Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz

Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MJKL
fromiowa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 August 8, 2012
"Took it with us to Mexico! It smelled fresh and clean. We liked how it left our skin feeling! Clean!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzyarizona
fromArizona
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent
 May 29, 2012
"Orange smell is wonderful. I always feel so clean but never that tight feeling. Great product, better than regular soap and cruelty free!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SimJam
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice fresh Scent
 May 11, 2012
"This was my first time trying this scent (i usually get the lavender) and I really like the fresh citrus scent. Been using this brand for shampooing for almost 2 years now"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oscarmom
fromSpicewood, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My fave soap
 December 22, 2011
"Great scent. Organic. I use it on dishes, and even my stained concrete floors."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatdaddy
fromConnecticut
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
User for decades of Bronner
 December 5, 2009
"and like the orange very much.Nice addition to the line."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lyin
fromTaiwan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Will buy it again
 October 7, 2009
"I lik the smell of the product. I use it every morning to refresh my mind. It doesn't make my skin too dry. I will definitely buy this product again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perlyyyy
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr. Bronner's Citrus Orange Bar Soap
 September 16, 2009
"I love the smell of this. The liquid is very thin but a little goes a very long way. It seems to soften my skin even. Smell is wonderful!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bman
fromIrvine, CA
Excellent Product
 September 14, 2009
"This is really a great product! I think that the best part about it is that it can be used for anything from washing your hair, body, face . I travel a lot so this product is perfect (I use the smaller bottle for travel) because I only have to take this one product with me. The product smells great and washes off very easily, the best part about it is that it is all natural so you don't have to be worrying about what your skin is absorbing."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tattooedsuess
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Smells Great, Works Great Too!
 April 19, 2009
"I love the smell of this soap! I agree with the reviewer who said that it isn't a very strong scent. It's a nice light citrus scent that does not linger on the skin after rinsing. If you like a light citrus scent, then you will enjoy this excellent "real" soap. Offers top quality, just like all of the other Dr. Bronner's soaps I've tried."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jillszy
fromChicago, Il
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Smells terrific
 April 16, 2009
"I love this stuff. I use it as a body wash and I'm sure I will use it for other things when I get around to it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sapph
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smells Wonderful!
 February 24, 2009
"I've used the lavendar soap for a long time but decided to try something new. I love the smell of citrus. It's very invigorating. If you have sensitive or dry skin, you might want to avoid using on your face. The baby mild is better for that. ut otherwise....love this!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WendyM
fromNJ
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good Citrus Scent - Not Great
 January 8, 2009
"Nice citrus combo, but I would prefer if it was stronger, because the scent does not last; so I find myself using more and more of the product to smell it. If you like citrus, you will like this, just not very strong. Good lather and multiple uses."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Citrus Orange -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IANTRL
fromIOWA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 December 29, 2008
"Everyone in my family loves this scent, it works for both male/female as it is just like fresh cut oranges. Love it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.