Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(486)
Amino Acids(1,278)
Calcium(3,168)
CoQ10(2,228)
Coconut Oil(2,815)
EFAs(3,284)
Fish Oil(1,379)
Acne(51)
Apis Mell(10)
Arnica(436)
Bioplasma(63)
Calendula(94)
Carbo Veg(10)
Children(141)
Cold & Flu(156)
Ear Care(17)
Energy(4)
Eye Care(30)
Gout(3)
Kidney(4)
Menopause(23)
Nerve(96)
PMS(36)
Sepia(5)
Silicea(41)
Sulphur(14)
Iron(490)
Krill Oil(671)
Magnesium(1,520)
Melatonin(955)
Multi-vitamins(10,385)
Omega-3(4,468)
Probiotics(4,421)
SAMe(520)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(115)
Vitamin B(4,040)
Vitamin C(2,429)
Vitamin D(2,134)
Vitamin E(441)
Vitamin K(224)
Whole Foods(1,001)
Zinc(321)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Skin Irritations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz

 A homeopathic formula for the temporary relief of symptoms of inflammation pain and itching associated with bites and stings.  Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment is a fast acting ointment to relieve the swelling and itching from bug bites. The citronella oil in the base makes it smell good and helps to deter insects from the second bite. It's not a repellant but it does offer fast acting and long lasting relief!
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Review 1 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teloh
fromAZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Works great for USA mosquitoes
 November 7, 2012
"I love this product, one stick can last long time. Whenever I or my kids get bitten by mosquitoes, this products gives a fast relief. That is when we are in USA. But, when we went over to Europe last summer, the product wasn't as helpful. There are different type of mosquitoes that are awful and itching would last for days..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
aaa111
fromflorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This product does not work, and moreover...
 October 5, 2012
"besides not working,it is greasy and stays greasy. Mosquito bites continue to itch as if you had not applied it. It seems like there is a good amount in the tube, but this is deceptive. In very fine print, you can read that it is only .26 of an ounce, which is about a teaspoon and a half, so it is gone after only a few applications. Which probably doesn't matter since it doesn't work anyway."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foxylittlemama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love!
 August 20, 2012
"We live in SC so bug bites are a daily occurence here. This shortens the duration of the bite by quite a bit. Only downfall is it doesn't really take the itch/sting away. Less scaring too. We don't go without a couple of tubes in our house."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
judyv921
fromSaint Louis
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Not quite the best for bites
 July 5, 2012
"I react very badly and quickly to bites from any bug. This product
is really oily, and did not do anything for the itching and swelling.
Hyland's Apis Mell, 30x, works much better overall---it is not an
immediate resolution, but it does work.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zoewill
fromJohnstown, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 October 31, 2011
"Worked immediately. Love this"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
steffiholistictherapist
fromsouth tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
use instead of calamine, etc
 September 18, 2010
"great to store with first aid kit for any outdoor trips"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
switz
fromChicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Better than Advertised
 June 13, 2010
"This was recommended in the NYT after a comparison test with about 5 other products. Took it to Belize where we were attacked by mosquitos...this product really worked--stopped the itching."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
herbsgirl
fromWisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Convenient and seems to work!
 December 7, 2009
"We took this on a camping trip. We used it on mosquito bites and I shared it with my sister in law. It really seemed to help stop the itching! I hope to purchase it for next years camping/mosquito season too!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
llflowers
fromDelaware
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My son loves this stuff!
 September 18, 2009
"My son is always getting mosquito and bug bites. This is the ONLY medicine he will let me put on his bites. It's not gooey like the creams. It's a stick that is easy for him to apply as well. Do not keep this product in your car or any warm place however. It will melt and then you have to dig out the product. I HIGHLY recommend this product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sfen
THIS WORKS WONDERS!
 September 17, 2009
"I read a review of this product in a national publication and bought it on that recommendation --- and I am SO glad that I did! We took it on several camping trips this summer and used it liberally on my son who was bitten many times, often around his face. I never worried about applying to sensitive areas and once the brief waiting period (described on the product) was over, we were all amazed that the bites stopped itching entirely. This allowed for the bites to disappear very quickly because they weren't getting inflamed by scratching. AMAZING. My husband and I used it, too, with the same results."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Hyland's Bug Bite Ointment -- 0.26 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product