Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Digestive Health or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules

40000 Serratio Units Per Veggie Cap. Science-Based Nutrition™ Dietary Supplement. Serrapeptase is a proteolytic enzyme isolated from the non-pathogenic bacteria Serratia species found in the digestive tract of the Japanese silkworm. The enzyme is used by the worms to digest their cocoons. Serrapeptase has been used as a nutritional supplement in Europe and Asia for nearly three decades. Each vegetarian capsule of Best Serrapeptase contains enteric-coated acid stable granules of pure serrapeptase designed for optimal absorption in the intestinal tract.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
11 out of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Support For Overall Joint Health
 June 21, 2013
"No gelatin in the capsules. I take this for supporting overall joint health. Capsules easy to swallow. Item hard to find in stores."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
torpedo
 July 28, 2012
"I began taking serrapeptase three weeks ago. I began with one capsule for about three days. I then began taking three capsules a day. After about two weeks I developed a very stiff neck. Since it began to get better I continued taking the three capsules per day. I then developed very sore muscles in my neck and upper back. At that point I discontinued use of serrapeptase. I have been off it for about 2 days and the condition is starting to improve. When it is totally cleared up I would like to try the serrapeptase again. I can't say for sure that there is a connection. Has anyone else had a similar experience?"
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
410college
fromtweed, Canada
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 April 21, 2011
"only on our first bottle, but it does make a difference"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
gtrsteve
fromElizabeth, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Worthless Product
 November 15, 2010
"The product did not do what it was supposed to do at all."
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNC
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Serrapeptase 40k
 June 10, 2010
"After only a few days, I began to feel as if my body could actually breathe. Prior to this I felt as if I could breathe, but my body could not get the benefit. my energy shot up and I became the most energetic 53 yr. old around. No matter what the issue, I would advise anyone to try this before going down the endless trail of Big Pharma."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
davide
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
 February 18, 2010
"Really didn't see any difference using this product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dipsy
fromMilford, New Hampshire
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fabulous Product
 February 13, 2010
"Product seems to be free from alergic reaction, indeed does what it is being taken to accomplish."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
livelaughlove
fromorlando
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not for me
 July 5, 2009
"I was using another brand of serrapeptase with great results. But have been dissapointed with this product. The other brand was not more or less expensive, but I could not purchase a large quantity in one bottle. So I read all the reviews and picked this one. This just did work for me."
-21points
1of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
katz66
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Hit the spots
 May 23, 2009
"I have been using this for 6 months now. I started with one much more expencive and kept reading labels and found this is almost exactly like the one I was taking at triple the cost. I tried it and found no difference so I switched.
Very happy with Best Serrapetase"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product