Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Rose. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap. Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RachVT
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Use it for everything! Shower in 10 min or less
 May 14, 2014
"This soap is so easy to wash all of you in one quick lathered up shot. I wash my face, hair and body with it and it never gives me a dried out feeling like other soaps or facial washes do. It does wonders for my wavy hair. I also use a few squirts here and there in my cleaning with some vinagar and I'll use it for hand.dish soap as well. What could be better? The smell isn't as 'rose'like as I thought it would be, but it isn't terrible. The scent doesn't really stay with it either which can be both good or bad. Good stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sugu
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smells Great!
 April 13, 2014
"Natural & gentle as a facial cleanser and smells good too!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyndi710
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the smell!
 December 23, 2012
"I use this soap for cleaning and I also add it to my laundry. Works well and I love the smell. This is the second of these soaps that I have tried and I plan to purchase others. Different scents for different uses; can't wait to try them all. I also keep a small bottle in my purse for washing my hands when I'm out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovelylady22
Good smell, good soap
 November 20, 2012
"I love the smell of this. To me it does smell like a floral rose smell. It's not sold in any stores locally (this particular scent) that I have found. I will try and buy this product again, probly in a larger size. I use it as a foaming hand soap in our dispensers and dish washing soap also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GardenerGal
fromAva, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 16, 2011
"Best true rose fragrance"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicCurls
Love this stuff!
 May 5, 2010
"Dr. Bronner's is awesome, all-over clean. When I go camping, it's the only toiletry I pack besides toothpaste and sunscreen! At home, it's my standard handsoap and stands in for shower gel or bubble bath. Love this new scent!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromUSA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Wonderful Results
 February 23, 2010
"Ive tried many sinthetic soap and shower products that just dont do squat.
Within a few showers of using this on my hair and body I noticed drastic changes in both.
My hair feels soft and conditioned (with no conditioner used at all) and my skin is more clean and even
I used to hate my hair but this stuff is so natural and gentle that my hair now falls in a more natural way and improved its appearence drastically. I love it and will buy again from this company when my bottle runs out.
This soap has a plesent smell but when used as a hand soap occasionally has a very "soapy" smell to it that I dont like. If that makes any sense..but unless you purposefully smell your hands its no big thing"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
southernvoice
fromky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
like all of these soaps
 February 12, 2010
"i like all of dr. bronners liquid soaps. this one does not smell very much of roses, so i was sort of disappointed. these soaps smell clean-not really very fragrant-so i was hoping this one would be "girly" fragrant smelling. probably will not order this one again-will just stay with peppermint-my favorite"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teatimelamp
fromNJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
good product!
 October 6, 2009
"It has good smell and nice fuction!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kisha
 May 20, 2009
"Dr. Bronner soaps are amazing. They're the only soaps I've used for the past 10 years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dontaskme
 February 11, 2009
"average soap. fragrance smells very diluted. lavender scent is better. does not moisturize well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
msalias206
fromSeattle, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Dr. Bronner's is always EXCELLENT
 February 4, 2009
"All Dr. Bronner's products have been worth my money. This rose scented soap is light and not overpowering. Soothing to your skin and very good for a shampoo. My teenagers and I use it for shampoo and love, love, love it.
A+++"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Edicta
fromProvidence, RI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
This product is great!
 January 31, 2009
"Initially finding a cloth that would help me maximize the benefits of this product was a challenge. Because it does not include any of those unnatural agents that makes body wash and soaps sud well, I had to experiment with a few things. I found that a piece of fleece works great with this, otherwise you will be using a ton to get the feel that it is 'soaping' up.
In any case, I love how my skin feels after using it; I feel very clean, smell great, and my skin never feels over-dried. This is the only thing I use to wash up, and have even used it to remove my make up. Works great for that, also."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNassau County, New York
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
A New Product Worth Trying
 January 6, 2009
"My wife and I have been using Dr. Bronner's products since 1966. The Pure Castile Rose Liquid Soap is a life saver. It is super gentle and its aroma is a relaxing addition to any shower or bath!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CAhappiness
fromSouthern California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love the DB line!
 December 2, 2008
"We switch off our scents in the shower (to match our moods!) Normally, the flowery scents just sits, but this one is amazing! It is not overpowering at all. The rosiness is light and gentle. We use all of our thin castile soaps in a foaming pump so the wash is dispensed into our palms and not shooting out all over the place. Works great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
InUnison
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Don't care for the rose scent...
 November 26, 2008
"I have used many of Dr Bronner's soaps and this is my least favorite. It doesn't smell like "Rose" to me. I do love the new citrus... and all the other scents. You might like it so don't let me stop you from ordering it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
avalon27
nice floral scent
 November 10, 2008
"I was a little surprised that this didn't have a rose scent. It's still lovely - and softly floral, but to me it wasn't anything like rose. Having said that, I'd still recommend it because the products from Dr. Bronner's work so well, are great for your skin, and are very economical. But I would reorder the lavender, almond and peppermint again before this one because they are all true to their titled scent."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Rose -- 16 fl oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product