Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs

  Spiru-Tein Whey is an incredibly delicious rich creamy shake designed to energize your life! Spiru-Tein Whey is packed with the same high powered profile of vitamins minerals diet aids enzymes spirulina and fiber classic Spiru-Tein yielding great-tasting energy enhancing shakes that support total health and vitality.
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Review 1 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flchik
fromFL
Age:45-54
Great
 January 15, 2014
"I've been using this for several years. I'm not a breakfast person so I make a smoothie with almond milk and ice in the blender for a minute. Perfect!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crossfit57
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Spiru-Tein Whey Protein
 March 31, 2013
"This is an good tasting product. I purchased it for the first time from the other reviews. I was looking for an inexpensive vanilla protein to mix with plain, cooked oatmeal and fresh fruit in the morning. It tastes great and mixes well. This is perfect protein supplement to start your day with breakfast or as a shake during the day. I have not tried it as an after workout shake.
The downside is that it is a little sweeter than other protein powders (8 grams of sugar) and has 10 grams of carbs compared to my usual brand. This is why I use Spiru-Tein every other day to keep my weight in check. You can even use half a scoop to cut down on the sugars and carbs. It is full of vitamins and minerals which is a plus. I do prefer my usual brand as an after workout shake though."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lou1131
fromDuluth, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for low cal shakes!
 March 31, 2013
"I love making banana and vanilla shakes with this mix as well as cherry almond shakes and raspberry vanilla shakes. This mix tastes great and has a nice think consistancy...which I LOVE!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
horseygal
frommissouri
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product & lowest price I've found!
 August 23, 2012
"This makes the best milkshakes with delicious flavor & lots of protien. Good for when one doesn't have time to prepare breakfast or lunch. You can add any kind of fruit or whatever and be on you way. Satisfies for a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JPRooski
fromAkron, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product
 July 15, 2012
"This one really is the best tasting. It also seems to fill you up longer than the other drinks."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jsf1
Excellent Choice
 May 1, 2012
"Makes great smoothies and tastes delicious! Mixes well with all kinds of fruits and greens."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
madeliza
fromManorville, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious and Nutritious!
 March 22, 2012
"Yes, something can taste good and be good for you too! This protein shake tastes so good that my kids are always asking for one. It's really good with 8 oz of milk, a couple of ice cubes, and if you have a handful of strawberries, add them in the blender too! Great for breakfast, after gym workout, or whenever! LOVE it!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cams
fromsanta monica, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:30-60 days
Need Larger size
 September 30, 2010
"This product is very good, but not available in a larger size.. do not know why."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nugget
fromWinchester VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best protein powder hands down
 August 25, 2010
"This is the most delicious protein powder out there.Most of them I find yukky, but this one tastes so good, it's addictive! Mixes up nice and smooth, without a bunch of lumps(I hate the lumps you get with other powders!), rich and creamy. I make mine with heavy cream and a little water for low carb, and eat it as dessert. Fabulous!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caligal
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tastes Good - Meets Many RDVs
 May 24, 2010
"I'm using this as a meal and vitamin replacement of sorts. If you aren't into eggs and get tired of meat, this is a more tolerable way to get in your protein.
I recently learned that the body can only digest a certain amount of protein in one sitting. You apparently may "get rid of" the rest which may produce an ammonia-like odor. Reducing my serving to a half scoop per cup of milk immediately resolved this problem.
I am mindful now that excluding vitamins attained from regular food, just one scoop of this stuff covers 100% RDA of many nutrients.
Unless I have something with it, like a piece of toast, I don't find that it markedly curbs my appetite any better than drinking any other beverage with a piece of food. I find drinking this shake does nothing one way or the other in the way of energy.
What it is for me is a good way to get many needed nutrients I'd prefer not to take in pill form. I've been using about a month and a half."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sue5
fromca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 21, 2010
"Bought it for my 21yr old son and he loves it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
apotter26
fromSpringfield, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good breakfast shake
 March 27, 2010
"Nothing spectacular happens when I drink this in the morning. I just drink it because of the protein. I do get hungry in about 2-3 hours other than that, this is a good breakfast drink to add to smoothies. For the price and the amount it is worth it. If you are looking for something with more of a kick, then this isn't the product for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BzGardener
Doesn't mix smoothly
 December 4, 2009
"I much prefer the vanilla SPIRU-TEIN over the vanilla SPIRU-TEIN Whey. The vanilla flavor is good but the whey doesn't mix as smoothly as the soy. The vanilla whey doesn't produce the thick, smooth texture as the soy Spiru-tein."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stealthycat
fromRunning Trail
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Nutrition
 October 9, 2009
"I love Spirutein's whey product. I tried to drink the soy product, but have an adverse reaction to soy. I also believe that whey protein is easier to absorb and used by the body. I also love how complete the nutrition is."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
deborahraj
Excellent as baby formula
 August 27, 2009
"My son is intolerant of milk AND soy, but this whey works wonderfully. This has all he needs and has much better nutrients than formula. I wish I would have found this for my first baby! I weaned t hem at 9mo and all the problems began. When I found Spirutein, all problems were solved!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoveOrganic
fromClearwater, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Superb Energy Booster
 May 24, 2009
"This product is the best for giving you energy. The vanilla flavor is delicious. I add frozen banana, blueberries and strawberries, and flax seeds and I have a delicious drink that keeps me flying with energy for four hours. Have been using this smoothie in am for 15 years. You won't be sorry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RM686
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
GREAT TASTING
 January 31, 2009
"I am on a medically supervised diet. I have tried a number of protein shakes and this one is the best tasting. Also the nutrional values are the same or better than other products. When asked, my doctor uses this product even though she sells another brand."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpikeChi
fromChicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein Whey Vanilla
 September 24, 2008
"My family uses this product for our weight-loss program. The spriulina in the product helps to suppress your appettite while supplying some vitamin supplements as well. The taste is good and the consistency of the shake is of a pudding. But, you can still use a straw to drink it. We mix it with half water and half milk to address the consistency issue."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nature's Plus Spiru-Tein® Whey Shake Vanilla -- 1.05 lbs
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product