Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon

Made with Organic Oils. Certified Fair Trade. No Animal Testing. Non-GMO Project Verified. Three times more concentrated than many leading liquid soaps cleansers & bodywashes. Dilute with water. Clouds when cold.
Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
46 out of 49(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorth Georgia Mountains
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Natural real soap
 January 31, 2016
" This gallon will last me a couple of years. I dilute it with water for a hand a face wash. For a body wash and shampoo, I dissolve borax in hot water, let cool and add this soap, mix in 32 ounce container I keep in my shower. I have natural curly, shoulder length hair, and I don't need a conditioner. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCoral Gables, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great lavender scent!
 September 10, 2015
" This stuff is great! I've been using for a few years now. None of the bad stuff in it so that's the #1 reason we started using it. Great body wash and we even wash large dishes, pots and pans (non dishwasher) with it. The stuff is awesome! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAdams, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Best soap
 September 9, 2015
" Dr. Bonners is my favorite soap, good suds and many uses "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPonchatoula, Louisiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Calming for baths...smells good too...
 April 3, 2015
" I like this product for baths, it has a good smell and also relaxes you at night. My grandson uses it at night, and he feels better after a bath, he is eleven. I also tried it in washing my sheets, and they smell good. I also have this in every soap dispenser in the house, not only cleans hands but again that great smell. I will definitely buy this again, I bought the gallon size this time and saved a few dollars. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKuwait City, Kuwait
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
all-purpose soap...
 December 31, 2014
" This soap not only smells great, but it is a good deal. We use it in the shower for washing our bodies as well as our hair. We use it in all the soap pumps at the sinks, and we use it in our laundry. This soap is effective (if not better) when it is diluted. In our liquid soap pumps, we use 1 part Dr. Bronner's soap to 3 parts water. It doesn't cake up and yet it still cleans superbly. If you add 1/4 cup to a bucket of warm to hot water, it cleans cabinets and floors and leaves a lovely lavender scent. I've also used this in very small amounts in our carpet steam cleaner. What a lovely scent to have in the upholstery of the carpets and cushions! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromTehachapi, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is so good it has set me free
 July 18, 2014
" I used to have a messy clutter of shampoos and conditioners and body soaps in my shower.
For some time now, all that is in my shower is Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender. I use it as a body wash and shampoo. It's convenient and I am in and out of the shower in no time.
And, guys, the lavender is both manly and feminine. My wife smells lavender sweet and I smell like a man walking down a cobble stone road in misty Ireland. "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBowling Green, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Pure!!
 June 21, 2013
" Love this cleanser! The women in our household use it daily, it leaves skin smooth and soft !!!! No harmful chemicals going on our bodies!!!!! Would recommend!!! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromplymouth, ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product, many uses
 December 29, 2012
" Dr. Bronner's Liquid Soap is an excellent product with many uses. Just a little bit goes a long way. It can be used for dishes and hand washing. It can also be used in making laundry detergent. It is organic, gentle and safe for the skin, and doesn't contribute toxic residue to our environment. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromClayton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great natural soap
 November 20, 2012
" This soap has a nice scent and more importantly I feel good knowing it is safe for my whole family, no toxic chemicals or GMO ingredients. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMadison, Indian
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A bath essential
 November 5, 2012
" I finally decided to spring for the gallon size rather than continue buying the smaller quantities. I don't regret it! This scent (lavender) is amazing and the product can be diluted down to last forever. We use it as a body wash, facial cleanser and shampoo. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Best Soap as Always
 July 12, 2012
" Costs a bit more here, but worth it. Great soap, strong lavender scent. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromSmithtown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Disappointed
 October 4, 2011
" The scentl of this soap is definitely not lavender, which is a major disappointment. It also leaves a film in the sink that requires me to clean almost every day. Since it's past the 30 days (didn't need it right away and thought it was something I needed to get used to), I now have to find another use for it. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Diego
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Soap For Dispensers Ever
 July 1, 2011
" I finally started buying the gallon size, as I use this soap in all of our soap dispensers in the house. Vitacost has the best price. As it does not contain chemicals, the soap may congeal around the nozzles, so you have to wipe it away. It's a small inconvenience for a pure product. The smell is heavenly. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
you can use it for everything!
 April 6, 2011
" for a long time, this was the only soap my family used (hand soap, dish soap, shampoo and body soap). i love it and like what i they use as ingredients. Now that I'm older and my hair doesn't hold it's shine; I've moved on to other hair products, but will still use it for hand soap and for everything soap when i travel. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible Choice
 January 22, 2011
" pros: great scent.
cons: had not way of knowing until after it arrived that this soap would not work in a pump dispenser. Never heard of such a thing. I was also turned off by all the bibley text on the bottle. I thought I was buying soap, not a religious text. Very dissapointed...will have to disgard the bottle I bought since it's exploded in my guest room dispenser...embarrassing.
"
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Wonderful stuff!
 June 29, 2010
" I use this soap for showering, shaving my legs and shampooing. It smells great without being perfumey, lathers very well, rinses off quickly and easily. It is a very mild soap and contains no harmful chemicals to humans, animals or septic systems. It is liquid not gel -- I put it in a pump dispenser in the shower for ease of use. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCamden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
Worth Every Penny!
 April 25, 2010
" I use this stuff in just about every household product I have. I make my own disinfectant with it, my own bathroom cleaner, anything you can think of. It is worth the money! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromthe FL Keys
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great product
 April 17, 2010
" All Dr. Bonner's products are great, especially the soaps because the fragences are wonderful. I do wish that Vitacost carried the Eucalyptus fragrence in the soap, however, lavender is the next best thing. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMilwaukee
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 March 3, 2010
" I like that I can use it for so many different things with good results. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Pure Castile Liquid Soap Hemp Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cost-effective
 February 16, 2010
" You have to really like Bronners soap to buy it this way. I do - it's great to shower with if you are super careful to keep it out of your eyes. And the gallon jug saves money. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next