Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz

NEW and Improved Formula for Even Silkier Hair. For Damaged Hair. Enriched with grapefruit apple and aloe extracts plus vegetable protein to soothe dry or damaged hair control frizz add shine. With Eco Chic Technology™. Luxurious lather soothes dry chemically processed hair. Cleanses gently for manageable smoothness. Calms unruly hair to alleviate frizz. Increases shine while smoothing dry or damaged hair. Zero sulfates. Soft and smooth sexy and sultry. It's how you feel when you have silk against your skin. Now imagine that same feel in your hair. Smooth As Silk Deep Moisture Shampoo has a pearlized formula that glistens in your hand and transforms your hair into a silky palette. New and improved formulation with Apple and Aloe extracts provide antioxidant protection and enhanced moisturizers for even silkier  hair. lather and glow with the flow that begins your style. Smooth As Silk Deep Moisture Shampoo wears beautifully on you.
Overall rating:
4.465 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
87 out of 99(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SnoopyJ
fromArizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 April 16, 2014
"I really like this shampoo, a nice creamy lather and slight fragrance of citrus. It not only conditions my hair it adds body to my fine hair. I do recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SquirrelMom
fromWI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells great!
 March 6, 2014
"Scent is important to me. Can't handle perfumey scents and this smells like orange juice to me. I have fine, thin hair that I color every 3 months. This gives me some volume and shine without being flat and greasy looking. It is my favorite shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starburst4
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo --
 February 15, 2014
"I find this shampoo moisturizing for my colored hair. I have not detected it withdrawing color from my hair even though it is not advertised as one for color treated hair. I have been using it for a couple of years now and appreciate the non-toxic ingredient list."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Canary2
fromSyracuse , NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This shampoo leaves my hair soft and silky
 December 28, 2013
"I have very dry hair. This shampoo really helps with moisturizing as well as leaving my hair manageable. My hair tends to curl up on the ends and this helps keep it straight."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dakotanc
fromNC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best shampoo for my hair
 November 18, 2013
"I have thin fine hair. Normally I have to wash my hair every other day to avoid the "flat" look. Since I have used this deep moisture shampoo by Giovanni my hair stay looking fuller much longer. My hair does much better when I don't have to wash it so often.
I will be buying this from now on."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aswoods
Keep my hair shining and frizz free
 October 9, 2013
"As I get older, my hair gets drier. Some moisturizing shampoo makes my hair gooey and heavy, but not this one. Not heavily perfumed which I like also. Just keep my hair clean and shining and frizz-free. Love the fact that it's vegan too."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mitsuman1959
Good
 August 21, 2013
"Very Good !"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IslandMa
fromIL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great For African American Hair
 August 16, 2013
"I use this in conjunction with the Nutrafix Reconstructor for my relaxed hair. I use it on my girl's natural hair as well and it does an awesome job with the frizzes and not leaving our hair with that stripped feeling. It leaves my hair soft and manageable even after blow drying. Reordering a second batch of the shampoo and trying the matching conditioner this time."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
marigold215
fromPayson, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Too watery
 July 23, 2013
"I like the fact that it's organic, but it didn't do much as far as moisturizing my hair. Very thin and liquidy shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katlady61
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This shampoo has great results.
 July 4, 2013
"The whole family uses this shampoo. It has a great smell, a little goes a long way.I use it with the conditioner and it makes my hair shine, also mends the split ends."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fanciful
fromVancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works really well
 May 27, 2013
"I had very dry hair and after using a week I could really tell an improvement. My hair is very nice now and I still continue to use it."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
kibbee
fromCheboygan, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Didn't work for me
 May 24, 2013
"I have thick, wavy, coarse hair and was looking for a deep moisturizing shampoo but this unfortunately did not work for me at all. It made my hair a huge tangled mess and it felt like straw or something. The leave-in conditioner didn't help either. Made my hair feel tacky and sticky and to make matters worse didn't even de-tangle my hair. As for the smell, I could hardly smell anything at all which was also disappointing to me as I like to smell something in my hair when I am washing it so I can get a aromatherapy experience. Maybe if I had used the regular wash out conditioner it would have worked better but I have found another product I like much better, Clear damage & color repair shampoo & conditioner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoonLightOnWater
fromPortland, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best Shampoo
 March 25, 2013
"Read about this product. Had to try it....love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizH
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very moisturizing
 February 14, 2013
"Giovanni delivers the moisture and freshness your hair needs. This line is my favorite because it doesn't have all the stripping elements a lot of the other name brand lines have."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lolitaa
fromToronto, On, canada
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
THE BEST
 January 17, 2013
"This is one of the best conditioner I have tried so far ! Completed in love with it ! Does not strip your hair form the moisture but you can tell your hair is clean. ! greatt great product"
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cookiesncakes
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 14, 2013
"Great shampoo! Highly recommend to everyone. Smells very pleasant, helps keep my hair moisturize, non frizzy. Very little goes a long way."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
michytichy
Gender:Female
 January 13, 2013
"I like this shampoo. Leaves hair soft and clean. I especially like that it's not loaded with garbage chemicals."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Atman
fromTaneytown, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love You Giovanni (Smooth As Silk Shampoo)!!
 November 25, 2012
"My eye was on Smooth As Silk long before the mega-container of freebie/gift shampoo finally ran out. It was worth the wait -- kinda like going from lard soap to Softsoap! I love the Smooth As Silk line of hair products. This one Leaves my dry grey-ing hair silky. It has a high content of protein which is what I look for to keep the middle age frizz under control. It has a pleasing, light scent.
The price is manageable, too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joey1222
fromIowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great shampoo
 November 19, 2012
"Leaves your hair feeling, healthy, wonderful. Combs out easy so you don't need leave in conditioner. One of the best I've used & I have tried alot."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Deep Moisture Shampoo -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joyce2
fromAsheville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Smell
 October 5, 2012
"I like this shampoo. It has a silky texture. It smells really good. I have chemical sensitivities so I can't use shampoos that have a very strong chemically fragrance. This shampoo has a nice fragrance but not too strong so I am able to use it. It leaves my hair looking nice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next