Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(893)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(102)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(194)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,651)
Coconut Oil(4,119)
Collagen(353)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,749)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,664)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(57)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(283)
Letter Vitamins(12,719)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(446)
Melatonin(1,222)
Minerals(9,086)
Multivitamins(13,047)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,286)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,341)
Propolis(84)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Digestive Support or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules

40000 Serratio Units Per Veggie Cap. Science-Based Nutrition™ Dietary Supplement. Serrapeptase is a proteolytic enzyme isolated from the non-pathogenic bacteria Serratia species found in the digestive tract of the Japanese silkworm. The enzyme is used by the worms to digest their cocoons. Serrapeptase has been used as a nutritional supplement in Europe and Asia for nearly three decades. Each vegetarian capsule of Best Serrapeptase contains enteric-coated acid stable granules of pure serrapeptase designed for optimal absorption in the intestinal tract.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
12 out of 15(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Support For Overall Joint Health
 June 21, 2013
" No gelatin in the capsules. I take this for supporting overall joint health. Capsules easy to swallow. Item hard to find in stores. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
 July 28, 2012
" I began taking serrapeptase three weeks ago. I began with one capsule for about three days. I then began taking three capsules a day. After about two weeks I developed a very stiff neck. Since it began to get better I continued taking the three capsules per day. I then developed very sore muscles in my neck and upper back. At that point I discontinued use of serrapeptase. I have been off it for about 2 days and the condition is starting to improve. When it is totally cleared up I would like to try the serrapeptase again. I can't say for sure that there is a connection. Has anyone else had a similar experience? "
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromtweed, Canada
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 April 21, 2011
" only on our first bottle, but it does make a difference "
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromElizabeth, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Worthless Product
 November 15, 2010
" The product did not do what it was supposed to do at all. "
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNC
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Serrapeptase 40k
 June 10, 2010
" After only a few days, I began to feel as if my body could actually breathe. Prior to this I felt as if I could breathe, but my body could not get the benefit. my energy shot up and I became the most energetic 53 yr. old around. No matter what the issue, I would advise anyone to try this before going down the endless trail of Big Pharma. "
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
 February 18, 2010
" Really didn't see any difference using this product. "
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMilford, New Hampshire
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fabulous Product
 February 13, 2010
" Product seems to be free from alergic reaction, indeed does what it is being taken to accomplish. "
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromorlando
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not for me
 July 5, 2009
" I was using another brand of serrapeptase with great results. But have been dissapointed with this product. The other brand was not more or less expensive, but I could not purchase a large quantity in one bottle. So I read all the reviews and picked this one. This just did work for me. "
-24points
3of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Hit the spots
 May 23, 2009
" I have been using this for 6 months now. I started with one much more expencive and kept reading labels and found this is almost exactly like the one I was taking at triple the cost. I tried it and found no difference so I switched.
Very happy with Best Serrapetase "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Doctor's Best Serrapeptase -- 40000 Units - 270 Vegetarian Capsules
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product