Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz

Certified Organic. Non-GMO. Vegan - A Vegan Protein Source. Unflavored. Jarrow FORMULAS Organic Hemp Protein is a good source of protein containing more the nine essential amino acids (4.5 grams per serving) than soy or egg proteins in the form of easily digestible globular proteins. Jarrow FORMULAS Organic Hemp Protein also provides essential fatty acids (2.75 grams per serving) in the recommended 3:1 omega-6 to omega-3 ratio.  . Jarrow FORMULAS Organic Hemp Protein is manufactured using a proprietary cold-processing method to maintain the integrity of the proteins and phytonutrients.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
7 out of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spudchick
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great baking ingredient
 June 25, 2014
"I've started adding this to most of my baked goods at a rate of 1 part hemp to three parts flour (based on the general recommendations of the Jarrow website) and also adding a scoop to the few packaged mixes I use. It's a very easy way to add protein, and works well in most recipes. It disappears in anything with a strong flavor on its own, like brownies, gingerbread, zucchini bread, is even good in pancakes, and we really love it in cornbread. The only thing it didn't work well in was a baked donut recipe and I think there were other problems there. I'm not really a shake person so I can't speak to that use, but hemp protein has helped me boost the nutrition of foods that otherwise don't have much value (breads/cakes/cookies) and fit them better into my daily diet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maidawg
fromsouth Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Hemp makes a good additional protein supplement
 May 14, 2014
"I have had good luck with Jarrow products, in general. I also use their brand of probiotics."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrBigTim
fromPeoria, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Good for green smoothies
 June 27, 2013
"This product works great in green smoothies. I typically make a kale, blueberry, chia seed, and hemp protein smoothy. Don't taste it at all. However, I frequently make a post workout shake using frozen banana, cocoa, cinnamon, peanut butter, and protein. I used whey protein for years and then tried switching to hemp protein. It doesn't absorb well, makes shake chalky, and leaves a bad aftertaste in the back of your throat. If I were vegan I'd probably learn to live with it, but I've since gone back to using whey for my post workout shake."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elmwood
fromNY
Fabulous price for no-additives hemp protein!
 March 21, 2013
"Somebody complained that this wasn't very tasty--it isn't. But that's why you don't put too much in your smoothie! Unless you want to buy something full of additives and chemicals that make the plain old hemp protein more palatable, this is what you get. I used to buy another brand in Canada--identical product in every way but twice the price! I use a tablespoon every morning in my fruit-and-soy milk smoothie and can't tell by taste or texture that it's in there."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dancing
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Yuk!
 July 17, 2011
"I'll pass on this product. Gritty, bad tasting."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NothingbutNifty
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Worst purchase ever!
 April 23, 2011
"It has the taste and texture of split pea soup! There was no way I could eat it in oatmeal. I can't imagine using it in a fruit smoothy."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
IKESWAY
fromTEXAS
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
GOOD STUFF
 March 4, 2009
"HEMP PROTEIN IS GOOD STUFF, I LOVE THE FACT IT'S ORGANIC, I MIX IT WITH JUICE, AND OATMEAL. I THINK JARROW UNFLAVORED PROTEINS ARE SOME OF THE BEST I'VE FOUND SO FAR. I LIKE THE FACT I CAN ADD MY OWN COCKTAIL TO IT, THAT WAY I NO WHATS IN IT."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MrGreen
fromColorado
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
First taste of hemp protein
 November 12, 2008
"Halfway through 3rd can, taking 1-2 servings daily. Noticed considerable cleansing action after 3-4 days. Would advise to time this carefully to hit over a weekend or where a comfortable bathroom is accessible. Product claims to be unflavored but the "flavor" overpowers everything I've tried to mix it with. Tolerable though, never expected the product to taste great. Haven't noticed significant gains in muscle or loss of fat, but much too early to tell. Just glad to be off whey and other junk proteins so heavily marketed by the muscle mags. Will stick with hemp in the future but might experiment with other brands."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Jarrow Formulas Hemp Protein Organic Unflavored -- 16 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product