Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Leaves hair softer and more manageable. Adds gloss and shine. Strengthens hair. Organic Jojoba Oil absorbs quickly into the scalp leaving hair feeling soft and revitalized. Organic Green Tea rich in antioxidants and polyphenols gives hair gloss and shine while Organic Kelp and Nettle Extracts provide iron calcium potassium and other vitamins and minerals which absorb into and help strengthen each hair strand.
Overall rating:
4.466 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
63 out of 73(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromArlington, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Adequate
 May 21, 2016
" I wasn't wowed by the product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromSheboygan, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells like plastic
 May 8, 2016
" This shampoo cleans my hair alright, but it is difficult to get out of the bottle for some reason, and it smells terrible like plastic. I have to use unscented products when I'm pregnant, and I find the smell of this shampoo to be very strong like plastic or chemicals. I'm still on the hunt for a good fragrance free shampoo. The conditioner from Desert Essence does not smell like the shampoo, it comes out of the container very easily, and it works well - makes my hair smooth and soft. So, while I wouldn't recommend the shampoo, I would recommend the conditioner. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the clean; Use with the conditioner
 April 5, 2016
" I finally found a fragrance-free shampoo that is actually free of fragrance and does what it is supposed to. My hair is fine so it looks oily rather quickly, even when it's not really. It also gets weighed down by products and residue very easily. This shampoo makes my hair feel wonderfully clean without residue or headache-causing fragrance.
I use the conditioner with it, and my hair has never felt better. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo!
 January 28, 2016
" I used to use chemical-laden shampoo from the grocery store. It was more expensive, and harsh enough to require conditioner. This shampoo leaves my hair looking great without conditioner. I will definitely continue to use this product! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOverseas right now
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best one so far
 November 28, 2015
" We have all sorts of autoimmune and allergy issues, but this one works for all of us! It is gentle, no tears, works on dry, greasy, youth, guys, and the gals in our family. :) Definite favorite with its conditioner too. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it!
 November 23, 2015
" Appreciate this shampoo. No strange odor, nice consistency and keeps my curls lively. Also easy to travel with. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGreenville, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 October 23, 2015
" The market for good fragrance free shampoos is limited. I am thankful I found this shampoo. Not only is it fragrance free, but it has helped my hair recover from a very drying permanent process. It has helped my straw feeling hair be soft again. I highly recommend this shampoo. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWest Chester, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Perfect solution!
 August 14, 2015
" Our family uses unscented products as much as possible and this one is a winner. No smell and leaves hair clean and shiny. Highly recommended. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCT
Gender:Female
Fresh Shampoo
 June 21, 2015
" I only have to use a small amount to wash my hair and it leaves it exceptionally clean! Also, I like shampoos without fragrances and this one is wonderful. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromVirginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Would not recommend
 June 8, 2015
" While this product is fragrance free, it still has that "chemical" smell to it (which surprised me in an "organic" product). Aside from that, I did have to use quite a bit of this product on my hair in order to get it clean, and it still left a residue just like a Suave, Garnier Fructis, Tresemme or other non-organic big brands would do. The biggest disappointment of this product to me was that it sucked every bit of moisture I had in my hair OUT. I gave this two stars because I felt like "you get what you pay for" and because it is on the "cheaper" end of the organic, fragrance free products, it's definitely not the best. It has helped that I've supplemented this moisture-sucking shampoo with some homemade water & aloe vera juice spray afterwards. That has helped give me some moisture back and take away some frizz. Once this tube is gone, I won't be buying this one again - I will cough up some extra cash for a better quality product, and recommend you do the same. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSo Cali
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great!
 May 12, 2015
" This is by far the best fragrance free shampoo I've used. It cleans hair well and doesn't irritate my skinor scalp. I have recommended this to several people that are like me and don't want all the fragrances and added chemicals is their shampoo. Highly recommend. It will not irritate. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSyracuse,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
No scalp itching with this !
 April 17, 2015
" I have been using this for awhile and certain shampoos make my scalp itch etc.... I love this shampoo and what is NOT in it too ! I just wish it would pour out better, sometimes you have to really squeeze the tube to get some out. It may be like this you so don't waste it and a bunch comes out when you only need a small amount. I use several of Desert Essence products and really like them all. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSt.Cloud, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
love this shampoo
 March 7, 2015
" cleans well with no perfumes and leaves no residue. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
can't beat it
 March 6, 2015
" For years I've used this shampoo and even though I've tried others that are advertised to leave your hair so wonderful I always go back to this one. My hair is fine but not very thick and this leaves it full of body with lots of shine without a lot of additives others have. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOntario
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fantastic
 February 22, 2015
" It lathers in and washes out very well. Other shampoos that we have tried took SO long to wash out of our very long hair (my daughter's hair is down to her knees), but this one comes out so easily. It leaves your hair soft and smelling nice & clean. We love it! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works well without harmful chemicals
 February 6, 2015
" Years ago I was told to stay away from glycerine. It took a very long time to find a shampoo/body wash without one, but I'm very pleased with how this works. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew City,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice Shampoo
 January 22, 2015
" This shampoo is clean and natural and makes my hair very nice. I like that it is organic and my scalp is healthy too. I want to try the conditioner. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great shampoo!
 January 13, 2015
" I have yet to meet a Desert Essence product I didn't like! This shampoo leaves my hair squeaky clean and my scalp replenished, without the fragrances that make me crazy! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells weird
 January 2, 2015
" This shampoo seems to work like a good shampoo, but the smell is very odd. My husband said it smells like a pool liner and is off-putting. I find it smells like a mix between vinyl and plastic. If that smell doesn't bother you, it works just fine! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just if you scalp is NOT sensitive
 December 26, 2014
" My scalp is very sensitive, and I tried many shampoos. First, I have to make sure, that my shower water filter cartridge is not old, because water itself can annoy it. Then I always rinse my hair with diluted apple cider vinegar to aid soap removal.
This shampoo annoyed my scalp quite badly, so I ended up using it as a body soap.
The only two, that are not too bad for me were All Terrain Wonder Wash (technically not a shampoo, but works for it), and Healthy Times Baby's Herbal Garden Pansy Flower Shampoo.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next