Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs

Premium Post-Workout Recovery Formula. 40 g of Whey Protein Blend Featuring Whey Protein Isolates and Hydolysates. 40 g of Carbohydrates. Only 5 g of Sugar. 5 g of L-Glutamine and Glutamine Peptides. 5 g of Creapure Creatine. Enhanced with Taurine Aminogen and Carbogen. 22 Vitamins and Essential Minerals. Optimum Nutrition's After Max is a comprehensive post-workout powder that establishes a foundation for accelerated recovery and serious muscle growth. This state-of-the-art recovery formula supplies a superior blend of 40 grams of the highest quality proteins with rapidly digesting carbohydrates free form amino acids and 22 vitamins and essential minerals including antioxidants and electrolytes. After Max also provides 5 grams of Creapure brand Creatine Monohydrate over 5 grams of Glutamine from L-Glutamine Glutamine Peptides and When Protein 1 gram of Taurine and enzyme systems to help maximize post-workout recovery.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Review 1 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockinTN
fromKnoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Excellent!!!
 February 9, 2013
"This is a great after workout shake with plenty of added supps. Also taste great and mixes very good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rellik
fromSteger IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Quick Recovery
 May 27, 2011
"So this is my first review after buying from Vita cost for a few months now. After Max is prob the best after workout Protein sup I have taken. I can go to the gym 6/7 days a week for 2-3hours and be giving 110% the next day for w/e workout i will be doing. I personally like the Vanilla, but have had the Chocolate too and they both taste great. I was actually surprised that a post workout protein drink could actually be effective in recovery time and taste awesome at the same time. After Max also mixes very well, you don't get any chunks of goo like you may experience with some other products. What I also recently started doing was mixing in my Creatine with my protein and it has a smooth mix to it so it's not just all at the bottom and you get that nasty last gulp in."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
Nutrex Research Hemo-Rage Black™ Pre-Workout Detonator Bruisin' Berry -- 2 lbs
3.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeanProtein
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great after workout solution
 September 25, 2010
"Mixes very easy, good taste, minimal bloat feeling, seems very effective. I take ON Pro Complex in the mornings, and ON After Max immediately after workout. I've noticed gains in strength and huge gains in recovery time. Very satisfied with this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimJ
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
THE Best Protein/Recovery Drink Ever!
 August 5, 2010
"I first read about this product in a men's fitness magazine and could only find it at VitaCost. If you want a recovery drink mix that tastes good, will help you build muscle mass/weight, and shorten your workout recovery time, this is the one. Have only ordered the Vanilla Ice Cream and have been using this product for at least 4 years."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nitrex
fromaz
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
5 stars!
 February 13, 2010
"Mixes easily in the blender bottle or in smoothies w/ no chalky taste. Great post workout energy boost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
varionfury
fromHampton, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Just what the body needs
 May 13, 2009
"This is the best thing if you workout hard and consistently. It calms that "after workout" hunger. Mix before you leave and drink in the locker room after your workout."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bigfootinindiana
fromIndiana, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Another Great ON product, but...
 February 26, 2009
"It contains acesulfame K. And the cost per serving is up there. ON products are hard to beat though and this one is no exception. Amazing recovery even after hour long extreme plyo sessions. Now if they could just make a Natural version...."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mkristo
fromNewport News, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Superb Recovery Mix
 February 19, 2009
"Tastes great, mixes well, and provides what I need after an intense workout at the gym or a grueling two to three hours playing table tennis. Anyone who engages in physical activity should get this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DANGUIRUBIN
fromACTON,CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
AIN'T GOING BACK TO ANY OTHER POST WO DRINK
 November 23, 2008
"THIS PRODUCT DOES DESERVE TO BE CALLED POST WO DRINK,IT GIVES ME THE RESULTS I WANTED PLUS MORE POWER LIFTNG COMBINED WITH AWESOME MUSCLE DEVELOPING, IS REALLY PROVIDING ME WITH A GREAT LEAN MUSCLE GAIN."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mpsfa80
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Tastes great.
 November 6, 2008
"Reminds me of Muscle Milk. Good stuff."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimDawg
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent Recovery Drink Mix
 September 9, 2008
"I work out 6 days a week for at least 1 1/2 hours a day and have tried different recovery drink mixes over the years. This one is by far the best tasting and most satisfying drink mix I've ever tried. The one think I especially like about it is it has Creatine in the mix, therefore alleviating the need to do a separate Creatine drink."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Optimum Nutrition After Max® Vanilla Ice Cream -- 4.27 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
geoffz
Great product
 September 9, 2008
"Bought this product after reading a recommendation in Men's Health. Seems effective. Tastes pretty good. Easy to use."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.