Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Staples or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz

Kosher. Gluten Free. Bob's Red Mill Potato Starch is made from top quality high starch potatoes by an natural water and filtration process. It is excellent as a thickener for making gravies sauces soups or stews. Our Potato Starch is also a terrific ingredient for gluten-free baking as it produces a tender moist crumb.
Overall rating:
4.947 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeeTaDee
fromSaint Peters, Pennsylvania
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bob's Has Been Around A Long Time
 March 18, 2016
"Bob's Red Mill means quality all of their products are dependable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
phrocnegya
 January 23, 2016
"Use this to make things thicker; like smoothies and works great. Without adding any flavors when added."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzed2
fromBurley, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Gluten Free Wonder!
 January 20, 2016
"I bought this to use as a gluten free thickener, and it's amazing. You use SO little, compared to it's wheat flour counterpart, and you simply can't taste the difference.
Now, I use nothing else to thicken gravies, puddings, etc.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fmesilva
fromBRASILIA, BRAZIL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
GOOD, BUT NOT PERFECT
 January 8, 2016
"I HAVE BOUGHT 2 UNITS AND THIS PRODUCT IS QUITE THE SAME AS OTHERS WE FIND HERE IN BRAZIL."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Creston
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product, great price
 January 4, 2016
"I use this in my gluten free cooking and it is great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diana127
fromNC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Pure product
 December 31, 2015
"Great for making bread---especially in sourdough starter. It increases shelf life and makes a tender crust."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kazanowski
 December 10, 2015
"Love it, great for my gut health, a real game changer"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LSSH
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works in bread mix recipe for egg alternative
 October 22, 2015
"I primarily use this starch for my son's gluten-free bread mix (Bob Mills) as the egg alternative (2 TBS for 1 egg)....it works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mom2Sons
fromMidAtlantic
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
excellent starch
 August 19, 2015
"I use this when arrowroot is too precious - its is a fabulous substitute in my gluten free cooking"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DagnarK
Great Substitute for Bread Crumbs
 July 21, 2015
"This product is fantastic when used as breading for chicken and fish. It browns beautifully and creates a crispy coating."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thekingschild
fromRowlesburg, WV
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I use this in making gluten-free all purpose flour
 June 4, 2015
"To make gluten-free all-purpose flour, Just mix:
200 grams of sorghum flour, 200 grams of millet flour, 300 grams of sweet rice flour, and 300 grams of potato starch. (That’s for 1000 grams of flour mix. If you want twice that, simply multiply everything x 2.)
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamaGcs
frompa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
beats corn starch
 April 18, 2015
"may be it beats corn starch because I grew up with potato starch - whatever the case, it makes great pudding, works well in replacing some flour in baking and if you thicken sauces it works well too. Use as if you were using corn starch without the GMO (as long as it lasts any way)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BarabaAnn1
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bread making
 January 12, 2015
"This potato starch is excellent and a reliable product when making gluten free breads."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pearlsmom
fromSan Juan Islands, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Gluten free staple
 January 11, 2015
"Wish it were organic, then it would earn 5 stars! In fact I'd love for Vitacost to have only organic products."
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubblegirl
fromOverseas right now
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product!
 December 12, 2014
"It is hard to get this where I live, and this one is very high quality and gluten-free!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dustycounters
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this dust!
 December 2, 2014
"I have a celiac in the house, so I do all my baking from scratch. This is definitely a must have item. I mix my own flours and this product is nearly always in mix. So many recipes call for cornstarch, but using this is so much tastier."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
barenose
fromOakland, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great prices!
 November 8, 2014
"When I saw that Vitacost carried this product, I snapped it up! It's something I can buy locally, but costs much more than the Vitacost price, especially in bulk."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BessE
fromChampaign, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 September 6, 2014
"When baking gluten free, potato starch is one of my staple flours to use. Without it, not sure what I would do. We have created and changed recipes to where they're "good" by using potato starch and changing up the recipe a little."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holmestead
fromGabriola Island, B.C. Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
works every time
 July 29, 2014
"All Bob's Red Mill are consistent and completely satisfactory. I am learning ALOT about gluten free baking and selling them at the local Farmers Market with GREAT results. Yeah!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLfeni
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
variety of uses
 July 29, 2014
"I bought this product after reading about "resistant starches" and their positive impact on gut flora. Haven't seen any results yet, as many have, from ingesting it daily.
I also use this to make a starch spray for ironing.
And I know it can be a thickening agent in cooking as well.
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next