Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz

USDA Organic. The 100% Whole Grain Natural & Award Winning Cereal. Also Known as Pinhead Oats or Irish Oats. The Golden Spurtle. World Champion Oatmeal. Kosher. The Bob's Red Mill team went to Scotland to compete in the Olympics of oatmeal the Annual Golden Spurtle World Porridge Making Championship. And for the first time in the competition's history it was won by oatmeal from outside of Scotland by Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats - the very same oats that are in this bag.
Overall rating:
4.887 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
53 out of 53(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ODiaz92
Best Oatmeal on Earth.
 July 29, 2015
"This oatmeal right here is in a class of it's own. From the moment I tried it I knew right away I would incorporate this into my breakfast every morning. I also use to never be the type of person to actually be patient and cook my oatmeal the whole way, but with these those 17-20 minutes are so worth it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
matm
fromNew Hampshire
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I like the bulk at my food co-op better
 July 27, 2015
"This is not a bad steel cut oat. I make mine using the overnight soak method. The texture of the bulk is more chewy and not so wet in the morning."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitamom54
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best oatmeal!
 June 29, 2015
"This oatmeal is fantastic. It takes a while to cook, but it's easy to do and if you put the stove on low it doesn't need much tending. I add just a little bit of quinoa to it to bump up the protein. After cooking, add some raisins, walnuts and some almond or rice milk and you have a delicious breakfast!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carofla
fromMelbourne Beach, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best Oats Ever
 June 16, 2015
"These are the most delicious oats I have found. buy and use them regularly and very pleased. They take longer to cook than other brands I have tried, but are well worth it. The cooked oatmeal has such a wonderful texture and great taste."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dishwasher
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great way to start your morning!
 May 31, 2015
"Very good taste, and we eat atleat twice a week."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marmr
fromohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 May 23, 2015
"love this product! I put it in the crock pot the night before and the next morning it is creamy and delicious. I just add cinnamon, apples, or mangoes, and it's so satisfying for breakfast. The children love it, too, and there's no waiting for it to be prepared."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zettyBrod
frommontana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product -
 May 6, 2015
"healthy with good cereal texture - a morning staple!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Organic Like Arrowhead, Compare Sales Prices
 April 16, 2015
"Though studies show no significant health difference v. rolled oats, we prefer steelcut crockpot ease as well as chewy texture & flavor v. flavorless glue rolled oats. For crockpot ease &/or creamier texture just add more water (& if you're around near the end, an occasional stir). Warming refrigerated excess with water &/or milks reconstitutes fine.
For added flavor/health I add:
*OAT BRAN major mineral Silica/need less problematic Calcium, & Silica improves hair/skin/nails as discovered w/ horse feed; & Oat Bran also has Fiber, & Beta Glucans for immunity too. Also good in yogurt, soups/stews, & some baked goods.
*Dried Shredded COCONUT
*Vitacost CAPE COD MIX, or Organic RAISINS or dried CRANBERRIES (or OceanSpray Blueberry-infused Cranberry "Craisins")
*SEA SALT, CINNAMON, & healthy Sweet Leaf powdered STEVIA (not too much or tastes bitter)
Optional EXTRAS:
*Pre-sprout Bob's untoasted gluten-free BUCKWHEAT (not actually wheat, a fruit seed relative of rhubarb/sorrel) by soak overnight in little water & then drain off slime & rinse
*Vitacost's Q'IA CEREAL Apple Cinnamon: superfood Chia, protein Hemp, nutritious Buckwheat
*Bare Naked Fruit DRIED Cinnamon APPLE"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LynneD
fromKenosha, WI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My favorite hot breakfast cereal
 March 17, 2015
"I am hooked on these oats. I make them in the crock-pot overnight so they are ready first thing in the morning. Add some almond butter and maple syrup.........delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotty57
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bob's Red Mill produces high quality products!
 March 9, 2015
"I really appreciate the high quality products that come from Bob's Red Mill. These steel cut oats are just delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ljfmoose
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My kids like this better than regular oatmeal.
 March 8, 2015
"We really like this 'oatmeal'. I soak it overnight to cut down on the cooking time in the morning. Lots of possibilities with adding nuts, fruit, cinnamon, etc. Healthy and easy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Notmyrealname1
fromTampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Like it
 March 6, 2015
"I put two cups in the (heavily buttered) slow cooker with 4 cups of coconut milk, quarter cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp of pink salt and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. In the morning, breakfast nirvana awaits.
For a healthier everyday treat, I put a couple tablespoons in my nutribullet with dandelion greens, an apple, a handful of cranberries, and a bit of shredded coconut. Use coconut milk instead of water, and add cayenne and a pinch of pink salt."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cfc45
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
excellent product at an excellent price.
 March 5, 2015
"I have finally discovered how easy steel oats are to prepare and how delicious they are. Amazing that I can buy the organic ones here for much less than the regular ones are in the stores. Thanks Vitacost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeLIb
fromGeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Breakfast
 March 1, 2015
"A great organic breakfast from these oats. Quick and nutritious just add water and heat for about 10 min's. Chewy and creamy"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marciaria
fromRacine, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Oatmeal
 February 10, 2015
"This oatmeal is super good tasting, and has a great texture, unlike the box oatmeal. Takes a little cooking, but well worth the wait. Would much rather eat this than the store bought oatmeal. Good choice for taste, texture and of course very healthy!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kixty60
 February 8, 2015
"I love the Bob Redmill food products at such a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucyspeople
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 January 26, 2015
"I cook this overnight in a very small crockpot then add the raisins when I first get up. By the time we eat breakfast the raisins are warm and the steel cut oats are very creamy. Serve with a little almond milk and your favorite sweetener. A yummy product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leediane
fromVoorhees NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious on a cold morning
 January 8, 2015
"If you like a chewier nuttier texture, this is wonderful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynn1950
fromChicago, Illinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 December 11, 2014
"I love Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats and the price listed in health food and grocery stores are higher than Vitacost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Steel Cut Oats -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
suzij
fromoklahoma
Gender:Female
high fiber cereal
 November 9, 2014
"This cereal is high fiber and nourishing and filling. I cook it for my husband in a crockette overnight. Sometimes I add raisins or dates, other times chopped apples and cinnamon. He enjoys it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next