Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop All Purpose Surface Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon

Super-concentrated organic cleaner. 100% biodegradable. It is equally effective in hard or soft water and will rinse freely hot or cold. Excellent for hard water shampoo dishes laundry floors rugs cars boats: All household uses! Sal Suds is a balanced formulation of naturally derived surfactants with pure fir and spruce essential oils: it cleans and rinses with exceptional power yet is mild and gentle on the skin. Sal Suds is not soap-based and is formulated especially for all-purpose hard-surface cleaning. --Perfect for general household cleaning: dishes floors laundry etc. --Equally effective in hard or soft water rinsing freely hot or cold. --Concentrated and self-preserving: no hidden preservatives or ingredients. --No synthetic dyes or fragrances: all ingredients fully disclosed and described. --Biodegrades rapidly after doing its job. --Pure high-quality fir and spruce essential oils: no cheap harsh pine stump oil. --No animal testing: Coalition for Consumer Information on Cosmetics certified
Overall rating:
4.967 / 5
5
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
59 out of 60(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frugal2
fromtennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 March 19, 2014
"Truly a natural product that works!
Great price through Vitacost!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gr8tfulDayz
fromNorth Hollywood, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Does it all!
 March 6, 2014
"I use Sal's Suds to clean my entire house including laundry. No nasty chemicals, no residue, fresh pine smell. Love it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ovania
fromTampa, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is part of my culture.
 March 5, 2014
"I grew up with Castile Soap dating back to the early fifties. My mother used it and I have used it. Now my daughters are using it along with my grandsons.
Someone expressed a dislike of the label. I find it unique. Besides, I bathe with the great contents not the label.
If they paint little green men on the bottle, I could care less. Just don't mess with the contents.
It is one of the greatest consumer products on the market.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
csf01
fromHarrisburg, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
The only cleaner you'll need
 November 24, 2013
"Sal suds is incredibly concentrated and effective at cleaning. I use it to clean all the surfaces in my home and to wash my dishes, too. You only need a tiny amount to do even the toughest of chores, meaning a gallon lasts a very long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromRacine, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best all purpose cleaning product
 November 23, 2013
"This is the best all purpose cleaning product I have ever used! I have sensitive skin and I've used many expensive products without results. I use SAL SUDS for my dishes, as a body wash in the shower, as my laundry soap, to wash the floor, to wash the car, as my only hand soap! It is now my only soap for everything! And I don't have to worry about this product being bad for the environment! A perfect product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sewardmom
fromSeward, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great cleaner
 November 10, 2013
"salsuds by bronner's is a great all purpose cleaner, spot cleaner for laundry... just a small amount mixed with water works great. My biggest complaint with Bronner's is the weird wacko labeling. It's just crazy weird stuff. Honestly, will likely switch to something else just due to that."
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colleenwl
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Can't imagine cleaning anything without this
 September 23, 2013
"Bought 32oz first, and found I was using it for so many jobs. Came back for the gallon refill. I'm a huge fan of Caldrea scented cleaners, but discovered this for it's fantastic dish cleaning. light pine oils really get down to the surface leaving a light spray for rinsing, even my granite counters come out smooth, clean with a shine.Living in Erie, co they have huge water costs, so I'm using less water for clean & rinse..so very pleased I took a chance and gave it a try. Haven't priced this at local health stores because vitacost makes ordering and sending out so fast."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kid4Evr
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Awesome Product
 August 24, 2013
"I use Sal Suds for all my cleaning chores - laundry, dishes, bathtubs, even bathe the dogs with it. Inexpensive, non-toxic way to clean. Smells great too!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnnL
fromWytheville, Va
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is as described
 August 15, 2013
"This product is great for laundry, dishes, general house cleaning and it smells good! This is my first purchase and won't be my last as it will be my only household cleaning product from now on. I also like that the product has not been tested on animals."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SharonB
fromSouthwest
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great stuff
 August 11, 2013
"Sal Suds smells incredibly like a fir or piny forest...real, not like Pinesol. I use it for laundry. One teaspoon does a full load. I use it for all household cleaning, and I've even washed my hair with it. It is gentle and made from the same safe, dependable ingredients that all Dr. Bronner's liquid soaps are made of."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShannonBee
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this stuff!
 June 30, 2013
"I use this for laundry and dishes and it's awesome! For laundry, I use a tablespoon per load along with a tablespoon of a mix of half washing soda half oxygen cleaner and vinegar in the fabric softener dispenser. Works great! I use it diluted to pretreat stains too."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeachTree
fromEast Stroudsburg, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Sal Suds Review
 May 26, 2013
"This product is great! I use it on everything except bathing myself (it would work, but a tad harsh on parts other than your hands). It gets everything squeaky clean and smells great (very mild, but it has a nice clean pine-like smell). If you want to add abrasives to it for extra cleaning power try baking soda. I refuse to use anything but Sal Suds and baking soda on my sheets and clothes ever again :-D"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenCleanUpstate
fromUpstate New York
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Freshest sheets
 April 29, 2013
"Love this! Leaves clean natural fresh scent on laundry especially sheets."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Princess23
fromMagnolia, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for laundry
 April 28, 2013
"I have a front loader washing machine and have been frustrated for years with laundered clothes always coming out smelling musty. The problem has persisted as long as I have had the machine - no matter what laundry detergent I tried. The smell was especially noticeable when using towels and when clothes got damp with perspiration. I stumbled on the suggestion of using Sal Suds for laundry and it totally solved the problem. In fact, my clothes were fresher with every wash - and there is no more odor on my clothing/towels as well as my washing machine. I know this product can be "Pricey" compared to laundry detergents on the market - but I have found that just 1-2 tablespoons in an average load does the trick. And, an unexpected side benefit of the Sal Suds is that I have been able to totally eliminate the use of dryer sheets because the clothes come out so soft right out of the washer ! Hope this info can be of some help."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sksrndelux
fromOttumwa, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great multipurpose product
 April 1, 2013
"As a nurse with chapped hands and brittle nails I love how gentle this product is to my hands! I use it for washing dishes but appreciate the shine it brings to everything I use it on! I also appreciate how good it is for the environment. My husband even likes it and asks when I'm going to buy more when we are out!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
n1c0las
Get on space ship earth
 March 7, 2013
"I have been using bronner products for as long as I've been doing my own shopping so like forever. I don't know how I never knew about this stuff. I recently started making my own cleaning products to save money and stop supporting the death merchants that produce most of the cleaning and air freshening products on the shelf. sal suds was mentioned in a blog I was checking out. WOW! just like their other soaps this stuff apparently has a multitude of uses. It has replaced a few of my homemade recipes and enhanced a couple others. I've put in hours of cleaning with this product and the bottle doesn't even look like its been opened. A great value in my book."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rvagirl
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOVE.
 February 3, 2013
"Best multi-purpose cleaning product. Best smell. Best BEST natural dish soap ever. I take an old 32 oz. Bronner's bottle, pour in about an inch of Sal Suds, fill the rest with warm water and turn upside down a few times to mix. Done. Best grease-cutting, sparkly, no spots dish soap. Love it! Also, add a tiny bit to a spray bottle with water to clean around the house. Pricey but makes me happy to use it so totally worth it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lentil
fromMassachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great cleaning power and nice fragrance
 January 15, 2013
"I use this product for laundry and general household cleaning. It has a very mild/light pine fragrance and a lot of sudsing action. I use a little in a spray bottle with some water for counters/woodwork/bathrooms and it works very well. It works very well for laundry also. The only complaint I have is that in cold temperatures, it becomes very think (I think due to its coconut oil content). I really like this product and this company!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cjbgem
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product!
 January 9, 2013
"Wonderful natural smell, works great on dishes, countertops, bathroom surfaces, and in the laundry with a 1/4 cup baking soda."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Sal Suds All Purpose Cleaner -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rexyy
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The best!
 December 12, 2012
"This is the best soap on the market. You would not believe how quickly and efficiently it takes stuck on food off of pans. Just mix it with water and let it soak. You will throw the blue stuff out. I clean the whole house with it. I will never buy anything else. This is the Holy Grail in my house."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next