Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sun Care & Protection or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz

Natural Very Emollient™ Sunscreen. Mineral Protection. Broad Spectrum 30 SPF. Water Resistant (40 Minutes). Paraben Free.   This very emollient and botanically moisturizing mineral sunscreen provides broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection as defined by the FDA. Made with chemical-free sunscreens this quick absorbing lotion is water resistant (40 minutes) paraben free and lightly scented with a fresh all-natural fragrance. Powerful antioxidant rich Green Tea Grape Seed Oil and Vitamin E nourish skin while Aloe Vera Lavender and Chamomile moisturize and smooth.  . Helps prevent sunburn • if used as directed with other sun protection measures (see directions) decreases the risk of skin disease and early skin aging caused by the sun.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
12 out of 15(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
colormepink
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Doesn't smell like what I was expecting
 March 18, 2014
"I previously used another Alba Botanica sunscreen. It's the purple/pink bottle that's SPF 45 and says lavender on it (although the lavender scent is debatable). I decided to switch to this one because this supposedly has a better rating on EWG.org; however, when I smeared it on my hands and arms before going out on a sunny day, I realized the feel of it on my skin resembles sticky store brand sunscreen. It was kind of gross. I don't think it sinks into your skin very well.
It also smells too much of aloe and not enough of vanilla. I'm not a fan of aloe scented things, but I was hoping the vanilla part would overpower that. Nope. The aloe overpowers the vanilla."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Renilov44
fromNewark, NJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Not great for dark skin people
 July 23, 2013
"I wanted to like this because of the ingredients and the price but it leaves a blue mask on my skin and feels a bit drying. Oh well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommadoc
fromLos Angeles
Sensitive skin? Try Alba Botanical sunscreen
 July 21, 2013
"Re-apply after coming out of the water, and every 2 hours if not in the water. (Every 80 minutes if sweating). My son is sensitive to most sunscreens, but not to this one. We love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mergirl2
fromHartford, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
does not apply well
 June 27, 2013
"generally I love Alba Botanica sunscreen but this particular one I would not get again, it clumps on the skin and will eventually rub in but it is not a pleasant experience..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
biscrandi
fromIndiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I do like this but.....
 April 14, 2013
"I have used the Alba sunscreen in the past. This one was pretty runny. Usually if you shake it up it thinkens up, but this time it didn't. It still worked great on protection from the sun. Will still buy again....."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happytobehome
fromFarmerville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great smell and texture
 March 22, 2013
"I love this sunscreen. It's smooth and smells good. It's a good price too, especially for a natural product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pinkscarf
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Safe, doesn't stink, w/ UVA&UVB protection
 August 29, 2012
"I like this product. It doesn't smell as bad as some other products out there, provides good protection. I'm dark-skinned and this product does not leave a tell-tale white film after application. :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jodiorodio
fromSt. Paul, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great lasting water resistance and smell!
 August 13, 2012
"It takes a lot of rubbing in, but for a mineral based sunscreen it's absolutely one of the best."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ljmonkey
fromKentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A good quality mineral based sunscreen that works
 August 1, 2012
"I had researched the different types of sunscreens that there are. There are chemical-based sunscreens and mineral-based sunscreens. Though the chemical-based ones work, the chemicals can harm your body so I tried this mineral-based one. It still does protect you from the sun but is better for your overall health. After swimming, I reapply the sunscreen about every 45 minutes. This particular one smells good and even my kids use it. I just wish they made it in a higher SPF."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
MyOpinionOnly
do not buy
 April 6, 2012
"The product is separated and runny."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RawVegGirl
fromPhoenix
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Smells Wonderful!
 June 4, 2010
"Has a very fresh scent, with a hint of vanilla. Love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seriously
fromL.A. California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Pretty Good
 June 16, 2009
"I love the smell. Goes on easy. Fairly non toxic. Does protect you from burning but you will still tan so I wouldn't say it's the highest in sun protection."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jane
fromFlorida
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Recommended, with Caution
 February 5, 2009
"So, my caveat is that this was the first time I'd used a mineral/physical sunblock; not sure if my problems were unique to Alba or common for these types of products. The smell was a beautiful vanilla - no chemicals - and it felt good going on, but I ended up with a weird streaky sunburn that showed where my application had been heavier in certain spots (which were still white). I don't think it's possible to put on a lotion perfectly evenly all over, so I would only use this again in no-danger-of-sunburn situations, like daily errands."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Aloe Vanilla -- 4 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product