Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Shaving & Hair Removal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz

NEW More Moisturizing. Unscented. Extra Conditioning. For Sensitive Skin. Hypoallergenic. Give sensitive skin the unscented shave it craves. Alba Botanica Very Emollient™ Cream Shave features a natural soap-free formula packed with rich botanical emollients for a smooth conditioning shave. Enriched with aloe era chamomile lavender and vitamin E this concentrated hydro-active cream maximizes water absorption to help fight dryness and chaffing. The result is effortless razor glide and a comfortably close conditioned shave with less irritation.
Overall rating:
4.13 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
20 out of 23(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
AbbyB
Worst shave product
 January 23, 2014
"You only need a drop of this shave cream, but no matter how little you use, the thick and gummy product will clog your razor with the first swipe and will not rinse off. Definitely recommend their amazing shave foam over this; a true miss."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GK56
fromHouston, TX.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Alba Botanica Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing
 December 6, 2013
"My husband definitely likes this product.
He would buy again and he would recommend to his friends.
It leathers nicely and leaves the skin smooth and moisturized after shaving.
It's definitely a keeper.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
vegucated
fromSan Francisco
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Feels good but ruins razors
 October 29, 2013
"This product feels wonderful on the skin and the way it glides on is dreamy. The problem is it quickly ruins your razors and makes the hair stick inside the blades permanently in a creamy cement. I can't rinse the blades clean anymore, and have tried shoving things in to try and get the hair out to little avail, so I have to use the razors much less and the shave gets less effective as you proceed. If I shave my right leg, I know my left leg will be harder to get the hairs cut, and so on, until it's impossible to use the (even with new) razor and it stops shaving. I probably won't purchase again as this product does not rinse clean, but it does moisturize and prevent razor bumps. Since razors are expensive, using this is like throwing away money. Too bad!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kimmelmcd
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product.
 July 31, 2013
"Only takes a little, but it sure helps get a smooth, close shave. My husband uses it on his face; we use it on our legs. The other scents are great too EXCEPT for the mango. I think the enzymes in the mango are a problem. That scent causes my razor blades to fall apart and my daughter's blades in her disposable razor to fall OUT. NONE of the others scents are a problem though. They work great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lady818
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great in theory, but not in practice
 June 26, 2013
"I so wanted to love this cream shave based on the reviews & because of all the great ingredients, but for some reason it just isn't doing it for me. To start off with, it is truly unscented which is great, feels really smooth & creamy, and glides onto the skin nicely. But not matter how little (a small dab) or how much I used, it clogged up my razors. I switched up razors just in case it was the razor and not the cream, but nothing changed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oliverocks
fromPortland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Thick and smooth
 May 11, 2013
"This is a great shave cream. Thick and not slippery. The consistency is actually cream-like and not like thin soap. The unscented version is a welcome addition as the scented Alba shave creams are too strong-smelling. I've tried other brands and always come back to this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tgib
fromOregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 1, 2013
"I have really enjoyed this product and will continue to use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bowser55
fromupper peninsula of mi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Husband Loves It!
 April 1, 2013
"My husband really likes this product. He says less is more, don't use to much or your blade will just glide over your whiskers. I like that it last a long time. It also helps prevent razor burn and my husband has a thick beard."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kaleidoscope
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Provides a close shave with no irritation
 March 22, 2013
"My boyfriend and I both use this. It provides a close shave with no irritation, even on the more sensitive areas. My legs appear to be more moisturized after use. I do find that I need to rinse my razor more often than I am used to. I love that this shave cream is truly unscented, as many unscented products tend to have a funky smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HippieBri
fromTennessee
smooth and clean shave
 March 12, 2013
"This is a very nice shaving lotion. It's formulated like a lotion but its very smooth like a cream. It doesn't lather but it still gives a nice lubrication for the blades. It is unscented so it doesn't cause any irritation. A little goes a long way, so the value and amount is good for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winnie5
fromTexas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 March 4, 2013
"Both my husband and I use this and love it. It's nice that its unscented for sensitive skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EmRC
fromBoston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Never getting anything else.
 February 7, 2013
"I LOVE THIS STUFF. For someone who typically uses natural/organic hygiene products, I never thought about shaving cream (who knows why). It occurred to me recently that I was using a Gillette shaving cream while it was surrounded in the shower by alba organics, avalon organics, etc products. So, I went on vitacost to find a replacement and found this and I am never going back. It is so rich in moisture and leaves my skin feeling so great that if I were short of time I wouldn't even feel the need to moisturize. I so highly recommend this product to anyone who either hasn't made the switch to a natural shaving cream or is looking for a new one. Also, a little goes a long way."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wittyone87
fromSpartanburg SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome shave creme
 February 24, 2011
"I have dry skin and it does not make it worse only better!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leanne
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Won't Purchase Again
 October 12, 2010
"I was disappointed in this product. I felt like I was using a cheap lotion; didn't seem to give me a very good shave and also takes a lot to do the job. I think it lacks the moisturizing qualities I was hoping for."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patti716
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good shave cream
 September 24, 2010
"So far, I have used this product a few weeks. No complaints. You did need to rinse the razor often. Works well, definitely has not irritated my skin. Also a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bjg2277
fromBoston,MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
good shaving cream
 August 31, 2010
"I tried Alba's aloe/mint shaving cream but it irritated my skin a little, but this unscented product has been great so far. It doesn't leave any scent on your skin and rinses away easily."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
StacyK42
fromSalem, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Rich, creamy shave
 September 20, 2009
"This shave cream is very thick. I tend to like mine on the thinner side. Overall it's effective and a decent buy, though. It does its job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrFood123
fromBoston
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smooth Shave
 September 16, 2009
"The botanicals in this product are great to keep sensitive skin in check. I use this on my face and I have not had razor burn or many ingrown hairs since I started. I highly recommend this product of men and women who seek an all natural, moisturizing shave product that really works!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Atrox
fromMiami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very smooth shave
 May 29, 2009
"This is a great shaving cream- closest shave I have gotten ever. Have to use sparingly and need to rinse razor a bit more than with some other shaving creams. Leaves skin very smooth and moisturized. One star off for containing some less-natural ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Alba Botanica™ Very Emollient Natural Moisturizing Cream Shave Unscented -- 8 fl oz
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product