Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Lavender Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap & 100% vegetarian. Dr. Bronner's LAVENDER Pure-Castile Soap contains both Lavandin & Lavender essential oils to create a soothing and harmonizing bathing experience for the body and mind. Like long serene sunsets over still calm waters Lavender-Castile showers replenish and recharge the soul. Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
40 out of 43(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fortheloveofhealth
fromBowling Green, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Pure!!
 June 21, 2013
"Love this cleanser! The women in our household use it daily, it leaves skin smooth and soft !!!! No harmful chemicals going on our bodies!!!!! Would recommend!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shambala
fromplymouth, ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product, many uses
 December 29, 2012
"Dr. Bronner's Liquid Soap is an excellent product with many uses. Just a little bit goes a long way. It can be used for dishes and hand washing. It can also be used in making laundry detergent. It is organic, gentle and safe for the skin, and doesn't contribute toxic residue to our environment."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healthyeater2
fromClayton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great natural soap
 November 20, 2012
"This soap has a nice scent and more importantly I feel good knowing it is safe for my whole family, no toxic chemicals or GMO ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
belfon
fromMadison, Indian
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A bath essential
 November 5, 2012
"I finally decided to spring for the gallon size rather than continue buying the smaller quantities. I don't regret it! This scent (lavender) is amazing and the product can be diluted down to last forever. We use it as a body wash, facial cleanser and shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BearCan
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Best Soap as Always
 July 12, 2012
"Costs a bit more here, but worth it. Great soap, strong lavender scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ttperino
fromSmithtown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Disappointed
 October 4, 2011
"The scentl of this soap is definitely not lavender, which is a major disappointment. It also leaves a film in the sink that requires me to clean almost every day. Since it's past the 30 days (didn't need it right away and thought it was something I needed to get used to), I now have to find another use for it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BVPE
fromSan Diego
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Soap For Dispensers Ever
 July 1, 2011
"I finally started buying the gallon size, as I use this soap in all of our soap dispensers in the house. Vitacost has the best price. As it does not contain chemicals, the soap may congeal around the nozzles, so you have to wipe it away. It's a small inconvenience for a pure product. The smell is heavenly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SupplementSister
fromWA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
you can use it for everything!
 April 6, 2011
"for a long time, this was the only soap my family used (hand soap, dish soap, shampoo and body soap). i love it and like what i they use as ingredients. Now that I'm older and my hair doesn't hold it's shine; I've moved on to other hair products, but will still use it for hand soap and for everything soap when i travel."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JoeV
Terrible Choice
 January 22, 2011
"pros: great scent.
cons: had not way of knowing until after it arrived that this soap would not work in a pump dispenser. Never heard of such a thing. I was also turned off by all the bibley text on the bottle. I thought I was buying soap, not a religious text. Very dissapointed...will have to disgard the bottle I bought since it's exploded in my guest room dispenser...embarrassing.
"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rebecca64
fromDE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Wonderful stuff!
 June 29, 2010
"I use this soap for showering, shaving my legs and shampooing. It smells great without being perfumey, lathers very well, rinses off quickly and easily. It is a very mild soap and contains no harmful chemicals to humans, animals or septic systems. It is liquid not gel -- I put it in a pump dispenser in the shower for ease of use."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MM28
fromCamden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
Worth Every Penny!
 April 25, 2010
"I use this stuff in just about every household product I have. I make my own disinfectant with it, my own bathroom cleaner, anything you can think of. It is worth the money!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pilateball
fromthe FL Keys
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great product
 April 17, 2010
"All Dr. Bonner's products are great, especially the soaps because the fragences are wonderful. I do wish that Vitacost carried the Eucalyptus fragrence in the soap, however, lavender is the next best thing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jigs
fromMilwaukee
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 March 3, 2010
"I like that I can use it for so many different things with good results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Duard
cost-effective
 February 16, 2010
"You have to really like Bronners soap to buy it this way. I do - it's great to shower with if you are super careful to keep it out of your eyes. And the gallon jug saves money."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barb94005
Love this stuff
 December 10, 2009
"I've used it for year and years and years and it's super cheap to buy it here."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hanul
fromHuntington Beach, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product
 October 5, 2009
"smells very good, little strong though...use this for hair, face, and body. made my skin little dry, but I like squeaky clean feeling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CYCLONESAM
fromUrbana, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
AWESOME STUFF!
 September 8, 2009
"Needless to say, it's organic! Love the smell! Works great, even removing oil and grease!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsGreenJeans
fromNew York
Duration of use:30-60 days
Multiple uses; great value
 September 7, 2009
"We have started to use environmentally conscious products whenever possible. Castile soap has so many uses, this 1 gallon bottle comes in handy for so many things. We use the lavender specifically for our laundry. We have a HE machine and find a little goes a long way - plus it comes out smelling great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soflo1Vitamaniac
fromCoral Springs, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Organically Awesome
 June 10, 2009
"Dr. Bronner’s Lavender soap is awesome. I started using this about 6 weeks ago and I am very pleased. I initially used this to wash my bed linens. Loved the results. Soft, clean sheets without fabric softener and the time in the dryer was cut in half. ¼ cup was all it took for a full load of clothes.
The key is to not use too much. This took some getting used to. Just a little goes a long way.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Lavender -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pnutbuddynjelly
fromNC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful
 May 28, 2009
"We love Dr. Bronners Soaps,they are great quality and a little goes a long way,a gallon will last us over 6 months."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next