Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Leaves hair softer and more manageable. Adds gloss and shine. Strengthens hair. Organic Jojoba Oil absorbs quickly into the scalp leaving hair feeling soft and revitalized. Organic Green Tea rich in antioxidants and polyphenols gives hair gloss and shine while Organic Kelp and Nettle Extracts provide iron calcium potassium and other vitamins and minerals which absorb into and help strengthen each hair strand.
Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
41 out of 45(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunnydaysarecoming
fromMN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 May 8, 2014
"I was looking for an organic, fragrance free shampoo that didn't weigh my hair down and finally found it! My hair is on the oily side, but I can use this for a week before it starts to get weighed down. Over time all shampoos build up residue so that's no problem. I use a clarifying shampoo for a couple of days then go back to Dessert Essence."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ElixirGirl
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Like it!
 May 3, 2014
"I'm sensitive to fragrances, so this one works really well for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salvi4ever
fromLindenhurst, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
The best fragrance free shampoo out there!!!
 April 7, 2014
"Love everything about it!:)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrae
fromWyoming
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 April 5, 2014
"This is the only shampoo I can use. Other hair products leave me with severe skin and scalp problems. It is cheaper here than anyplace else I have shopped, either on line or in the stores"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Raae
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fine Shampoo
 March 30, 2014
"I like that this shampoo is fragrance free. It is the best shampoo that I can find without so many chemicals. It works just like chemical containing shampoo. I am still looking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1healthylady
fromUtah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 March 18, 2014
"I love Desert Essence shampoo. This was my first time trying out the fragrance free kind, just because it was on sale. :) Though I miss the great smells that come with the others, my hair feels as great as ever."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DL123
fromNYC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Best shampoo I've used
 March 14, 2014
"Several years ago, I developed a fragrance allergy/eczema and now I have to really inspect every product I use. This shampoo posed no problems for me, and I'm accustomed to having my eyes burn and turn red after washing my hair with other shampoos (even another fragrance-free one), and this is the only product I've used that doesn't hurt my eyes. Desert Essence shampoo leaves my hair feeling clean and smooth! I would recommend it to anyone, especially those with very sensitive skin.
Plus, it even smells good with a mild scent, and since it is free of artificial fragrances, it is a bonus that it smells good with all its ingredients combined.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pama
fromHuntsville, Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo --
 February 21, 2014
"Organics products are absolutely great. The shampoo will stop bad dandruff. No chemicals. I love this product. I think everyone should use the Organic products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boston2509
fromMassachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Free of harsh chemicals and fragrances
 February 21, 2014
"I use this shampoo on a daily basis and it works very well for adding body and removing build-up. I especially like that it doesn't have added fragrances which can be harsh on my body.
I use many of the Desert Essence products and I am always satisfied - and they are not pricey either.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
okfarmlady
fromStillwater OK
Gender:Female
Finally, my hair is squeaky clean
 January 31, 2014
"This shampoo is the first one I have used in about 30 years that actually gets my hair squeaky clean. All the shampoos used to get hair squeaky clean when I was young but in about the 80's they started putting so many chemicals and fragrances in name brand shampoos that they started recommending using a stripping shampoo once a week to help get rid of the chemical buildup. None of this made any sense to me. Because of my severe chemical allergies I tried Dessert Essence and a pleasant side effect was that my hair is actually clean, no chemical buildup anymore. It makes my hair much fuller looking and easier to style. I also don't have to clean and scrub the shower anymore like I used to. The shower just doesn't get the chemical buildup and soap scum anymore like it used to with all the other brands I've tried. Dessert Essence shampoo does not have any noticeable odor at all. Also, I used to loose a lot of hair with name brand shampoos from the department store. All my excess hair loss has stopped and I no longer plug up the drain when I wash my hair. I also use the shampoo as a shower gel and shave my legs with it. The skin on my legs does not dry out since I started using Dessert Essence shampoo for my whole body. I have used this shampoo for 2 years and am completely satisfied with it. This is absolutely the best shampoo I have ever found."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maestus
fromLondon, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Probably the best shampoo I have ever used!
 January 27, 2014
"I love this shampoo! After trying out the no-poo method for a couple of months, and then swapping shampoo for Bronner's soap (which dried out my hair) I tried this Dessert Essence shampoo since it's very natural, fragrance free, vegan and cruelty-free! YAY! And it is truly amazing - a little does go a long way, my coarse thick hair feels light-weight, soft and silky! There is no perfume, but there's a light fresh scent to it and it lathers really nicely. Outstanding product! Now I want to try the conditioner from the same line :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fantastic!
 December 29, 2013
"I have very long, very fine colored hair. I need all the volume boost I can get but buying a product that has very little or no scent as in this case is important to me as well as natural ingredients and no harm to animals. This is a winning product as are all of Desert Essences products.HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Also, you need very little,less than a dime."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cattyforina
fromPortland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Foaming Action
 December 8, 2013
"I like this shampoo a lot. It suds up well and makes my hair feel clean and my hair is looking good. Also, it's organic and inexpensive. Can't beat that!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goosie
fromVista, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Silky hair
 November 2, 2013
"Makes my hair so clean and soft. Highly recommend it."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nesma
fromAbu Dhabi
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!
 August 18, 2013
"This shampoo is the best I've eve used! it cleans my hair without drying it out, little goes along way & it lathers up nicely I also noticed that my hair was feeling lighter & didn't fall as much as it did before. I also love that it's fragrance free so whenever I want to use hair styling oil I enjoy it;s true scent. I highly recommend this shampoo as well as the conditioner."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
heatherlea
fromdripping springs, tx
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
at last, fragrance free and luxurious too
 June 26, 2013
"after searching, researching and trying oodles of brands and, even, base soaps, i have found desert essence organic fragrance free shampoo. i got the heads up from a friend on planet thrive, a website for chemically sensitive folks. i am not claiming that this will work for all canaries (those with m.c.s.--multiple chemical sensitivities) because we all have different levels of tolerance. for me, for now, it works. and let me tell you, a little goes a long way. the organic oils make luxurious suds so that i even use it as a body wash."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LittleMom1
fromShrewsbury, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
cleans well and I love the no fragrance feature
 April 22, 2013
"I have been using this product for several months and I love it. It cleans well, the price is good and I love the no fragrance feature. I will continue to buy this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
magsirish
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this stuff
 April 10, 2013
"This shampoo is awesome. Free of nasty chemicals that were polluting (well, everything) it leaves my hair softer than it's been in some time. I have well water filled with tanins (organic matter) and other shampoos just added "stuff" on top of the residue my shampoo was leaving. Desert Essence removes all the build-up and leaves my hair clean and feeling great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SingerD
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not as advertised
 March 29, 2013
"Used once, smelled strange and left hair greasy, re-read ingredients listed on vitacost site, compared to bottle, they're different. Was given a refund. I'm VERY picky about ingredients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Organics Fragrance Free Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissQ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 11, 2013
"Greatest fragrance free shampoo I have ever used. My hair is very soft and manageable after every use."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next