Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz

For All Type of Natural and Color-Treated Hair. Strong Hold and Non-Drying Sculpting Control. You will love the fortifying wheat protein B vitamins and antioxidant protection with non-drying sculpting control for healthy styled hair. Enriched with herbal extracts botanical oils and plant proteins without any of the ingredients that can be harmful to your hair.  . Made with Sage (Salvia officinalis) this fragrant herb offers antioxidant protection for healthy manageable hair. Patented Green Tea extract delivers concentrated polyphenols for potent antioxidant defense to protect hair against sun and environmental damage and reduce color fading.
Overall rating:
4.456 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
2
58 out of 68(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Too heavy
 May 18, 2016
" THis gel left my hair feeling like a steel wool pad plus it is impossible to comb out. Very disappointed "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWynantskill, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Safe ingredients
 April 30, 2016
" My kindergartener decided to grow his hair longer and now likes to comb it and gel it into different styles. I am happy to let him do that with this gel. It holds his style throughout the day and has safe ingredients that I am comfortable letting my son use. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromatlanta, ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Better somewhat Nontoxic alternative
 April 18, 2016
" I bought this product for my hubby who I am trying to slowly change over to nontoxic items. This is a healthier option that will still hold his hair. I like that it's fragrance free amongst other things. Of course his hold up is the price compared to junky, cheapy L.A. Looks. So this is a good compromise. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKenosha, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is great hair gel
 April 16, 2016
" I was looking for a completely fragrance-free and safe hair gel. I have extreme fragrance allergies but I still need something that will work. The gel I used was gone and could no longer find it and I was on the hunt for a new one. I found this hair gel from Alba Botanica and I absolutely love it! As a matter of fact I am so happy it is now my go-to hair gel forever. It is truly fragrance-free with great ingredients and great hold! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 April 14, 2016
" Very firm gel, only need a little.my husband & I share it. I have chemical sensitivity severe, and it has no fragrance!!! Great product, no flake or build up. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTallahassee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good product
 April 11, 2016
" I tried a lot of "all natural" styling gels (which were awful), then I found Jason's flaxseed gel, which I really like. When re-ordering Jason's, I came across this Alba product which was on sale, so I thought I'd give it a try. It is not gloppy like so many of the gels I do not like, and it holds well, too. It did not make my hair stiff, which was a criticism I read in other reviews about this Alba gel. I would definitely recommend this product! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOhio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works!
 March 25, 2016
" No smell. No flakes. Works well with my sons short curly hair "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really helps my hair curl up
 February 19, 2016
" Very happy with this product. It helps my hair curl up much more than other products I have used in the past. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromShepherdsville, Kentucky
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product
 December 25, 2015
" Just love this stuff...first, I have to use all fragrance free products plus I have fine hair that requires a little help to give it some body and this product is truly fragrance free and does the job in giving me the body I need and the hold after styling and spraying. To top it all off it brushes out leaving your hair soft with no stiff sticky feel afterward. Great product!!! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNixa MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product!
 November 17, 2015
" I got this for my Son to use. We are trying to eliminate toxic chemicals from our personal products. This is a great gel, and is very stiff. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for long curly hair
 November 12, 2015
" This product is great for long curly hair. I use about a dime size amount along with a smidge of the soft curling cream on my thick curly hair and then let it air dry. I get beautiful soft curls without frizz! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMarfa, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great gel for fine, thin hair!
 October 19, 2015
" A strong hold, indeed! Love that it is paraben free. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromVirginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fragrance free but many other issues...
 July 7, 2015
" I have curly hair and am a fragrance-free (perfumes) person, so I bought this product to give it a try and see how it did holding my curls. The label should say "holds like glue" because it will make your hair extremely stiff! I use no more than a nickel size in my hand at a time and dilute it with water usually, and still end up with stiff, waxy, greasey hair. I like the product in that it is scent and dye free (and doesn't give off that chemical smell either), however I will not be purchasing this one again once it is gone. If you are needing a stiff hold, this is your product, otherwise leave this one on the shelf and spend your money elsewhere. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromUpstate, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is great!
 June 18, 2015
" I have very curly unruly hair. I have spent thousands of dollars on products for my curly hair...and the Alba products are the ones I am happiest with. I, just last week, spent 200 on a different line that is designed for curly hair...and after experimenting...I wound up going back to Alba. I use the leave in, then the soft hold cream.....then I scrunch this in the ends..and voila...perfect curls and limited frizz! I am going on vacation to the Mediterranean in two weeks...and these are the products I am bringing! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Absolutely love this gel!
 May 6, 2015
" This is a wonderful product. Got a really short haircut after having a severe allergic reaction to sodium lauryl sufates, I was concerned when I read the ingredients on the gels available in the stores. Found this at Vitacost and I've never looked back. Love that it's a natural product. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gel
 January 17, 2015
" I like cruelty free and no animal ingredients. Keeps style in place. Doesn't really keep hair hard. Keeps hair styled and lightweight. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMurfreesboro, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best product I've found
 January 14, 2015
" I have fine thin hair that lays flat. I've used hundreds of products over the last 50 years to give fullness and shine to my hair. I've finally found it. I put it in wet hair and blow dry - a few flicks of the curling iron and I'm done. And, it lasts for 2-3 days. I am one happy lady. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromSan Diego
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I wanted to like this gel but.....
 October 26, 2014
" Depending on how wet your hair is when you apply this gel you get waxy white flakes. It's VERY thick so you would think you would need to cut it with a little water. So for me some days were OK others were nothing but frizz. I might still try to keep working with it but I doubt I'll order it agian. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromGranite Bay, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for my curls.
 August 7, 2014
" Like the company and the natural ingredients so purchased hoping it would work for my long curly hair. I used it in conjunction with their leave in conditioner. It resulted in no curls and a lot of frizz. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWisconsin
good hold
 August 6, 2014
" I must search for products that not only give good results, but do not cause my scalp to bleed because I react to many chemicals. It is disappointing how many organic brands cause scalp sores. This product words well and does not hurt me. The best so far. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next