Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Tea Tree Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap & 100% vegetarian. Dr. Bronner's TEA TREE Pure-Castile Soap has our most controversial label as it includes Dr. Bronner's ecstatic love poetry. When the Almond-Castile label is rhythmically recited while bathing and breathing in the almond-scented steam-misted waters of the inner bath-tub sanctum people enter deep dreamy mystical trance states of super-sensuous luxuriousness and consciousness and emerge from their bath as if from the Fountain of Life--reborn renewed refreshed and ready to help unite the human race! All-One! All One! Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
midwestMad
Has MANY excellent uses
 January 18, 2014
"This soap is fantastic for several purposes. I use this in a foam bottle mixed 5 parts water to 1 part soap as a hand soap in the bathroom and kitchen as well as in the shower as a body wash. You can't go wrong with pure, organic soap! I've also used it for washing my hair, though you certainly need conditioner afterward. I've read that it can be used for laundry too. I'm sure it can be used for just about any cleaning job also. You can't go wrong with this stuff."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaleoDude
Great product for antibacterial cleaning solution!
 April 28, 2013
"I bought this product to make my own antibacterial cleaning solution. I've made a simple spray solution with 2 cups of distilled water, 2 Tbsp of Dr. Bronner's Soap, and 10 drops of Eucalyptus oil. It kills 99.9% of germs. It's a bit of challenge to pour from the gallon size bottle. I'd prefer to have a pump for it. But it works just fine as-is.
I was a little skeptical to have a gallon size bottle shipped across the US. Vitacost did a great job with wrapping the bottle in a plastic bag and taping the cap before shipping. No leaks."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
znJC
I love this soap.
 April 6, 2013
"my skin is an organ and I need to be concerned with what I put into my body via my skin...what I put on my skin will affect my health. With Dr. Bronner's soap I do not have to worry about harmful substances."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
renwoman
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Soap
 November 22, 2011
"I love all Bronner's soaps...period. The only thing I did not like about this soap was that is did not suds but it is not supposed to. I thought I'd like that and a lot times I thought I needed more and may have used more than necessary. Next time gimme the suds!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
katkat12
Good soap, but strong smell.
 November 18, 2011
"Good soap, but strong smell. I like that it is SLS free and lathers well. I tried washing my hair with it and it felt like it left a film, but I like it for showering, face & hand washing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JackE24
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
All purpose soap!!!
 June 6, 2011
"I love this soap. You can use it for anything. I mostly use it as a facial cleanser, but recently I added it to a batch of glycerin soap I made and it worked great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Loli1
It isn't the same quality as original Dr. Bronner
 July 3, 2010
"I think this Dr. Bronner's castille soap isn't the original. I tried it and I am not satisfied with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dksoh
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Multi-purpose Soap!
 May 28, 2010
"Tree Tea is an excellent anti-fungal agent and this soap is mild yet a great scalp and skin cleanser. I buy the gal. to wipe bathroom/kitchen surfaces, and laundry detergent. I have been purchasing it from Vitacost for over two years and I stand by this product. Dr. Bronner's Tree Tea/ Castile Soap is truly a fantastic all purpose product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steamer
dr. bronner soap
 February 24, 2010
"best soap i have ever used. cleans like magic rinses off easily.no harsh chemicals, easy on the skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dls1
fromAtlanta, GA
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Soap
 February 16, 2010
"Even though it's a little pricey, this is good soap. It's very moisturizing. The tea tree smell is strong, but I like that because I know that there's plenty of natural germ-killing power from the tea tree oil."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kargol
fromSouth Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dilute! Dilute!
 February 14, 2010
"Great stuff; stopped my itching skin almost immediately. We've been using Dr. Bronner's since 1969 and wouldn't use anything else. This new "flavor" is awesome."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
totallywicked1
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
LOVE THIS!
 February 8, 2010
"I buy it by the gallon, that should tell you how much I like this!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
freewill
Takes care of everything
 September 17, 2009
"I have a 3 year old long haired shi tzu who will not go out when its raining, hot, or cold (get the picture) I used this product on the carpet and spots, stains and odor disappear. My Guest ask me do I still have a dog,
because my home smell fresh and clean always. This is the only product I use for cleaning EVERYTHING--I mean House, body, dishes, clothes and DOG.
A little goes a long ways--2 caps full will clean a 12x16 room.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
roostermillard
Best product
 July 15, 2009
"Great to take a shower with."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hopeithelps
fromflorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
love it!
 November 29, 2008
"i feel this way about all dr bronner's soaps. i purchased a gallon of all that were offered. i use them for laundry, cleaning, dishes, anything. we live close to the land and it's nice to know i'm not polluting the land and still getting things clean and smell good too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Liquid Soap Tea Tree -- 1 Gallon
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NoJoke
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love Dr. Bronners for Everything
 September 15, 2008
"Gentle to people and Earth, nontoxic, and effective for bathing, cleaning, laundry, even vegetable wash and toothbrushing. Truly an "All One" miracle product from a company with higher consciousness."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.