Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Styling Products or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz

For All Type of Natural and Color-Treated Hair. Strong Hold and Non-Drying Sculpting Control. You will love the fortifying wheat protein B vitamins and antioxidant protection with non-drying sculpting control for healthy styled hair. Enriched with herbal extracts botanical oils and plant proteins without any of the ingredients that can be harmful to your hair.  . Made with Sage (Salvia officinalis) this fragrant herb offers antioxidant protection for healthy manageable hair. Patented Green Tea extract delivers concentrated polyphenols for potent antioxidant defense to protect hair against sun and environmental damage and reduce color fading.
Overall rating:
4.393 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
47 out of 56(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
PROCURE
fromVirginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fragrance free but many other issues...
 July 7, 2015
"I have curly hair and am a fragrance-free (perfumes) person, so I bought this product to give it a try and see how it did holding my curls. The label should say "holds like glue" because it will make your hair extremely stiff! I use no more than a nickel size in my hand at a time and dilute it with water usually, and still end up with stiff, waxy, greasey hair. I like the product in that it is scent and dye free (and doesn't give off that chemical smell either), however I will not be purchasing this one again once it is gone. If you are needing a stiff hold, this is your product, otherwise leave this one on the shelf and spend your money elsewhere."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuzRene
fromUpstate, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is great!
 June 18, 2015
"I have very curly unruly hair. I have spent thousands of dollars on products for my curly hair...and the Alba products are the ones I am happiest with. I, just last week, spent 200 on a different line that is designed for curly hair...and after experimenting...I wound up going back to Alba. I use the leave in, then the soft hold cream.....then I scrunch this in the ends..and voila...perfect curls and limited frizz! I am going on vacation to the Mediterranean in two weeks...and these are the products I am bringing!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Absolutely love this gel!
 May 6, 2015
"This is a wonderful product. Got a really short haircut after having a severe allergic reaction to sodium lauryl sufates, I was concerned when I read the ingredients on the gels available in the stores. Found this at Vitacost and I've never looked back. Love that it's a natural product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eliooo
Gel
 January 17, 2015
"I like cruelty free and no animal ingredients. Keeps style in place. Doesn't really keep hair hard. Keeps hair styled and lightweight."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lizzietish43
fromMurfreesboro, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best product I've found
 January 14, 2015
"I have fine thin hair that lays flat. I've used hundreds of products over the last 50 years to give fullness and shine to my hair. I've finally found it. I put it in wet hair and blow dry - a few flicks of the curling iron and I'm done. And, it lasts for 2-3 days. I am one happy lady."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
SDnative
fromSan Diego
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I wanted to like this gel but.....
 October 26, 2014
"Depending on how wet your hair is when you apply this gel you get waxy white flakes. It's VERY thick so you would think you would need to cut it with a little water. So for me some days were OK others were nothing but frizz. I might still try to keep working with it but I doubt I'll order it agian."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Zenfull
fromGranite Bay, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for my curls.
 August 7, 2014
"Like the company and the natural ingredients so purchased hoping it would work for my long curly hair. I used it in conjunction with their leave in conditioner. It resulted in no curls and a lot of frizz."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bethan
fromWisconsin
good hold
 August 6, 2014
"I must search for products that not only give good results, but do not cause my scalp to bleed because I react to many chemicals. It is disappointing how many organic brands cause scalp sores. This product words well and does not hurt me. The best so far."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetsunshine
fromma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent find
 May 19, 2014
"Considering this is a non-toxic product it has great hold and gives my curly hair great definition."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrrd
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Strong Hold
 May 14, 2014
"This gel is strong enough that not much is needed. It also allows restyling the next day with just spraying a little water on it - with no need to add more gel."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
imjk
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very good product
 April 23, 2014
"You need only a small amount and it does the job. I like how my hair holds, often don't even need a hair spray."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zsmommy
fromMedford, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for curly hair
 April 23, 2014
"My husband has very curly hair which is fairly long. He is very picky about what products he uses and really likes this gel. His hair always looks really nice."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
VictoriaR
Dries out curly hair, makes it feel like straw
 March 12, 2014
"I had high hopes, but alas this was a miss for me. I have wavy/curly hair, and this stuff had a firm hold but it left my hair feeling like straw. It totally dries it out and leaves white flakes."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jusNic
fromPortland OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 December 14, 2013
"This is an excellent hair product that provides great hold. I have curly hair and it keeps my curls in check. No smell which is great for my sensitive nose. All natural too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miza115
fromPennsylvania
Gender:Female
Great Product
 October 27, 2013
"I searched long to find a gel that is sulfate and paraben free to use on my curly hair. It is wonderful and holds my curls perfectly. I love the fact that is a product free of these chemicals."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CARosie
fromSan Luis Obispo, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product works great, not stiff or sticky.
 August 24, 2013
"I have fine lightly curly hair and this product helps to keep my hair curly all day long and free from frizzing. The next morning I can just wet my hair and scrunch it to get another day of curls without adding any more gel. I just comb out my hair with a pick and have nice soft curls."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Riverstar
Didn't do much for curly hair
 August 17, 2013
"Its just a basic gel. It has rave reviews elsewhere on the internet, but I didn't get it. Also contains PVP."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stayhappy7
Awesome and clean
 July 31, 2013
"This gel is the best gel I have used in my 40 years of life. It is clean and pure and does not weigh you down and best of all it holds strong for a cool and stylish hairdo. I can't say enough. This is the only gel I buy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
V123
fromWashington, DC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good hair gel but not perfect -- leaves residue
 July 23, 2013
"I like but don't love this product. I certainly like that it comes without all the perfumes and other things of my typical drugstore pick, but it can leave quite a bit of residue on my hair even after washing. It is a tad sticky (not too much) and can get crunchy. Overall a solid hair gel but not the best I've ever tried."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alba Botanica™ Style Hair Gel Strong Hold Fragrance Free -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ConZ
fromIndianapolis
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great fragrance-free hair gel for frizzy gray hair
 July 12, 2013
"This is Certified cruelty free,fragrance-free and clear soft control product. Just what I have been looking for. I will buy again!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next