Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Aids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz

Kosher. Gluten Free. Bob's Red Mill Potato Starch is made from top quality high starch potatoes by an natural water and filtration process. It is excellent as a thickener for making gravies sauces soups or stews. Our Potato Starch is also a terrific ingredient for gluten-free baking as it produces a tender moist crumb.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holmestead
fromGabriola Island, B.C. Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
works every time
 July 29, 2014
"All Bob's Red Mill are consistent and completely satisfactory. I am learning ALOT about gluten free baking and selling them at the local Farmers Market with GREAT results. Yeah!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLfeni
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
variety of uses
 July 29, 2014
"I bought this product after reading about "resistant starches" and their positive impact on gut flora. Haven't seen any results yet, as many have, from ingesting it daily.
I also use this to make a starch spray for ironing.
And I know it can be a thickening agent in cooking as well.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZAHome
fromHibbing, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bob's Red Mill Potato Starch found online only
 May 31, 2014
"I searched my local stores and could not find Bob's Red Mill Potato Starch. I found the potato starch online only. Vitacost had the only great value when I needed more potato starch.
I have been gluten free and dairy free for over two years. I use potato starch for gravies, coating chicken for frying, making sweet and sour sauce, and in baking.
Bob's Red Mill Potato starch is the only brand I found that is of consistently good quality."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SJlv
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great secret ingredient for krispy fried chicken!
 May 27, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"For those of you who enjoy the extra crispy fried chicken, this ingredient is a must. Mix equal parts of this potato starch and flour for your fried chicken batter and you shall see amazing results - very crunchy and delicious. Oh, there is a second tip - fry the chicken twice, as they do in Korea - first fry it for a few minutes, take them out and let them rest for a few minutes then re-fry them for another few minutes until golden brown. Enjoy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sasoo8888
Good quality
 May 11, 2014
"This product is easy to use and great quality. Worked like a charm for baking and mixing into drinks"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thenainai
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
better than potato starch I've before
 April 29, 2014
"It was my first time buying this product. I have been buying potato starch at my Korean market. But lately the quality of the product has been suffering. So I decided to buy this product and I really like it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andriuz
fromSkiatook, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 April 21, 2014
"I've been using Bob's Potato Starch for a couple of years now and I can assure you how wonderful this is. Excellent results in baking breads and thickening sauces in general. I usually keep it in the refrigerator for maximum freshness. Besides, Vitacost price is unbeatable!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenBadger
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Fine Quality Potato Starch
 April 21, 2014
"As with all of Bob's Red Mill products, this is a top quality potato starch. If you are mixing your own gluten free flours, potato starch adds some good characteristics."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kate99123
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 April 1, 2014
"great to use for gluten free mixes"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vasato
fromJapan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great value,good product!!!
 March 27, 2014
"This potato starch is the best way to get resistant starch.
Resistant starch feeds the friendly bacteria in the intestine.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenbuttons
fromSaliabury,NC
 March 4, 2014
"I use this in a bread recipe and it works very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cutey
fromThomasville,NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for gluten free baking
 March 1, 2014
"I use this product for my gluten free baking and it works great. The texture is like corn starch and bakes in my cookies just fine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowbuddies
fromSurprise, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
GF flour
 February 25, 2014
"I mix this with other flours & starches to make gluten-free flour."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Livinma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for a flour blend
 February 19, 2014
"I use this in my flour blend whenever I need a traditional flour substitute."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tacomama
This product is great for gluten free baking
 February 9, 2014
"People with allergies to tapioca can use potato starch as a substitute for tapioca starch in recipes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GlutenFreeBaker1
fromBryant, AL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
A must to have on hand when baking gluten free
 February 3, 2014
"I use a lot of gluten-free potato starch and this one is a very good product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ozziegal
fromMelbourne, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product, arrived fast
 January 22, 2014
"I've ordered the Bob's Red Mill potato starch from Vitacost three times now. Each time it has arrived very quickly. Amazingly, even with shipping costs, buying it through Vitacost is about half the price of buying the same product from an Australian site.
A tip for other Aussies - only order two packets at a time, even if you want more, as the shipping cost is about ten bucks for two packets, but jumps to about thirty-five bucks for three or more packets.
Also, if you are interested in the health benefits of taking potato starch raw, it is worth googling 'resistant starch'."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melah
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Handy product
 December 30, 2013
"I bought this product to use when baking gluten-free bread. It turned out delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kickitup
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very Satisfied
 November 20, 2013
"The results I get from using this product are very satisfactory. The price is fair and I store this in a dark, glass jar after opening.
I had very good results when using this for gravy in place of the corn starch. Would definitely recommend this product.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Potato Starch Unmodified Gluten Free -- 24 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product