Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz

USDA Certified Organic. Fair for life Certified. Over 150 Years & 5 Generations of Soap Excellence. Made in USA. Fair Trade Olive Oil: Olive oil imparts velvety smoothness to this soap. In early 2007 Dr. Bronner's began sourcing 90% of their olive oil needs from Palestinian producers near the West Bank town of Jenin. There the trading firm Canaan Fair Trade was founded by Palestinians who support peaceful co-existence with Israel and see profitable olive farming as one means of improving Palestinians' economic situation. In honor of Dr. Bonner and the peace that the olive tree symbolizes Dr. Bronner sources olive oil from Israel as well. The Jewish Israeli Strauss family are pioneers in organic olive oil production and are related to the Bronner family; and the balance of the olive oil comes from Sindyanna a Fair Trade business run by Jewish and Arab women in Israel that supports Arab-Israeli producers.  . Fair Trade Jojoba Oil: Jojoba oil is actually a liquid wax with a unique molecular structure similar to key moisturizers in the skin's sebum. Indians of the Sonoran desert where Jojoba is native have used jojoba oil for centuries as a daily moisturizer for skin scalp and hair. Serindipia Jojoba was founded by Dr. Bronner's in partnership with the Com'caac Indians on their land in the Mexican Sonoran desert where jojoba seeds are wild harvested sustainably by tribe members who receive excellent prices wages and benefits.  . Fair Deal Hemp Oil: Dr. Bronner's uses Canadian hemp oil as a superfatting ingredients in all their soaps because of its unsurpassed essential fatty acid (EFA) content. Fair Deal is the developed world's counterpart to Fair Trade which is geared towards developing countries. The Fair Deal program ensures that farmers receive a fair price for their organic crops and farm workers fair wages and working conditions for their labor. Dr. Bronner's is working to change outmoded US policy to allow American farmers to grow industrial hemp again.  . Fair Trade Coconut Oil: The Serendipol project in Sri Lanka has become the world's foremost source of certified organic and fair trade Virgin Coconut Oil (VDO). It not only supplies Dr. Bronner's growing demand for cosmetics grade coconut oil which gives the soaps its rich and cleansing lather but also supplies premium quality oil for Dr. Bronner's own line of food grade VCO. Dr. Bronner's pay their family farmers and workers fair prices and wages and supply organic compost and training to improve soil fertility. The fair trade premium funds community needs such as medical equipment for local hospitals.  
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromWarrensburg, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Squeaky clean results
 June 18, 2014
"When your hair needs a break from all those chemicals that you can't pronounce Dr. Bonner's soap will leave it clean and residue free for more shine and body while you style!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annie62
fromAustin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good for you and the environment
 August 3, 2013
"Great to have in the kitchen as a hand wash soap. My hands were in rough shape after using the dishwashing liquid and after about 4 days of using a more natual soap - they were back to normal. The lavendar Dr. Bonners left my hands dry, but this one did not and leaves a nice after scent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freggel
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
great product
 February 28, 2011
"it gets the dirt off, leaving my hands clean, and smelling great! We have a different smell in each bathroom, and our kitchen sink. We love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
compassionfruit
not for those with very dry skin
 February 6, 2011
"i hate this soap...i have extremely dry skin & this doesn't help. the smell is nothing special & it leaves a sticky brown residue all over my sink as well. will not re-order."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CardioQueen
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Love This Soap!
 February 3, 2011
"This is now the only hand soap my family will use. It foams nicely, smells wonderful, and is non-drying; all this while being chemical free!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
froscoe
fromMiami, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
favorite liquid soap ever
 August 3, 2010
"This product is astounding!
When i first used it, i thought it was gross because of the color and consistency, but after a few uses i realized what an awesome product it is.
The consistency is quite thin and oil-like. But it rinses off immediately and leaves no residue. It also removes most any odor and leaves a pleasant lemon-lime aroma. Very nice.
It only takes a few drops (one pump squirt) to thoroughly clean your hands. The bottle is very long lasting.
Also leaves a nice feeling on the skin.
The fact that it is a FAIR TRADE product is icing on the cake :-)
I LOVE this soap and give it the highest possible recommendation!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
karsmitty
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great soap
 July 28, 2010
"I use this as my hand soap on my vanity. You only need a very tiny amount to work up a nice lather. I like the fact that it's a natural product and lasts a long time. I've used the peppermint fragrance in the past and really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to using this fragrance of Lemongrass Lime. I like the versatility of this product as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TCfan
fromTraverse City, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great product
 April 26, 2010
"my husband even uses this soap to wash his hair, in a pinch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Autumn
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
I like the original Dr. Bronner's better
 March 8, 2010
"I like that it is more moisturizing, but definitely does NOT work well as a shampoo, and you have to use more of it than the regular Dr. Bronner's. I like it as hand soap, but will go back to the lavender soap for body."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacinthebox
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Love this product!
 March 1, 2010
"Our family uses this for bathing, shaving and my husband uses it to wash his hair. We love the fact that it's completely safe and non toxic along with being organic and fair trade. The lemongrass lime scent is so refreshing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nina1
fromAustin, Tx
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great stuff!
 May 4, 2009
"It smells good and cleans skin wonderfully. My skin never feels dry. I found this to be easier to handle in the shower than the regular Dr. Bronner liquid soaps. It is thicker and more viscous and comes in a pump bottle. All Dr. Bronner soaps are great...they contain no artificial ingredients and are fabulous for washing silk and wool garments as well. I even use the liquid soaps to mop my kitchen floors!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peach
fromWI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Would recommend!
 May 1, 2009
"I love this product for its natural ingredients, cleansing power, and wonderful fragrance (nice but not overpowering-"even man friendly"). BUT, it is runnier than I would like (it drips out of my pump dispenser after using) and I have to get over it's strange brown color...not deal breakers for me though!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jenghig
fromMoore, Oklahoma
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 April 21, 2009
"To me this is a little more drying then the Almond Castile soap. That being said I rotate it with that soap and I use this for a deep cleaning soap. Again it works well for hair, body, and face."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jen5
Safe, and smells incredible!
 April 13, 2009
"It's fun to wash and smell so amazing!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ecochick
fromMN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great natural product that works!
 November 18, 2008
"I had never used Dr Bronner's soap before, but I had heard about it. I decided to try this new soap since I was looking for a natural body wash that both my husband and I would like.
This soap has the most natural ingredient list I've ever seen! It also suds up nicely unlike some natural products. My husband is a mechanic so he needs a soap that will clean off grease and this one does! It also is not drying and actually leaves your skin lightly moisturized because of the Coconut and Olive Oils
The smell is yummy and my husband even likes it, it's not overpowering or "girly", just a nice refreshing lemony-lime smell.
This product is also a good value. You get a huge amount in a convenient pump for a small price compared to other natural soaps.
I would recommend Dr Bronners Organic Soap to anyone looking for a natural body wash that smells good and actually works!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
eman
shikakai soap
 November 8, 2008
"i have used dr. bronner soaps for about 15 years now and when i saw that they now make a pump soap i figured i would give it a try. well i don't really like the smell of it much not much lemongrass or lime aroma to it and i feel it does not lather very well."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dinkerson
fromWashington, DC
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
slightly disappointed
 October 15, 2008
"i'm a big fan of dr bronner soaps and don't use anything else these days. i tried the shikakai range for the first time and wasn't too impressed. cleans well and smells alright, but comes out a nasty looking brown color and leaves a bit of a weird residue. not a bad product, but i'll be sticking to the regular liquid soaps from now on.."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sami
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very Refreshing
 October 6, 2008
"I love the smell and I love the great ingredients. It leaves your skin clean and refreshed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lemongrass Lime -- 24 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product