Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Peppermint Pure-Castile Soap. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! . Made with organic oils  . No foaming agents . Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap & 100% vegetarian.  Dr. Bronner's Peppermint Pure-Castile Soap has our most controversial label as it includes Dr. Bronner's ecstatic love poetry. Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.877 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
72 out of 73(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tusik
fromca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it
 January 22, 2014
"Use it for many,many years,cannot imagine to be without it,very refreshing nice smell and fill after shower.I f you like smell of mint -that for you"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaryP52
fromBow, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
highly recommend
 January 2, 2014
"This liquid soap will not leave your skin dry. It foams up nicely. Have used it to shave my legs with a smooth finish."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kumaritreasures
fromCamp hill, pa
Great!
 December 26, 2013
"Great stuff! Always feel clean no soap residue biodegradable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturekat
Love It!
 October 22, 2013
"It has so many uses and no toxic ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Birdz
fromLivingston, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smells divine
 August 8, 2013
"Love this product. Use it in all my bathrooms as a hand and face cleanser."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
buddist13
fromWA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Dr Bronners
 March 28, 2013
"Great product, great service and fair price - but am frustrated with website."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pamie
fromPompano Beach, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This castile soap is wonderful for your skin
 March 11, 2013
"I've been using this stuff since the 1970s when a boyfriend told me about it. This time I splurged and got the extra huge size so I don't run out. I've used it to wash my hair and my teeth (it's peppermint!) along with my skin. It's very invigorating! A little goes a long way. Dr. Bronner's puts out some wonderful soaps -- all castile in different fragrances and forms, liquid and bar soap. It's a great company."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarcVancouver
fromVancouver, BC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
 February 5, 2013
"Great product!
Great Price!
And you cannot beat "free shipping"!
I like the alerting peppermint scent in the morning shower!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coconut888
fromCalifornia
Gender:Female
Love Dr. Bronner's
 December 12, 2012
"I love this product. We have been using it for over 6 years. My favorite smells are peppermint and almond. The best part is that you can always add water to dilute and save yourself some extra money before your next order. Great for those on a budget. This product truly rocks!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prepared
fromBackwoods Mississippi
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Nice but pricey
 November 6, 2012
"I love this soap for everything from hair to body wash to washing the dog. It's great for keeping ticks at bay. It seems the price, like everything else today, keeps climbing and quite significantly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustMichelle
fromSavannah, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best liquid soap...period!
 October 18, 2012
"Dr. Broinner's peppermint soap has been my go-to for my family's bathing and cleaning needs for years. It thoroughly cleans without stripping the skin, and it's a great alternative to toxic cleaning products that aggravate breathing and irritate skin. I even use this soap to clean my vegetables."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crinda
fromBoulder, Colorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Clean and Fresh
 May 7, 2012
"This soap leaves me feeling clean, fresh and leaves a slight peppermint scent. It is so refreshing and it doesn't leave any residue. It is the best liquid soap I have found."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
julieb9443
Forget the Bar Soap!!
 January 9, 2012
"I have not bought a bar of soap in YEARS!! I love this stuff!! It is great as shave lotion too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JosephM
fromDallas, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Use this for everything
 December 1, 2011
"We have been using Dr. Bronners for about 20 years now. Started out just using it for a travel soap. Now we use it at home as well.
On vacation we use it for laundry soap, body soap, dish soap, and in a pinch dilute it for toothpaste. Good all around. We buy the gallon jug here and refill our smaller travel sizes from it.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ki5x
This Soap is the BEST!
 August 27, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Bonners is the best!
My wife & I use it everyday
in the shower! You would be
amazed how many people
approach and say what are you
using that smells so good!!
HONEST!!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fallout3
fromEdmonds, Wa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:61-180 days
Bulky but Cost Effective
 May 23, 2011
"It is hard to refill soap dispensers from a gallon jug but the cost difference makes it worth a bit of hassle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gmacjay
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 1, 2011
"Love this soap and wouldn't buy this much if I didn't. I never found a body wash that I was too excited about. This soap is invigorating and refreshing. Got my husband and my mom loving it too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArizonaVeggieHead
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Refreshing, High Quality, & Cost-Efficient
 February 8, 2011
"We have been using Dr. Bronner's Liquid Peppermint soap for about 20 years now. We use it for handwashing, showering, dishes (--It is really cuts the grease; super!--), and general house cleaning. The peppermint scent is pure; not sugary or fake-smelling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
glassgirl2
fromNewberry, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 December 30, 2010
"I have used this soap for 15 or more years. It it gentle for your skin and I love the refreshing mint smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Peppermint -- 128 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Momma1234
Disappointed
 July 17, 2010
"We have used Dr. Bronner's liquid soap for years. This is the first time I was not satisfied with it. Maybe the batch was off but the color was wrong and the smell was different. Most disappointed. It still does a great job cutting grease and I won't stop buying it but it was not the same as the stuff I buy in the store at home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next