Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs

From Soft White Wheat. Friend of the Heart. Stone Ground. Kosher. Bob's Red Mill finely ground 100% Whole Wheat Pastry Flour is freshly milled on cool and slow turning century-old stone-buhr millstones from plump and hearty soft white spring wheat. It contains all of the wheat berry's healthy and natural elements - the germ endosperm and bran. Use it in place of conventional white flour for your pancake muffin cookie cake or pie crust recipes.
Overall rating:
4.879 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 33(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
SAHMom
fromPalo Alto, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not the same
 April 23, 2016
"I baked chocolate chip cookies and they were okay, but regular white flour does the job better. Dessert isn't meant to be healthy. If I'm gonna waste my fat and calorie counts on a dessert, it's got to taste superb and these just weren't the same as with white flour. Not for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNew York City
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Very light
 April 12, 2016
"This flour is easy to digest and to prepare. I use it not only for sweets but also for bread and pizza!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emilyc7
Wonderful for all types of baking!
 March 24, 2016
"I love white whole wheat flour, but this white whole wheat pastry flour gives even more of a moist, nice crumb to the end product! I use it for all my baked goods...cookies, cupcakes, brownies, waffles, pancakes, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soulmates7
fromVA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this flour!
 March 20, 2016
"This flour works great for my baking needs!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donna1234
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 14, 2016
"I baked peanut butter cookies and pancakes with this flour. It makes me feel full because it's whole wheat. Yet, the cookies were nice and soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anmarie
fromTN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful and Fluffy!
 February 27, 2016
"I use this for basically everything I bake: cookies, cakes, brownies, muffins, calzone crust, and bread. They all come out fluffy and delicious. I have used a 1 to 1 with all purpose and never had problems with too dry or weird texture. I am so glad I found this flour, wonderful!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
weis
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
finely milled
 February 26, 2016
"finely milled, whole wheat, good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosmerta
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Make your baked goods healthier
 January 26, 2016
"This flour is great. I substitute it for some or all of the all purpose flour in my baked goods, and no one notices."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lillibet
Perfect for Baking!
 November 9, 2015
"We've been making homemade bread for almost a year now (using Jamie Oliver's fantastic recipe!), but have been using white flour exclusively to keep it light enough for sandwiches. I'd used whole wheat pastry flour (a different brand) in the past, so thought I'd give it a try again. The price on Vitacost was great, and so is the flour itself! I think our bread is actually lighter and fluffier than it was before! I'm currently using half white, half wheat. But I may try to up the wheat ratio and see what happens.
I haven't tried this in cookies or other pastries yet, but based on its performance in my bread, I'm confident it will be a winner!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PracticalRD
fromArmonk, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best flour
 July 23, 2015
"This flour makes baked products, pancakes, waffles, etc. more healthy and more delicious.
also, buying from vitacoast is a great price and saves carrying those heavy bags home from the supermarket. They packed it well in a ziplock to be safe.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cookk
fromAtglen PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
baked up real nice
 April 4, 2015
"Muffins and pancakes were really fluffy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smkamper
fromMN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Quality
 January 12, 2015
"I love this whole wheat pastry flour for adding nutrients to all my desserts without making heavy, hard, dense whole wheat recipes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kclanmom
fromNebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good flour for baking
 June 25, 2014
"I like using this whole wheat pastry flour for baking most things."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Corduroys
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great Flour
 March 26, 2014
"I use this for baking and making bread. Bob's is a great company and this flour has great taste. The price is really good too :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktwo
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great, versatile product
 October 23, 2013
"I looked far and wide for a whole wheat flour for pastries before coming upon this one, and I am very satisfied. It lacks the coarse, heavy texture of most whole wheat flours, and I have had excellent results using this flour for a variety of different baking needs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snv34
fromGermany
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
 October 5, 2013
"I absolutely love this pastry flour. I made a cream cheese pund cake and used this flour instead of regular plain white flour and it came our so good and tastefully great that I will continue to substitute this flour in all my baking needs. Its light fluffy and tastes so good. I would highly recommend this to everyone."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
geonas55
fromEastern Shore of MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for ALL baking needs...
 August 28, 2013
"As far as I'm concerned, and I'm particular about how my baking turns out, I love this pastry flour. It's made from a soft spring wheat instead of hard winter wheat. It makes a big difference in taste and texture...not too heavy like lead. I use it for everything from pancakes to cornbread. I'm very satisfied that I found this flour as I don't like using white flour in my baking. I think you'll be satisfied too."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cj19631963
frommcpherson, ks
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 May 18, 2013
"Started eating healthy a little over a year ago. I use this in a cookie recipe that is healthier than most cookies. No place in my town sells this flour. And it's a great price!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gymgirle
fromThousand Oaks, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 May 17, 2013
"I love this whole wheat flour, so do my 8 year old Grand Daughters. When ever they come for a visit (which is often) they always request the yogurt pancakes using Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour. The directions for making the pancakes are on the package. As they are eating the pancakes they say "Best Pancakes In The World"! I make sure that I always have this flour on hand."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TexasMommaP
fromIraan, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Whole grain sub
 April 24, 2013
"Makes a great substitution for all purpose flour. Mixes well for all doughs included pasta."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next