Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz

Certified Fair Trade. USDA Organic. Organic Shikakai comes from the seed pods of the small South Asian tree Acacia Concinna and has been used for over 1000 years in India as a gentle conditioning cleanser for both skin and hair. It is extracted from the Shikakai in organic sugar and grape juice which have excellent humectant (moisturizing) qualities and combine with Dr. Bronner's castile soap base for rich emollient lather.  . Over 150 Year & 5 Generations of Soap Excellence
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
13 out of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Edemae
Awful smell
 December 13, 2012
"I really like all the other Dr. Bronner's products I have gotten, and really liked how they all smelled...but this one, yuck. It literally made me gag in the shower. If you can get past the smell, it is an awesome product, but I couldn't. The smell is VERY overpowering and awful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lexysmom
frompalmyra VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Smell
 October 8, 2012
"The color of the soap was a little scary at first, dark brown, then I got use to it. Wish it had a little more bubbles to it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smokeyprincess
best soap ever
 August 2, 2012
"I have been using this soap for 4 years now....I started shopping at vitacost because I found that they had the cheapest price of it....and now since I moved they dont sell it any where near me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
organicgigi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great product, not so great scent
 December 17, 2010
"I have used dr. bronners products for years. i love the fact that they are organic, use minimal, yet good quality ingredients and are affordable. However, i don't like the smell of this soap. it simply just does not smell good. I was very disappointed, especially since all the other reviewers couldn't say enough positive things about it. The original lavender castile soap is much more appealing, but i'm hoping this will start to grow on me since i have finish the bottle. with that being said, i still gave 4 stars simply because my skin is noticeably softer & much better moisturized than it when i just use the orginal castile. I will definetly use this product again, i'm just going to keep trying the different scents until i find one i like."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
withintheword
fromlong island, ny
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
invigorating
 November 3, 2010
"I really like this as a body wash, and didnt care for it too much as a shampoo. I am AA w/ 3c-4a hair, and it did leave my hair somewhat moisturized but not that cleansed. I would use it as a shampoo again but it will not be the first one I reach for, nor will I buy it again for its shampooing properties. I would by it again as body wash as it is very invigorating and the scent of lavender is very pronounced ( not overpowering and I am pregnant and can handle this scent easily). It lathers well too and lasts a very long time. the reason for only 4 stars is that I can smell an undertone of the shikakai which I dont care for, but dont mind too much, it doesnt suit me too well as a shampoo, and if you get it in your eyes forget about it!!!!!!!! I would definitely by it again- the ingredients are very nice and it's true- it is sweet if you happen to get it in your mouth- weird, I know!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dportugal
Very Unique
 May 16, 2010
"Okay, this is a different kind of product. It is brown and syrupy, has a moisturizing effect, but not what many would expect. If you are into PURE and NATURAL, this is for you. It has a moisturizing effect."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacinthebox
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
We love this soap!
 March 1, 2010
"Our family uses this for bathing, shaving and my husband uses it to wash his hair. We love the fact that it's completely safe and non toxic along with being organic and fair trade. The lavender scent is heavenly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TraceySH
fromOregon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 February 13, 2010
"We use this for a shower soap. My husband has very sensitive skin, and this soap doesn't cause my husband any skin reactions. I only wish it was more moisturizing. I thought it would be with the Shikakai added. It doesn't really seem to different from the regular soap."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shades
fromTX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
ok soap
 November 27, 2009
"I think this soap is a good amount for what you pay, and I love the natural ingredients, but was a little disappointed with the results. I use it for an all-over face, body, shampoo. My husband uses it as well, and he has no complaints. I feel that it leaves a slight stickiness to the skin and hair. This is easily remedied with a vinegar rinse, but most people don't like to rinse their hair and body with vinegar. If you do, then this is a good, economical product. Smells like natural lavender."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
great soap
 November 23, 2009
"I have always Dr. Brooner's soap but this stuff is amazing. (it even tastes good haha.. by accident) It feels a bit more moisturizing than the original with a great lather and wonderful scent. I bought the lavender. I love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nina1
fromAustin, Tx
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great stuff!
 June 10, 2009
"Fabulous for washing your face...this soap will not dry out the skin and will leave it soft. I love the quality and the natural ingredients. I use this now in several scents and like it better than the classic liquid soap that I had been using for years. This is great stuff! Use it all over your body!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cee4cee
fromRahway N.J.
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
NICE
 May 7, 2009
"This product is over all pretty good. However if your working outdoors, I dont know if would get rid of all the musk. My main concern that it tends to leak from the sprout,when it gets a little warm."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iamu
Excellent
 February 3, 2009
"High quality pure ingredients-- excellent soap."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
FlutterbyGirl
Dr. Bronner's Organic Shikakai Liquid Soap Lavende
 January 15, 2009
"I love the other Dr. Bronner lavender products like the bar soap! So, I thought this would be great stuff, but it has a disgusting brownish texture and color and smells awful. I will never buy this product again."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Hand & Body Shikakai Soap Lavender -- 24 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product