Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread & Muffin Mixes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz

For Bread Machines or Bake in Conventional Oven. Wheat Gluten and Dairy Free. Naturally Wholesome. You Can See the Quality. Casein Free. Kosher. For bread machines or by hand. Specially designed for those sensitive to wheat or gluten. This moist flavorful bread is ideal for sandwiches toast bread crumbs croutons and other dishes that start with a basic loaf of bead. Contains a blend of gluten-free flours.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
32 out of 35(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hlthy1
fromTucson, AZ
Good gluten-free bread
 April 18, 2016
"My husband and I are not gluten free, but had a guest over who was, so we made this bread in our bread machine. Our gluten-free guest was surprised at how much it rose--looked like a "normal" (non gluten-free) bread loaf and tasted pretty good too. Dense texture, but again, pretty good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niamh1232
fromAlta Vista, KS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best HOMEMADE-style bread for bread machine!
 April 17, 2016
"I have been gluten-free for approximately 5 years now. (Respiratory condition.) This satisfies my desire for HOMEMADE-style white bread. I really enjoy the texture and slightly-heavier density of this bread. (I have not frozen it, so I don't know how well it freezes.) I have cheated with this recipe, by utilizing my microwave to bring the fluids to room temperature, and adding a bit of sugar, at times. It turns out perfect everytime! ......... Additionally, VitaCost has the best price I can find, comparing to local stores and on-line. The delivery time and packaging were fantastic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
glutenfreeincolorado
fromMonument, CO
Something has changed and not for the better
 March 31, 2016
"I have used Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix for 3+ years & always been very pleased UNTIL a month ago. My last three attempts have resulted in flat bread. I am very familiar with this product & other products within this brand, preparing it the exact same way, week in, week out. Very disappointed and will have to investigate other brands, because I have also had trouble with the Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix & Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust Mix--something has changed with the ingredients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
glutenfreewife
fromCocoa Beach FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My husband's favorite
 March 27, 2016
"We have tried multiple mixes and this is the only one he really likes and it is always good"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AliceD
fromCA
Our Go-to Gluten Free Bread
 March 17, 2016
"This is an excellent product - we make this bread regularly and it always work out well made in our bread machine or by hand. If you make sure your liquids are room temperature or slightly tepid, you will find it rises just a little bit more and is fluffier. Our non GF friends rave about it too. We add about 2TBL caraway seeds - delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicholaix
fromNortheast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 March 6, 2016
"We have tried quite a few recipes and mixes and this one by far has the most consistent results. It has great texture, toasts up well, and tastes great for gluten free. I have used both a bread machine and mixed by hand and both came out well. This is a daily item in our house now."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buford51
fromDFW, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good Bread
 February 17, 2016
"I have a bread machine with a gluten free cycle. I just follow the instructions in the owners manual and set for light crust and it is just right. This is the only bread that I eat now that I have went gluten free. This is really good bread. I always buy several packages from Vitacost, because I have not found a better price. They package it very will so I have never had any shipping damage."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthgeak
fromVermont
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great GF alternative
 February 4, 2016
"I've tried all kinds of gluten mixes & packaged breads;this is by far the best in flavor, consistency & value. Much preferred over stale, dry frozen varieties you find. The ease of making it homemade is an asset."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DaltonsNana
fromMI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Disgusting!
 January 11, 2016
"I was so excited when a big, beautiful loaf of bread came out of my oven and it smelled like "real" bread.
However, that excitement didn't last long. After one taste I knew I'd never buy it again but I was so disappointed. I found the taste to be totally disgusting.
I tried various ways to use it rather than throw it away: toasted with butter, french toast, peanut butter and jelly sandwich, garlic bread, etc. I finally gave up and threw the rest in the trash can.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SFtraveler
Quality mix
 January 9, 2016
"Surprised how easy this was to make and how well it turned out even at high altitude. I baking soda and vinegar in place of the egg white and mixed by hand though it called for an electric mixer. Still turned out great, fluffy and easy to slice. I will try the multigrain next as this was a bit too white for my tastes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nellie14
fromSE North Dakota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious
 January 3, 2016
"The mix was easy to use, the texture and taste of the bread was very satisfactory."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DBarkely
fromOregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful GF Bread!
 December 8, 2015
"We have tried many mixes & from scratch recipes, but this one has been the best! My family four all like this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
return2basics
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great sandwich bread!
 October 15, 2015
"We just tried this after using Pamela's for so long. We use a regular bread machine with no GF preset and got a very nice, larger loaf. It has a great "spring" to it and maintains its moisture for several days, in fact better than Pamela's in that regard. I could see it making good french toast as well although we didn't try that yet. I gave it only 4 stars because there is something slightly blandish about the flavor and I think I'll be tinkering with add-ins to see if I can make it more robust and balanced. Maybe that's just me though. My kids loved this all by itself whereas I find I lean more and more toward multigrain, hearty breads. All around though, great bread, not dry or crumbly, kid approved, and by the sounds of other reviews also easy to create variations! Will be buying again for sure."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyPerson
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wow, yummy!!! Add salt!
 October 11, 2015
"This bread rises like crazy and has the texture of real, wheat-based yeast bread. The garbanzo flour adds a lovely crackery flavor and aroma that is quite satisfying. If you're not restricting salt, I strongly suggest adding 1tsp of good salt to bring out the full flavor.
I used Trader Joe's coconut cream mixed with some water for the liquid (because that's what I had around), and olive oil for the fat. Excellent!
If I could, I'd take 1/2 star off, because according to the Paleo/Weston Price wisdom, garbanzos should be properly soaked and sprouted before consuming. Due to this issue, I probably won't be eating this daily. However, when I have to have me some bread, this along with my home-baked traditional, long-fermentation German rye is what I'll reach for."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maidie2
fromWisconsin
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Easy and Yummy
 August 6, 2015
"Very easy to make and turns out light and fluffy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wingsfan
fromMountain View, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
quick and easy
 June 26, 2015
"When I'm out of bread and time, this is my go-to product. I like the simplicity of the packaging (yeast included) and the simple recipe that can use substitutions."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
busybee1
fromOrem, UT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
A few great tweaks make this bread perfect.
 April 23, 2015
"This bread had such a great texture, I was motivated to try to make it just a bit less bland. I add 1 tsp. sea salt, a squirt of Stevia (or a tablespoon of raw honey), and 3 whole organic eggs which equals the recommended 3/4 cup. To limit our carb intake since my husband is diabetic, I divide the dough into two bread pans. The dough rises right to the top of the pan and makes a nice satisfying size. The best part is how perfectly it keeps when I slice it and put two pieces of bread in each baggie. I put those in a large plastic bag in the freezer. I just take out enough for a sandwich or breakfast toast and it tastes fresh baked out if the toaster/oven."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living
fromFrenchville, Maine
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Wonderful Gluten-Free Bread
 February 18, 2015
"The only bread that is certified Gluten-Free. Tastes like Real bread. Beats all competitors hands-down in taste, consistency and does not fall apart. The best Gluten-Free tasting bread ever! Taste a real sandwich for the first time using this bread. Bread maker machine does a fantastic job with this recipe."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
droc
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 February 16, 2015
"Did not taste good"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thesckid
fromFort Myers, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Fantastic Bread
 January 13, 2015
"I add around 6 different nuts and berries to the package and end up with some of the best bread I have eaten."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next