Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(894)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(103)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(194)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,652)
Coconut Oil(4,121)
Collagen(353)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,749)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,665)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(57)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(284)
Letter Vitamins(12,718)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(446)
Melatonin(1,225)
Minerals(9,087)
Multivitamins(13,050)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,287)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,344)
Propolis(84)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets

Promotes Calm & Relaxed Mood. Helps Control Appetite. Time Release Formula. Natrol® 5-HTP Time Release is a plant-derived source of an amino acid that naturally increases the body's level of serotonin the chemical messenger that affects emotions behavior appetite and sleep. Natrol 5-HTP helps provide a more positive outlook promotes relaxation calm and greater appetite control. Natrol 5-HTP 200 mg Time Release is 100% vegetarian and has a controlled delivery system.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Review 1 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew England
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Works Great!
 June 9, 2015
" This 5-HTP works extremely well. As it is time released and at 200 mg it helps me to get the best sleep I have had in a long time. No sleepiness in the AM - just a restful and invigorating nights sleep. Just ordered three more bottles from Vitacost to share with family. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT!
 May 6, 2015
" This product does exactly what it says, with no side effects or upset tummy! AMAZING, I would recommend this product to everyone, I will deff be stocking up on this product the next sale! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I've been using it for years and love it.
 April 19, 2015
" Really helps with my mood and I can tell the difference when I don't take it. I've heard that it is more effective if you skip one or two days a week. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMc Lean, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product is convenient
 May 26, 2014
" I was very satisfied by the fact that I could take just one a day. The ones in the market you normally have to take twice a day & that can be an inconvenience. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKent, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Awesome 3 in 1 product!
 May 20, 2013
" 5 HTP is amazing! It helps me sleep, curbs my appetite and increases my mood :) I checked with my doctor before I started taking it, but with her approval, I've been on it over a month. I sleep better, I wake up refreshed and NOT hungry, and my moods are more even. "
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromChicago
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Time Release
 May 20, 2013
" The product is good as far as getting to sleep, but I still wake up a few hours later. The time release does not seem to work for me. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I've tried dozens of 5htp....
 May 17, 2013
" ...I've tried dozens of 5htp and this is my "go to" brand. I like the 200 mg dosage, I like the time release formula. I am a 56 years old female and I take one every night. It gently makes me sleepy and gives me a wonderful; nights sleep with zero side effects. Before I would fall asleep but I would wake up 10 times or more a night. Often times I couldn't fall back asleep after I woke up. I have recommended this brand and dosage to my girlfriends having similiar sleep issues. "
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWestern Australia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 January 19, 2013
" I just love Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release after only one week I have changed from a very stroppy cow to a lovely little lamb and like myself much better. "
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromeagle, ID
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Think it is helping.
 August 30, 2012
" I think this produce it nice because it is time released.
I take it 2 or three hours before bedtime.
"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
 July 22, 2011
" I have been taking Natrol 5HTP for a few years now and I feel that it really makes a difference.
It's reasonably priced and good quality as well.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHumble, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Big Bucks!
 September 23, 2010
" I like the time release, especially when taken right before bed time, but the cost is 2X more than the equivalent dosage of standard 5HTP. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Stressed out, Clam yourself
 June 15, 2010
" Small things use to just get on my nerves. (child whining, computer not working, something burning on the stove, etc.) After taking this for only a week, I was surprised how much more relaxed I handled daily irritations. When I bought my first bottle I did not expect much, but thought I would try it for a month. I came back to purchase again. I have found that I really like the Natrol line of products. They deliver. "
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMT
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
good stuff
 February 12, 2010
" this stuff seems to work-- I wish vitacost would have kept carrying it. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMissouri
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
 August 27, 2009
" This is an amazing product.....I love the "timed-release"...Highly recommend "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not up to snuff
 March 11, 2009
" This product is not as effective as 200mg of Nature's Way 5-HTP. I'm thinking it doesn't really have as much 5-HTP as it says it does. Of course, I didn't do a standardized test. All I can say is it didn't feel as effective as other 5-HTP compounds I've taken. "
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Natrol 5-HTP Time Release -- 200 mg - 30 Tablets
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
11 out of 11 recommend this product