Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(893)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(103)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(194)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,652)
Coconut Oil(4,120)
Collagen(353)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,749)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,665)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(57)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(284)
Letter Vitamins(12,717)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(446)
Melatonin(1,224)
Minerals(9,084)
Multivitamins(13,049)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,286)
Pectin(22)
Propolis(84)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules

Original Formula. Complete Probiotic System with Live Cultures. Discover the Dr. Ohhira Difference!™. Original Vegetarian Formula. It Takes Guts...™. Developed by award-winning microbiologist lichiroh Ohhira Ph.D. and distinguished research scientists from Okayama University Dr. Ohhira's Probiotics® combines ancient Japanese fermentation artistry with modern technology. The Original Formula is fermented for three  years using 12 strains of lactic acid bacteria (LAB) including TH10 Dr. Ohhira's proprietary LAB strain. The probiotics are encapsulated with their culture medium of nutritions fermented vegetables fruits mushrooms and seaweed. This blend supplies a complete probiotic system including prebiotics enzymes micro-nutrients and organic acids for a healthy digestive pH. Dr. Ohhira's Probiotics supports the individual's own unique flora and promotes healthy nutrient absorption metabolism and immune response.
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
50 out of 52(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTucson, AZ
Age:75+
Gender:Female
probiotic I tust
 May 26, 2016
" Probiotics are a natural supplement to my health regiment. It keeps a healthy gut. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWinchester, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great product!
 March 10, 2016
" Great product at a good price! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCleveland, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product - use it every day
 February 8, 2016
" We love Dr. Ohhira's Probiotics - my husband and I take 2 every day, 1 in the am and 1 in the pm. We both feel that it helps us both a lot. Would highly recommend it to others. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent probiotic supplement
 February 3, 2016
" I use probiotic supplements regularly and this one is excellent. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromtoms river NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 December 18, 2015
" I have been using this product for a few years. It is pricey but I feel it is worth the money as it keeps me healthy. I do switch to using other probiotics but I always come back to Dr. Ohira's. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Hampshire
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best probiotic I have found
 December 16, 2015
" I absolutely love this probiotic. Taking this probiotic twice a day as directed is great for keeping the good bacteria healthy in your gut and intestines for overall health. When the gut is healthy we are most likely healthy.... "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Effective probiotic
 July 28, 2015
" I have found this to be a highly effective probiotic for me. I am fortunate that a health care professional recommended it to me. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromfl
Age:75+
Gender:Female
overrated
 April 8, 2015
" i just can,t see any improvement in my digestion, my gut health. the price is too high. "
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromScottsdale, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Simply the best
 December 21, 2014
" I have tried other high end probiotics including the ones that require refrigeration. Dr. Ohhira's is simply the best. I feel better within 24 hours of first use. It has never made me feel bloated or upset my stomach. It's never given me temporary diarrhea as some of the products that claim to be more powerful have done. This is one product that I truly believe everyone can benefit from "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
I buy solely on cost, and that is why I bought thi
 July 15, 2014
" I buy solely on cost, and that is why I bought this. "
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWest TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent
 June 5, 2014
" Most of us need probiotics and while there are numerous ones out there I have found excellent ads and reviews on this one. I have been using it off and on for a number of years. "
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWellington, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best probiotic on the market!
 April 11, 2014
" After trying about every single probiotic on the market, I have finally found one worth keeping! Outstanding quality! "
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCameron, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works Instantly
 October 27, 2013
" Wonderful product I would hate to have to live without. Hands down the best probiotic we have ever purchased "
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromnsb,fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product to maintain health & well being
 October 8, 2013
" Do your research, this product stands out among them all. Vitacost has the best price. "
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best probiotics out there
 August 21, 2013
" You don't notice a difference with a lot of probiotics, but you feel better when taking these. Very small capsule, easy to swallow. Don't have to refrigerate. Worth the price! "
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
More Expensive But Worth every penney!
 June 30, 2013
" I've used many different brand of probiotics, even expensive ones and this is the cadillac of proiotics. No comparison. I saw a difference within a day. I use only one a day vs the suggested two and it is more economical and still does the job. Going to the Ohira website and reading about how he developed this product is interesting and shows how much research went into it. I tell my patients if they want the best and great results, buy this one! "
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromlos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great--knocking off 1 star for price
 June 2, 2013
" I wish these were a little more affordable. I will say they are easy to take and I like the convenient 2/day perforated sections. I really do think these are helping my tummy and my digestion overall. If you take one after a meal you can really feel/hear the gear starting to crank in your digestion. Go go go, bugs, go! I plan to keep taking them, but to make them more affordable I may have to take it down to 1 per day. That's better than nothing, right? "
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFort Lauderdale, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Finally a product that lives up to it's promise
 October 28, 2012
" After trying many, many probiotic products I finally found one that works as promised. "
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKentucky
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr Ohhira's Probiotics is best of all
 July 4, 2012
" I have tried many kinds of probiotics and I have found Dr Ohhira's Probiotics Original Formula is best of all I have tried. I actually felt and saw real effects on my body. According to book on probiotics, many probiotics supplements do NOT adhere to person's colon. There are some indications in my body that Dr Ohhira's Probiotics actually adhering to my colon and its bacterias are growing in my colon. If you look at time and resources and efforts which go into producing Dr Ohhira's Probiotics, then it is clearly obvious reason Dr Ohhira's Probiotics surpass many other probiotics supplements in terms of quality and results in person's body. "
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRhode Island
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful!
 June 19, 2011
" Best probiotic I have ever used. I take one a day rather than the suggested two and I feel great! "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next