Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules

Original Formula. Complete Probiotic System with Live Cultures. Discover the Dr. Ohhira Difference!™. Original Vegetarian Formula. It Takes Guts...™. Developed by award-winning microbiologist lichiroh Ohhira Ph.D. and distinguished research scientists from Okayama University Dr. Ohhira's Probiotics® combines ancient Japanese fermentation artistry with modern technology. The Original Formula is fermented for three  years using 12 strains of lactic acid bacteria (LAB) including TH10 Dr. Ohhira's proprietary LAB strain. The probiotics are encapsulated with their culture medium of nutritions fermented vegetables fruits mushrooms and seaweed. This blend supplies a complete probiotic system including prebiotics enzymes micro-nutrients and organic acids for a healthy digestive pH. Dr. Ohhira's Probiotics supports the individual's own unique flora and promotes healthy nutrient absorption metabolism and immune response.
Overall rating:
4.884 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
42 out of 43(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
seajay
I buy solely on cost, and that is why I bought thi
 July 15, 2014
"I buy solely on cost, and that is why I bought this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sonlite777
fromWest TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent
 June 5, 2014
"Most of us need probiotics and while there are numerous ones out there I have found excellent ads and reviews on this one. I have been using it off and on for a number of years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lostintranslation
fromWellington, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best probiotic on the market!
 April 11, 2014
"After trying about every single probiotic on the market, I have finally found one worth keeping! Outstanding quality!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elead
fromCameron, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works Instantly
 October 27, 2013
"Wonderful product I would hate to have to live without. Hands down the best probiotic we have ever purchased"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nsbgirl
fromnsb,fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product to maintain health & well being
 October 8, 2013
"Do your research, this product stands out among them all. Vitacost has the best price."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
meaggy02
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best probiotics out there
 August 21, 2013
"You don't notice a difference with a lot of probiotics, but you feel better when taking these. Very small capsule, easy to swallow. Don't have to refrigerate. Worth the price!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fooddr
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
More Expensive But Worth every penney!
 June 30, 2013
"I've used many different brand of probiotics, even expensive ones and this is the cadillac of proiotics. No comparison. I saw a difference within a day. I use only one a day vs the suggested two and it is more economical and still does the job. Going to the Ohira website and reading about how he developed this product is interesting and shows how much research went into it. I tell my patients if they want the best and great results, buy this one!"
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chakra5Yoga
fromlos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great--knocking off 1 star for price
 June 2, 2013
"I wish these were a little more affordable. I will say they are easy to take and I like the convenient 2/day perforated sections. I really do think these are helping my tummy and my digestion overall. If you take one after a meal you can really feel/hear the gear starting to crank in your digestion. Go go go, bugs, go! I plan to keep taking them, but to make them more affordable I may have to take it down to 1 per day. That's better than nothing, right?"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dzaremba
fromFort Lauderdale, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Finally a product that lives up to it's promise
 October 28, 2012
"After trying many, many probiotic products I finally found one that works as promised."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeriousNutrition7
fromKentucky
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr Ohhira's Probiotics is best of all
 July 4, 2012
"I have tried many kinds of probiotics and I have found Dr Ohhira's Probiotics Original Formula is best of all I have tried. I actually felt and saw real effects on my body. According to book on probiotics, many probiotics supplements do NOT adhere to person's colon. There are some indications in my body that Dr Ohhira's Probiotics actually adhering to my colon and its bacterias are growing in my colon. If you look at time and resources and efforts which go into producing Dr Ohhira's Probiotics, then it is clearly obvious reason Dr Ohhira's Probiotics surpass many other probiotics supplements in terms of quality and results in person's body."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doglover888888
fromRhode Island
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful!
 June 19, 2011
"Best probiotic I have ever used. I take one a day rather than the suggested two and I feel great!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
angel80
excellent p;roduct
 May 20, 2011
"Would highly recommend these
probiotics! Worth every penny!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leray
fromTucson, Az
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
BEST PROBIOTIC!
 November 28, 2010
"We have found this to be the best probiotic out there and it's also milk free."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
darkeyez
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 9, 2010
"This is the best probiotic I have ever used. It works!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KITTYBO
GREAT PRODUCT!
 April 18, 2010
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This product comes highly recommended by health care professionals. I wish it were less expensive, but I will continue to use. Another plus for many is it is vegetarian/vegan friendly."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rbegui
fromPhoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Simply The best
 January 24, 2010
"Simply the best in probiotics! I feel it's effects almost immediately."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tcalandra
fromMontgomery, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product!
 December 2, 2009
"I really like these probitotics they work fast!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OmiH
The Best
 November 5, 2009
"If you want them to last, just use it with other cheaper probiotic. I find it works better this way. I take one Ohhira's with two PB8."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamaofthree
Great probiotic!
 October 14, 2009
"I've been using this probiotic for several months now and am very pleased with it. I've only tried one other kind in the past, but this one seems to work much better for me. I only wish it wasn't so expensive!"
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Essential Formulas Dr Ohhira's Probiotics® Original Formula -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vito58
Best Probiotic.
 September 23, 2009
"I like Dr. Ohhira's because I believe it is top of the line. I chew a couple up if I have a stomach ache. Take them with me when I travel for the travelers stomach. They never let me down."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next