Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz

Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age. Free Of. 100% Cruelty Free. No animal testing. 100% Vegan.
Overall rating:
4.941 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SageSpirit
fromSt. Louis, mo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the scent!
 August 28, 2014
"I've used dr. Bronner's soap for years and I've always used either lavender or tea tree. Rose is a bit perfume-y, and the eucalyptus and peppermint aren't suited for "sensitive areas." So I thought I'd give it a try because I was getting burned out on the lavender and tea tree scents. Orange is my new favorite for sure! It isn't to strong of a scent and does smell very mild and natural ( and it doen't sting those sensitive areas either). I will be ordering this in the larger size when this little guy runs out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
estaeheli
fromPacific NW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Personal Sized Soap
 March 28, 2014
"As a health care professional, I wash my hands a lot. Sometimes, I need to take my own soap, because the soap available is so harsh on my hands. I prefer something antiseptic with tea tree oil in it, but this also works very well and is easy on hands. Great soap. Great size for traveling, in purse, at work, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great for Sensitive Skin
 August 1, 2013
"Very gentle on skin. I use this as both a bath gel and a shaving gel. Pleasant citrus scent. This size is great for when you want to try this product out for the first time, as well as for traveling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SoNostalgic
fromEast Brunswick, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very versatile!
 July 24, 2013
"Love this product. I use this to wash my face, shampoo my hair and for general cleaning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blahhh
fromSyracuse, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
works great
 July 7, 2013
"The smell is natural yet subtle. I use for my hand washables."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsC93
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Dr. Bonner's Citrus Orange Castile Liquid Soap
 March 28, 2013
"Works well, smells good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beactive25
fromPen Argyl, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This stuff is amazing!
 March 3, 2013
"I use the orange to clean my house. There is an added bonus of soft hands afterward. My son brushed his teeth with it and loved it. What can't it do?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamabear99
fromIL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Can't say enough
 February 11, 2013
"Best ever - this one was for my friend, great scent. Will last as a little goes a long way. Your skin will be softer with no weird ingredients! YAY."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shopgirl604
fromVancouver, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best cleaner ever!
 August 10, 2011
"This is the best cleaner I have used - without harsh chemicals. I dilute it and use it in a spray bottle in the kitchen and the bathroom - great for sinks and tubs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LifeIzGood
fromGreenville, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Squeaky Clean!
 January 15, 2011
"I've tried several different Dr. Bronner scents over the years, and I believe Orange is 2nd favorite (and a little more subtle of a scent next) to Peppermint. All Dr. Bronner soaps are by far and beyond the best soap I have ever used! Sometimes it's the little things, but this soap was a big find!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tntzmom
fromSaint Marys, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Amazing Scent
 April 5, 2010
"This is a travel must have. Not only is it the perfect castile soap (which can be used for anything from laundry detergent to shampoo), but it smells wonderful. I love using this fragrance 1st thing in the morning when I'm groggy. It's a nice energizing smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calliey
fromThe South
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Soap
 March 13, 2010
"I really Like Dr. Bronner's soap, but citrus orange isn't my favorite fragrance. It doesn't smell like pure orange citrus. There's something else in there. It would be great if it smelled like real oranges. I still use it, but won't buy citrus orange again. Just a personal thing."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CleanandFresh
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:30-60 days
Citrus orange is the best
 February 22, 2010
"I have tried a variety of Dr. Bronner's liquid soaps in the past. This is a convenient travel size (which can go through airport security) and the citrus orange leaves me clean and smelling fresh. The peppermint is also clean and fresh but can burn tender spots."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bentheredonethat
You can never go wrong with Dr.Bronner's products
 February 11, 2010
"I bought this to make my own foaming soap liquid. It really works great is is a fraction of the cost of the commercially made foaming soap liquid. Plus it comes in so many nice fragrances."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EquineLady
fromPennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product
 October 1, 2009
"This is a very high-quality castile. The scent is wonderful! It has great cleaning powers and I use it for everything from toothpaste to dishwashing soap. I highly recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jenng
fromMD
More of a grapefruit smell
 January 12, 2009
"I like all Dr. Bronner's soaps. I use them for everything from making my own cleaning products to shower gels for us. I also use this one for washing the cat and when we go camping. We wash everything at the camp site with it. Dishes, faces and hands and if any clothes get really dirty. It smells nice and fresh."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 2 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product