July 13, 2012
"I have tried many brands of Vitamin C from drug stores, all in pill form. They are very difficult to digest. I tried the warm water test to dissolve the pill, after 20 minutes the pill was still intact. I threw them out. My doctor suggested a powder form of Vitamin C of 5,000 mg. I chose Thompson at Vitacost because they had the best price. I was very surprised at the quality of Thompson Vitamin C, blended well with water, pleasant taste and of course no upset stomach. I've been using this product now for 2 years.
Good health to you and yours.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph36
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Powerful
 December 2, 2011
"This is a powerful product that I don't take each and every day as the effect lasts a long time in comparison with other brands. It took me some time to get used to the bitter taste but I'm not fossy and I'd rather make an effort and have a great quality product. It is my second purchase and I will stick to this product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NikkiMay
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Easy on the stomach
 October 24, 2011
"I love this vitamin C powder! It does not upset my stomach and give too much acidic taste unlike the other ones."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tylerlisa
fromWashington
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good
 September 20, 2011
"Bought this for the days when an added boost of vitamin c is wanted. Taste is sweet to me...too sweet but I guess that's okay."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandmaof7
fromLong Beach, Ms.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Outstanding yet economical!
 September 7, 2011
"We are more than pleased with Thompson Vitamin C powder, because of it's excellent quality & affordability. We use 1/4 tsp. twice a day in combination with our other supplements, good nutrition, & an exercise program to stay in optimum health! We highly recommend this product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marli
fromScottsdale-for now
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Disolves well
 July 1, 2011
"Potent vitamin C powder-easy to spoon a bit out of top. I put 1/4 t. in bottled cold water to drink. Very light citrus ? flavor. Disolves well."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
vitaminsRgood
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
 May 28, 2011
"Vitamin C powder is very fine and dissolves nicely in juices or what-have-you. An easy way to take C for those of us who struggle with swallowing pills. Also the powdered form is really very economical, as ascorbic acid should be.
Can also use it as a sprinkle to keep cut fruits from turning brown!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mopar
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
GREAT PRODUCT, SUPER VALUE!
 March 27, 2010
"Thompson Vitamin C Powder is a great product, and Vitacost makes it very affordable. It's a great value, which makes it an even better buy for such a vital nutrient."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
disail
nice product
 January 31, 2010
"Getting high amounts of vitamin C is great, especially in liquid. Using this powder gives your water a nice natural lemon taste."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
smiley59
fromoregon coast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 September 25, 2009
"Very strong orange tangy flavor. Would be better if it had no taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thorn11acr
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
tastes horrible !
 September 5, 2009
"Its a good value, but the taste will trash your stomach. I tried the same thing only buffered and it was a "little better"... I'm going back to tablets"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buster457
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Quality, Great Value
 September 4, 2009
"After taking this product, I could tell this is quality Vitamin C. I was very pleasantly surprised with how relaxed I felt after mixing a teaspoon with a glass of water. The price is very good."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson Vitamin C Powder -- 5000 mg - 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit4ever
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Most effective product on the market
 August 6, 2009
"I can't get enough of this orange bottle. The C disolves really well, it's super high mg, and doesn't have the aftertaste that most C powders have. Really good price."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next