Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Citrus Orange. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap. Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.579 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snv34
fromGermany
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Cit
 October 5, 2013
"I bought the citrus orange scent and love it. I have cleaned everything with this product and have even used it in the bath. Its easy on the skin and cleans with out being harsh on the skin. Love the smell of the citrus orange, its light and airy smelling and I love it.You can also make all purpose cleaners out of this in spray bottles if you would like by using other ingredients. I would highly recommend it to anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sumass
fromMassachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful scent
 November 14, 2012
"I love the sweet citrus scent and the fact that it doesn't contain synthetic ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rguntle
fromFort Gordon GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awsome stuff
 December 9, 2011
"I started using this about a year a go in a household cleaner I mix. This stuff works really well and it has a great sent too. I use in on ever thing from stains to rugs. A little bit goes a long was too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
masc
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Glad I took a chance
 May 20, 2011
"My husband really likes this soap. It cleans great & makes your hands feel wonderful. He was not sure of the scent at first but it has grown on him."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Balancing162
fromThe Hot and Steamy Gulf Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Divine Scent
 October 7, 2010
"I use this particular variety with my unscented laundry detergent. It provides that clean smell without the irritation I get from perfumed detergents.
I'm sure it would be great as a body soap, but I'm particular to the Dr. B's Peppermint for that.
Not overpowering - sunshiney and fresh - more mandarin orange than lemon zest.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freedom09
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr. Bronner's Soaps
 October 7, 2010
"Dr. Bronner's soaps are the best. Not only WOULD I recommend them to friends, I HAVE recommended them. Everyone has thanked me! Organic is the only way to go for me. Thanks Dr. Bronner !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Greener
fromNC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The Fragrance is not the Best!
 March 27, 2010
"I normally love Dr. Bronner! It is such a great brand! I save so much money using a foamer soap dispenser and this concentrated soap. This fragrance, though, is not the best. I smell like household cleaning products! Get the lavender or almond instead."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mzzzlee
fromTulsa Ok
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr Bronners is THE BEST!!!!
 February 14, 2010
"I have been using Dr Bronners for years. The Peppermint is so wonderful in the summer when it is hot. It leaves your skin feeling so fresh and tingly. I have also used the Lavender for years at night. I decided to try the Rose and Orange, but don't like them quite as well as the others."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
carist
Love this stuff
 February 6, 2010
"I love all of Dr Bronner's soaps, but this, the peppermint, and the lavender are my favorites. A little definitely does go a long way. I often will add some water to the bottle so that it lasts even longer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Oneofmanyways
fromUtah
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Worst Dr. Bronner Smell
 January 17, 2010
"Wow! Maybe I got the wrong batch, but this soap stinks! I love Dr. Bronner products in general... and usually love the smell!!! But this citrus smells almost petroleum like... NOT GOOD. Will use for cleaning purposes outside only and just to use it up. I am grateful I bought a smaller size!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wealthinhealth
fromBoston, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great grease disolver
 December 28, 2009
"I hate using harsh detergents and this cleans things effortlessly. I use it on my stovetop, sink and greasy pots and pans. Whatever I clean feels clean. I don't know if this is good or not to use on painted walls, but it got the grease off the wall behind my stove and it looks like it was freshly painted."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
snedmom
Smells great
 September 12, 2009
"I like the smell of this product. The texture seemed sticky but it did make a lot of suds when used with a body soap applicator (or body pouf as I call it)"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pollyo
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Cleans Great
 September 10, 2009
"It has a nice smell and leaves your skin feeling clean and soft. Great that it can be used from head to toes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soflo1Vitamaniac
fromCoral Springs, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Orange you glad you tried this!
 August 18, 2009
"I enjoy showering with the orange soap in the morning. The fresh Citrus Orange scent is so stimulating and refreshing. The bathroom smells wonderful. It leaves my skin clean and soft. I use much less body lotion/cream since using Dr. Bronner’s products.
I also use this to brush my teeth in the a.m. Just 2-3 drops on my toothbrush is more than enough.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shinytt
fromNJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great!!
 February 25, 2009
"I have very sensitive skin and use this soap for my face & body. This is the best soap I've ever tried. It's affordable and all natural. Plus, a little goes a long way."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cathleen451
 February 4, 2009
"I use as a body wash and I Love the orange, its fresh smelling and invigorating. I feel good knowing Im using organic healthy products on my skin!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boris2
fromIdaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This soap is GREAT!!!
 October 27, 2008
"I wanted to replace the liquid soap we were using in the shower as well as the liquid hand soap with something that had less than 200 ingredients. This soap is all natural. It works great in the hand soap dispenser and I put about 1 ounce in an old shampoo bottle, filled it the rest of the way up with water and I use it on my shower puff. I need only a teaspoon of liquid to do my entire body and it is great!!!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 16 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product