Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3

All-One Hemp Lavender Pure-Castile Soap. Made with Organic Oils. In support of sustainable agriculture farmworker health and ecological processing methods Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap has sourced certified organic oils that meet Dr. Bronner’s rigorous quality and supply requirements. By keeping our margins tight we are pleased to offer soaps made from organic oils for a relatively small increase in price. Thank you for supporting organic farming and a healthy environment. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age. Label printed w/Soy Ink on Vanguard Ecoblend™ from Living Paper Co. (25% Hemp/75% Post-Consumer Recycled Paper).
Overall rating:
4.842 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soapsniffer
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Dr Bronner rules the world of soap
 August 1, 2013
"The 3 pack is a great deal on this 100% organic product. The bars last a long time and everyone loves lavender."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FBZT
frommemphsis
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Calm & Clean
 June 24, 2013
"Great soap with calming lavender scent. Usually use unscented soaps due allergies but this not a problem with this soap."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spunkster
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 September 25, 2010
"I use this fragrance with Eucalyptus to make laundry detergent. The fragrance combination and result is fabulous!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
red2472
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
love this soap
 September 20, 2010
"I love this soap..no complaints!! I always buy this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
belana69
fromWI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr. Bronner's is great!
 August 23, 2010
"We have tried many different types of this soap, and they are all good! It has a great smell, nice lather, and comes in a big bar that lasts a while."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pbobsr
fromtennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great for soap & beyond
 February 11, 2010
"I love this soap. I use it in the shower and I make laundry soap out of it also. This soap has its own documentary."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
topcritic
My favorite soap so far!
 January 29, 2010
"I have been using Kiss My Face Soaps, but recently tried Dr. Bonner's Lavender bar soap -- it is WONDERFUL. It has a creamy lather and smells fantastic. It is now my favorite bar soap. You really should try it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissDLB
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Nice!
 December 11, 2009
"Purchased these in different scents and like all of them. No harsh chemical smells, cleans well. Good value so will continue buying them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oliverocks
fromPortland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
lovely smell
 December 7, 2009
"This soap has a nice lavender smell, not overpowering. The bars are big and last awhile. It doesn't strip the skin and it leaves my skin soft and clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CCMGardner
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I really like this product
 October 6, 2009
"All the Dr Bronner's soaps are very nice. When I take a shower it seems like the soap even softens the bottom of my feet so I don't have to scrape them as much."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moppyo
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love Dr. Bronners Soaps!
 October 4, 2009
"I only use soaps approved by the EWG. The Lavender is wonderful authentic scent and the price is great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frankiecuz
fromNYC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 September 12, 2009
"dr. bronners soaps are gr8, but they dont last long at all. one bar lasted me about 3 weeks."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lyra
Pure, mild, and does not leave soap scum.
 February 15, 2009
"All of the Bronner bar soaps are excellent, but if you like a clean lavender scent, this is an excellent choice. I have actually used this to clean the shower stall and it works marvelously."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
heyheyyeah
Probably won't purchase again.
 February 5, 2009
"I liked the quality of the soap over-all, but the bar only lasted about 2 weeks with one use per day. Definitely not a bargain and probably won't buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CeCeO
fromca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love this soap
 September 6, 2008
"Clean, fresh and organic. Gotta love the lavender scent!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mariposa
fromSan Luis Obispo County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Gentle Yet Effective on Oily Skin
 July 8, 2008
"My husband has very oily, sensitive skin. Dr. Bronner's Lavender Bar Soap really "cuts" through the oil but doesn't irritate his skin. He has been using this soap for several years and won't use any other."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps All-One Hemp Pure-Castile Soap Lavender -- 5 oz Each / Pack of 3
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product