Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soup or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz

  Our all natural Vegi Soup Mix is made from an exceptional blend of delicious ingredients. We combine wholesome green and yellow split peas barley lentils and flavorsome alphabet pasta bits made from whole wheat flour spinach tomato celery onion beets and garlic. You Can See Our Quality!
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KittyKittyKitty
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good starter, easily customizable
 January 10, 2014
"I've been eating this weekly. I was prompted to write when I read the few reviews complaining of the blandness of this mix. Yes, it is bland on its own. Look at the ingredients, lol! Not a lot of extra stuff in there. That is not a negative. That is a good thing. If you're on a restricted diet, YOU decide how much salt goes in. If you're in a cumin and cayenne mood, go for it. Or simply pepper and sea salt if that is tolerated. I've used sodium free bouillion, minced onion, garlic... Lots of possibilities. I throw in veggies..whatever is lurking in the freezer, fridge or pantry. I'm lazy lately so it is a can of mixed veg, drained, and a few small potatoes chopped up. When I have this on hand, I know in an hour I'll have something good to eat that suits my taste tolerance du jour. Be a little creative. Be healthy. Enjoy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
orlu
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good
 December 8, 2013
"We like this mix a lot. It is a very convenient way to make a healthy soup, just add low sodium chicken broth"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
realleah
fromLakewood, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Easy and great!
 November 12, 2013
"Everyone loves this soup! Although, I'm not a vegetarian.
I normally cook the soup in chicken broth and add some ham, bacon and garlic.
If it was gluten-free, I would give it 5 stars!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
kelmeister
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I couldn't eat it.
 August 21, 2013
"I don't know if it was the barley or the lentils....but I've never tasted anything so nasty in all my life!"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
13beaming
frommid-Michigan
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Home Style soup
 August 15, 2013
"I made this for my spouse, and he really liked it. Directions say
additions are up to you, so I added dried onions and some sausage
for a meat flavor. Very stick to your ribs kind of winter soup, but
cooks faster (1 hr) than usual. Next time I make it I think I will add some celery, too.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
clouddancing
fromLancaster, Ma.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
LOVE THIS SOUP !!!!!
 March 27, 2013
"JUST DISCOVERED BOB'S RED MILL AND THOUGHT I WOULD GIVE THIS SOUP A TRY. GLAD I DID. IT PUTS MY PEA SOUP TO SHAME. THIS SOUP HAS MORE FLAVOR AND IT'S SOOOO EASY TO MAKE. VITA COST HAS THE BEST PRICE AROUND AND THIS SOUP IS A WINNER !!!!! --- FIRST PRIZE, IN MY BOOK.--- THIS IS A KEEPER TO HAVE ON HAND. AND IT IS A GOOD STRETCHER, TOO. THANKS VITA COST FOR CARRY THIS BRAND. HAPPY IN MA. :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dazycrazy
fromga
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
soup mix
 August 3, 2012
"very disappointed - this soup mix is completely flavorless."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hilldale
fromKodiak Alaska
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
A really great ptoduct!!
 July 27, 2012
"This is the best dried vegetable soup mix I have ever had. As a basic start for almost any type of soup you mught want to make, whether it would be just a vegitarian vegitable soup, chicken based soup oir beef based soup, it doesn't matter. An excelent product!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromSouthern Cali
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I wish I would've tried this sooner!
 April 22, 2012
"To be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this soup, but it is amazing! I prepared it with some chicken stock instead of water and it didn't need anything else. The first time I only made enough for one serving since my kids and husband thought it sounded "unappealing", but then they tried it and liked it so much I had to make a whole pot (my 3 year old bugged me the entire hour asking for more soup). In case you're wondering about taste, it reminds me of a cross between a split pea and vegetable soup, it mind sound strange to some but it really works!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anon2207
fromUnited States
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Satisfying and Tasty
 February 25, 2012
"This soup mix is simple to make and very tasty. I just toss it in with no-salt chicken bouillon, garlic, and cumin - plus 8x water and 40-60 mins later I have a yummy soup. Lemon wedges really make the flavors pop too. Also, in my experience, the soup takes twice as much water as the package lists."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Denouncer5
fromOak brook,il
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
No taste
 February 6, 2011
"I would never buy this again.Has no flavor at all."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santalady
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good Taste and Good for You!
 March 30, 2010
"Easiest soup I ever made! Added extra veggies and low sodium broth and it was a very satisfying soup!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
roxvox58
Wonderful soup!
 February 1, 2010
"This is my favorite soup mix. It tastes like I have done lots of work and added other ingredients, but I just cook the mix with water. It's fantastic! I serve it for guests, and they always think that I've worked on it all day!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kafe
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
So simple to make and delicious!
 January 24, 2010
"I like to cut up fresh organic vegetables and sometimes add leftover chicken to really make it a substantial and healthy meal. Make sure you use either chicken or vegetable broth for more taste. I also like to add my own herbs and seasonings such as garlic, onion, sea salt, rosemary, thyme, cumin, coriander, parsley and a little ginger for added flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizMA
Age:25-34
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 July 29, 2009
"Love this stuff. It’s SO simple and ridiculously easy to make – just add liquid and simmer. This mix is wonderful to have when you’re just too tired to cook a meal from scratch; it’s saved me many a times from just having chips or bread for dinner. And it’s quite yummy as is (given that you make it with broth or stock and NOT water). I’m usually not a fan of barley, but it works in this blend quite well and adds a nice chewy texture. And with the split peas and lentils, it’s just a winning, quite nutritious combo (esp. when compared to alternatives). The only reason I didn't give it FIVE stars is because I would prefer it if the wheat pasta was organic (wheat is one of the most highly farmed products out there and subject to being genetically modified) and because, for gluten free people, the addition of that pasta makes it a taboo product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LhasaApso
So simple, so delicious
 June 5, 2009
"I bought this to thicken up and make more interesting my bean/vegetable soup. Excellent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YenYen
fromIdaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Flavor
 January 21, 2009
"I used a vegetable broth along with chicken to add my own flavor to this great mix. My family loves it, sure is tasty on a cold winters night and healthy too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
simplesalt
fromDurham, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Soup!
 January 10, 2009
"I have finally found a soup that has very low sodium! My Mom loves it and my family loves it too. Most soup mixes have a lot of sodium, and Bob's Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix gives you a very low sodium product that is much healthier. It is also easier to add salt and other condiments to this if desired. Thanks!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Soup Mix Veggie -- 28 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product