Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread & Muffin Mixes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz

For bread machines or by hand. Specially designed for those sensitive to wheat or gluten. This moist flavorful bread is ideal for sandwiches toast bread crumbs croutons and other dishes that start with a basic loaf of bead. Contains a blend of gluten-free flours. Bob's Red Mill products labeled Gluten Free are batch tested in our quality control laboratory. We use an ELISA Gluten Assay test to determine if a product is gluten free.
Overall rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
26 out of 28(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthgeak
fromVermont
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great GF alternative
 February 4, 2016
"I've tried all kinds of gluten mixes & packaged breads;this is by far the best in flavor, consistency & value. Much preferred over stale, dry frozen varieties you find. The ease of making it homemade is an asset."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DaltonsNana
fromMI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Disgusting!
 January 11, 2016
"I was so excited when a big, beautiful loaf of bread came out of my oven and it smelled like "real" bread.
However, that excitement didn't last long. After one taste I knew I'd never buy it again but I was so disappointed. I found the taste to be totally disgusting.
I tried various ways to use it rather than throw it away: toasted with butter, french toast, peanut butter and jelly sandwich, garlic bread, etc. I finally gave up and threw the rest in the trash can.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SFtraveler
Quality mix
 January 9, 2016
"Surprised how easy this was to make and how well it turned out even at high altitude. I baking soda and vinegar in place of the egg white and mixed by hand though it called for an electric mixer. Still turned out great, fluffy and easy to slice. I will try the multigrain next as this was a bit too white for my tastes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nellie14
fromSE North Dakota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious
 January 3, 2016
"The mix was easy to use, the texture and taste of the bread was very satisfactory."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DBarkely
fromOregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful GF Bread!
 December 8, 2015
"We have tried many mixes & from scratch recipes, but this one has been the best! My family four all like this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
return2basics
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great sandwich bread!
 October 15, 2015
"We just tried this after using Pamela's for so long. We use a regular bread machine with no GF preset and got a very nice, larger loaf. It has a great "spring" to it and maintains its moisture for several days, in fact better than Pamela's in that regard. I could see it making good french toast as well although we didn't try that yet. I gave it only 4 stars because there is something slightly blandish about the flavor and I think I'll be tinkering with add-ins to see if I can make it more robust and balanced. Maybe that's just me though. My kids loved this all by itself whereas I find I lean more and more toward multigrain, hearty breads. All around though, great bread, not dry or crumbly, kid approved, and by the sounds of other reviews also easy to create variations! Will be buying again for sure."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyPerson
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wow, yummy!!! Add salt!
 October 11, 2015
"This bread rises like crazy and has the texture of real, wheat-based yeast bread. The garbanzo flour adds a lovely crackery flavor and aroma that is quite satisfying. If you're not restricting salt, I strongly suggest adding 1tsp of good salt to bring out the full flavor.
I used Trader Joe's coconut cream mixed with some water for the liquid (because that's what I had around), and olive oil for the fat. Excellent!
If I could, I'd take 1/2 star off, because according to the Paleo/Weston Price wisdom, garbanzos should be properly soaked and sprouted before consuming. Due to this issue, I probably won't be eating this daily. However, when I have to have me some bread, this along with my home-baked traditional, long-fermentation German rye is what I'll reach for."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maidie2
fromWisconsin
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Easy and Yummy
 August 6, 2015
"Very easy to make and turns out light and fluffy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wingsfan
fromMountain View, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
quick and easy
 June 26, 2015
"When I'm out of bread and time, this is my go-to product. I like the simplicity of the packaging (yeast included) and the simple recipe that can use substitutions."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
busybee1
fromOrem, UT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
A few great tweaks make this bread perfect.
 April 23, 2015
"This bread had such a great texture, I was motivated to try to make it just a bit less bland. I add 1 tsp. sea salt, a squirt of Stevia (or a tablespoon of raw honey), and 3 whole organic eggs which equals the recommended 3/4 cup. To limit our carb intake since my husband is diabetic, I divide the dough into two bread pans. The dough rises right to the top of the pan and makes a nice satisfying size. The best part is how perfectly it keeps when I slice it and put two pieces of bread in each baggie. I put those in a large plastic bag in the freezer. I just take out enough for a sandwich or breakfast toast and it tastes fresh baked out if the toaster/oven."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living
fromFrenchville, Maine
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Wonderful Gluten-Free Bread
 February 18, 2015
"The only bread that is certified Gluten-Free. Tastes like Real bread. Beats all competitors hands-down in taste, consistency and does not fall apart. The best Gluten-Free tasting bread ever! Taste a real sandwich for the first time using this bread. Bread maker machine does a fantastic job with this recipe."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
droc
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 February 16, 2015
"Did not taste good"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thesckid
fromFort Myers, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Fantastic Bread
 January 13, 2015
"I add around 6 different nuts and berries to the package and end up with some of the best bread I have eaten."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WasatchMountains14
fromSalt Lake CIty, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great For Sandwiches
 November 30, 2014
"My husband still needed to have sandwiches for his lunch but finding a gluten free one that didn't taste like sawdust or feel like a brick was difficult. BUT, Bob's has saved our family from feeling deprived of our much loved sandwich bread. Thanks Bob!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nanagigi
fromnc
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
consistent excellence
 October 29, 2014
"have used many varieties of bob.s red mill GF bread mixes ....
absolutely great in taste, size, texture, and substance.....larger loaves at a lower price than store-bought GF bread
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiragirl2
fromNorth Las Vegas, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Darn GF Bread
 October 21, 2014
"I have tried other GF bread but nothing compares to Bob's Red Mill GF Wonderful homemade bread mix. I use my bread machine and I get a perfect loaf every time and what a wonderful flavor for GF. It's a nice dense loaf and easy to slice on my food slicer. I use coconut oil instead of butter or vegetable oil and it's awesome. Try it warm out of the oven, over the moon it is.
Want a great GF bread, give this a try, you'll love it."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
231run
fromInterlochen MICHIGAN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This bread stays together.
 October 11, 2014
"I just love this bread! It stays together, it's not dry, it comes out
Perfect everytime. And it even comes with its own packet of
Yeast!!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MomofTi
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent taste.
 September 26, 2014
"Bob's Red Mill has a great line of products but this bread mix is one of my favorites. The recipe is right on the bag, it's easy to follow and the bread turns out great. My son is on a GFCF diet and this is his favorite.. soft bread with a wonderful taste. I always make more than one loaf and freeze it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenniferJ
fromIowa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really good bread
 September 12, 2014
"Fresh bread hot from the oven, without the sawdust texture? What's not to like?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ghostplane
fromNE Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Lives up to its name - Wonderful
 August 1, 2014
"THE gluten free mix for bread machines."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next