Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Specialty Formulas or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz

All Natural. Super Concentrated. Great-Tasting. Ideal Winter Support  Sambucus nigra L. is the Latin name for Black Elder. The dark blue/black berries of this plant have many naturally-occurring nutritional substances such as Rutin Quercetin (flavonoids) and Anthocyanins. Current research supports the long held beliefs about Elderberry's health benefits on the body. Elderberry syrup has been traditionally used to help support the immune system especially during the winter season or when experiencing extra stress.  . An added advantage to the use of Elderberry is its record of safety for all ages. When deciding on an Elderberry liquid remember to check the kind of sweetener it contains. Many brands add sugar or sorbitol while Nature's Answer's Sambucus nigra L. contains only pure extract and vegetable glycerin.
Overall rating:
4.675 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
37 out of 40(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chepibe
fromkissimmee florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
very good
 June 4, 2014
"very helpfull"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jkoerner
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product is purely elderberry, and tastes good
 December 26, 2013
"We used to make this ourselves at home, but this product is so convenient, doesn't include added sugars, and does such a good job that I have been buying it for two years. Vitacost has the best price on this product by a couple dollars compared to my area. We love this product and I always buy a couple bottles because I end up sharing it so often!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
taylors
fromGa
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
never without Sambuchus
 October 2, 2013
"This product is a standby for family members when the drainage starts and coughing is hard. Sambuchus thins out the muchus and reduces the coughing. Can't do without it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xkp203
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent product with great price
 September 19, 2013
"I was getting the smaller version of same product at local chain vitamin store for more than double the price. I use it for supplemental reasons, but frankly- it tastes so good it's become a staple in my tea on a daily basis.
I highly recommend this product and if you get anywhere, it should be here. It will save you A LOT of money!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
milkyfamily
fromCordova, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes Fine
 April 23, 2013
"Haven't used this long enough to tell how effective it is, but the taste is fine. In the past we have used Nature's Way and this tastes just as good. Not sure why so many people think this tastes bad."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MomsNickname
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Get ahead of your cold!
 April 16, 2013
"I give this to my children when they feel like they're getting a cold, along with vitamin C, and it really seems to make a difference. I take it myself if I'm feeling a little under the weather."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeachedGypsy
fromMB, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works well and tastes good
 April 13, 2013
"This is easy to take and helps to keep the immune system working well through pollen allergy season."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TLJk
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great immune booster
 March 25, 2013
"My husband and I take this every morning from fall to early summer and its been a great sourse for an immune booster for us. I highly recommend this to everyone!!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skibug
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
antiviral
 March 22, 2013
"I always keep a bottle on hand so when I get the first signs that I am catching a cold I take it and I believe it helps me nip it in the bud. Even if I do get sick I am over it in 4 or 5 days."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nanzee3
fromNew Orleans
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
good enough
 March 5, 2013
"This isn't my favorite tasting brand of Sambucus, but it did seem to shorten the length and severity of my last cold. I've been giving it to my teenage son daily, who is on his third cold of the season and his symptoms seem milder, too. I thought the price was very reasonable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shellie
fromVirginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Aids recovery
 February 26, 2013
"We take this at the onset of an illness. My alternative medicine
specialist recommends 1 Tbsp. 4 X day for about 3 days. It has
been a good product for us.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elspeth
fromGreenup, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good winter supplement
 November 29, 2012
"Good value, great taste. Bought as an additional supplement for winter time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wealthyinhealth
works fine but tastes awful
 November 11, 2012
"I have been using elderberry extracts for many years, and have tried many brands and this one by far tastes the worst. It seems to work just as well as the others but the taste is just awful. I tried this brand because it was cheaper than the others but I will be spending a little more next time to get something that doesn't make me gag."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rphito
fromGlen Allen, Va.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 November 9, 2012
"The product has a full 5000mg of Black Elderberry extract per teaspoonful. I have seen lesser products with only 50 mg. Taste is OK too. I use it during the winter months/ flu season and usually stay well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
STWAH
fromMANHASSET, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
The best!
 September 27, 2012
"My mom gets these cough irritation - the only thing that works for her like a charm. Really fast acting!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Charlienyc
 September 16, 2012
"I tried this product to hold off a cold and it doesn't seem to work as well as other sambucus products. In addition, the bottles are deficient and dribble making a mess every time you use it. It is not just one bottle. I had one bottle at work and one at home and both did it and I spoke to someone and hers did the same. Someone decided to really cheap out. I wouldn't buy it again because it makes such as mess every time you use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DUBY
fromSan Diego area
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very good
 September 5, 2012
"Great to sweeten your tea and add nourishment at the same time!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
alpine1
fromGreenville, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Usually a good product
 July 11, 2012
"The last time I ordered Sambucus from Vitacost, the extract was not its usual dark purplish color. Instead it was brown and did not taste like it normally tastes. It had a different odor, also. I believe something was wrong with the batch. I wrote to Nature's Answer, and they sent me a replacement bottle which was excellent. I am a little hesitant to order more from Vitacost as I do not know if I would get a bottle from the same batch. It is expensive to have to wash down the drain."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
matrium007
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Good
 January 31, 2012
"This is rather nice tasting I have to admit. In fact it taste so good you actually look forward to taking it several times per day. Great quality product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Answer Sambucus nigra Black Elder Berry Extract -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
agile
fromNE
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
boost immune system
 October 26, 2011
"really helps me during winter"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next