Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop All Purpose Surface Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon

Super-concentrated organic cleaner. 100% biodegradable. It is equally effective in hard or soft water and will rinse freely hot or cold. Excellent for hard water shampoo dishes laundry floors rugs cars boats: All household uses! Sal Suds is a balanced formulation of naturally derived surfactants with pure fir and spruce essential oils: it cleans and rinses with exceptional power yet is mild and gentle on the skin. Sal Suds is not soap-based and is formulated especially for all-purpose hard-surface cleaning. --Perfect for general household cleaning: dishes floors laundry etc. --Equally effective in hard or soft water rinsing freely hot or cold. --Concentrated and self-preserving: no hidden preservatives or ingredients. --No synthetic dyes or fragrances: all ingredients fully disclosed and described. --Biodegrades rapidly after doing its job. --Pure high-quality fir and spruce essential oils: no cheap harsh pine stump oil. --No animal testing: Coalition for Consumer Information on Cosmetics certified
Overall rating:
4.946 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
73 out of 74(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZombieMutantNinjaSquirrel
fromPortland, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product!
 December 14, 2015
"I've used this instead of laundry detergent and it gets my clothes clean. I've also used this to clean my floors, toilet, counter tops, and just about everything. Buy a gallon and it will last a long, long time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
headcutoffchicken
fromSalida, Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best natural soap out there
 November 19, 2015
"I have tried most natural soaps over the years, and this is the best one I have come across. It gives a great bubbly lather, and gets everything very clean and fresh. Pleasant smell, gentle, but effective. Versatile also, good for all house cleaning (I even use it in my bathroom for everyday cleaning), dish soap (most natural dish soaps are too weak, but this works like a mainstream dish soap), and can be used for laundry and even shampoo in a pinch. I love it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AAtoZZZZZZZ
fromMinnesota
LOVE THIS!!
 September 13, 2015
"My kids have super sensitive skin, so we have used this for our laundry detergent for 8 years now. We use 1-2Tablespoons per load. Everything comes out super clean and the product is easy on the machines and especially the clothes - no smelly build up!! A gallon lasts about a year - extremely cost effective too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raintree
fromWA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I can't live without Sal Suds in the house!
 September 10, 2015
"I use it exclusively for cleaning.
Everything from tile, vinyl and wood floors, kitchen top to bottom, dishes, stove, windows, bathrooms, tubs and showers.
I also add a little to my homemade laundry soap if I have a particularly grubby load."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windycat
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
You'll love it!
 September 6, 2015
"Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds is awesome. I use it as my dish washing liquid. A small amount cleans a ton of dishes and it has a wonderful fresh scent too. I'm sure it could be used for many other cleaning jobs also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vbgnyc
fromnyc
this product is off the charts!
 July 4, 2015
"It is SO super concentrated (be VERY careful when dosing, my kitchen looked like an I Love Lucy episode my first time, and I cleaned up bubbles for an hour) It smells lightly of pine and works like a dream. I upgraded to the gallon size so I can use it for laundry, dishwashing, dishwasher, and household cleaner. I'm happy to use an all natural, environmentally friendly product, and it's very cost-effective when you understand how concentrated it is. The scent is delightful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hawaiianmoons
fromKailua Kona, HI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Multipurpose
 June 28, 2015
"I use this for laundry and I add few drops of my favorite essential oil as it has no smell. Concentrated so I use less than a regular laundry detergent. I use this as a hand soap as well adding some water to it in the dispenser. Finding the right proportion is good to avoid having your dispenser clog up and have the soap shoot at you.
I like the fact that it is not bad for the water/environment and that the reason why I switched to a multipurpose detergent. Saves on space and containers.
I takes some efforts then just opening a container and using it straight but for me it was not a problem as I am wanting to have a less polluting impact on the environment.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moonflower325
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love Dr. Bronner's products
 April 6, 2015
"This is amazing and Highly concentrated (I accidentally added one tablespoon to a 2 gallon bucket and it was way too much). Cleans wonderfully and smells like a forest - love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anon0918
Great stuff
 February 16, 2015
"We use this for everything from hand soap to laundry detergent. It works great, and we've been using it for years."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cece6
fromCrystal Lake, Il
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best stain remover ever!
 November 3, 2014
"Thought my new jacket was ruined due to a huge oil stain. I tried every trick in the book to remove the stain....sprinkle with salt, sprinkle with corn starch. used shampoo, used regular laundry detergent.......when I was ready to give up and just dispose of the jacket, I remembered the Dr. Bonner's Sal Suds I had ..... I truly believed it would not work, however at this point I had nothing to lose...except the jacket!!! I poured the product on the stains...rubbed it in and let it sit for about 20 minutes---then laundered the jacket and voila it worked---stain gone---jacket like new. Needless to say I bought a gallon of the cleaner and that is all I am using in my washing machine-----clothes the cleanest and brightest ever."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KathyRK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it in my laundry
 October 21, 2014
"I add about 1 tbsp to my normal laundry detergent and it really makes my loads extra clean."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
facilitiesgal
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great soap product
 August 20, 2014
"I love Sal Suds and use it for lots of general cleaning tasks. Added bonus is that it's not full of toxins like so many cleaning products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pegeen
Love this cleaner
 June 25, 2014
"This Sal Suds is most effective, and one does not need to use a great deal of it to get the job done. My husband likes using it also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MitziNP
fromFort Myers, FLorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best Multipurpose Claener By Far
 June 13, 2014
"On the advise of a friend, I purchased the product because I wanted a safer alternative to commercial brands which are not only toxic but also expensive.I was amazed at the cleaning power when combined with borax, washing soda, hydrogen peroxide and vinegar. It only take a tablespoon of Bonner's Sal suds! Several formulas are on line. My gallon could last a year or more the other products are super reasonable. Laundry, floors, cabinets, spills, etc. Jobs that require scrubbing, I just soaked a towel over the area and let it sit. Not much elbow grease after that! Funny, the smell is so familiar like something my grandmother used. No toxic odor like my old favorite bleach sprays. It's slippery when wet so be careful. I do a wash then a dry to shine. Outside jobs are a breeze too! Spring cleaning was done in no time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frugal2
fromtennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 March 19, 2014
"Truly a natural product that works!
Great price through Vitacost!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gr8tfulDayz
fromNorth Hollywood, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Does it all!
 March 6, 2014
"I use Sal's Suds to clean my entire house including laundry. No nasty chemicals, no residue, fresh pine smell. Love it!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ovania
fromTampa, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is part of my culture.
 March 5, 2014
"I grew up with Castile Soap dating back to the early fifties. My mother used it and I have used it. Now my daughters are using it along with my grandsons.
Someone expressed a dislike of the label. I find it unique. Besides, I bathe with the great contents not the label.
If they paint little green men on the bottle, I could care less. Just don't mess with the contents.
It is one of the greatest consumer products on the market.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
csf01
fromHarrisburg, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
The only cleaner you'll need
 November 24, 2013
"Sal suds is incredibly concentrated and effective at cleaning. I use it to clean all the surfaces in my home and to wash my dishes, too. You only need a tiny amount to do even the toughest of chores, meaning a gallon lasts a very long time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phryne
fromRacine, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best all purpose cleaning product
 November 23, 2013
"This is the best all purpose cleaning product I have ever used! I have sensitive skin and I've used many expensive products without results. I use SAL SUDS for my dishes, as a body wash in the shower, as my laundry soap, to wash the floor, to wash the car, as my only hand soap! It is now my only soap for everything! And I don't have to worry about this product being bad for the environment! A perfect product!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sewardmom
fromSeward, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great cleaner
 November 10, 2013
"salsuds by bronner's is a great all purpose cleaner, spot cleaner for laundry... just a small amount mixed with water works great. My biggest complaint with Bronner's is the weird wacko labeling. It's just crazy weird stuff. Honestly, will likely switch to something else just due to that."
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next