Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs

From Soft White Wheat. Friend of the Heart. Stone Ground. All Natural. Kosher. Bob's Red Mill finely ground 100% Whole Wheat Pastry Flour is freshly milled on cool and slow turning century-old stone-buhr millstones from plump and hearty soft white spring wheat. It contains all of the wheat berry's healthy and natural elements - the germ endosperm and bran. Use it in place of conventional white flour for your pancake muffin cookie cake or pie crust recipes.
Overall rating:
4.952 / 5
5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kclanmom
fromNebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good flour for baking
 June 25, 2014
"I like using this whole wheat pastry flour for baking most things."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Corduroys
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great Flour
 March 26, 2014
"I use this for baking and making bread. Bob's is a great company and this flour has great taste. The price is really good too :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktwo
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great, versatile product
 October 23, 2013
"I looked far and wide for a whole wheat flour for pastries before coming upon this one, and I am very satisfied. It lacks the coarse, heavy texture of most whole wheat flours, and I have had excellent results using this flour for a variety of different baking needs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snv34
fromGermany
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
 October 5, 2013
"I absolutely love this pastry flour. I made a cream cheese pund cake and used this flour instead of regular plain white flour and it came our so good and tastefully great that I will continue to substitute this flour in all my baking needs. Its light fluffy and tastes so good. I would highly recommend this to everyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
geonas55
fromEastern Shore of MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for ALL baking needs...
 August 28, 2013
"As far as I'm concerned, and I'm particular about how my baking turns out, I love this pastry flour. It's made from a soft spring wheat instead of hard winter wheat. It makes a big difference in taste and texture...not too heavy like lead. I use it for everything from pancakes to cornbread. I'm very satisfied that I found this flour as I don't like using white flour in my baking. I think you'll be satisfied too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cj19631963
frommcpherson, ks
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 May 18, 2013
"Started eating healthy a little over a year ago. I use this in a cookie recipe that is healthier than most cookies. No place in my town sells this flour. And it's a great price!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gymgirle
fromThousand Oaks, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 May 17, 2013
"I love this whole wheat flour, so do my 8 year old Grand Daughters. When ever they come for a visit (which is often) they always request the yogurt pancakes using Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour. The directions for making the pancakes are on the package. As they are eating the pancakes they say "Best Pancakes In The World"! I make sure that I always have this flour on hand."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TexasMommaP
fromIraan, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Whole grain sub
 April 24, 2013
"Makes a great substitution for all purpose flour. Mixes well for all doughs included pasta."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
andohir
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 September 16, 2012
"Like the flour, lighter for baking without a heavy taste, though I do miss a nutty flavor. I was a little dismayeed to see it cheaper in the grocery store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KingsDaughter76
fromTX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent!
 January 1, 2012
"I use this in everthing that calls for flour...nice spring wheat so not heavy and taste great! Love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
csillag
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Flour!
 August 30, 2010
"Very light and fluffy flour, works just as good as any refined flour."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AudnBrisMom
Great for all baking!
 May 8, 2010
"I am the baker in my family. I always use this in place of all purpose flour for cookies, cakes and pies even when I'm baking for the extended family on special occasions."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KCPA
fromPA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Make deserts that are healthy
 July 19, 2009
"This 5 lb. bag is a great value, in the retail stores they sell 3 lb. bags for the same price.
I use this in place of all-purpose flour in most desert recipes. Start out by using 50% of this flour instead of using 100% all-purpose and increase it up to 70% while maintaining great taste. Make the same recipes several times trying different ratios of this flour vs. all-purpose.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DNAmom
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 May 24, 2009
"Honestly I don't know good flour from bad flour. I know this is a name brand and more expensive in the stores. I baked chocolate chip cookies with it & agave syrup trying to eat more healthy and my VERY picky daughter loved 'em. If there was anything not tasty I would probably blame it on my recipe- I just made it up as I went along."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sisme
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Use as white flour
 January 27, 2009
"Since I have an aversion to white flour, when my granddaughter or hubby want cookies, I use this flour instead. It is whole wheat without the chewy or tough texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kafe
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
BAKES AND SAUTES WELL
 November 13, 2008
"So far we've used it in muffin recipes and as a coating for fish and chicken cutlets and are very satisfied. This is much more nutritious than white flour and so much tastier too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
liltx
fromhouston, tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
awesome!
 September 8, 2008
"bakes just like regular flour, without the heavyness usually associated with whole wheat flour. it works wonders in cookies, cakes, pancakes & breads."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour -- 5 lbs
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product