Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars

  fucoPROTEIN Bars are delicious nutritious high protein dietary supplement bars containing fucoxanthin a natural non-stimulant thermogenic (fat burner) found in several types of marine vegetables (edible seaweed). The first high protein supplement bars to contain concentrated fucoxanthin fucoPROTEIN Bars support healthy metabolism and burn fat naturally.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
28 out of 32(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Review 1 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TSAZ
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Mid-day or Post-Workout
 July 31, 2014
"Intriguing mix of ingredients here. These are perfect for that well-placed snack or supplement. I like the taste, but don't love it- it does have quite the bitter bite to it, but I tend to like bitter and hearty over sweet.
I am certainly ordering more though the price is a bit up there. But, there really isn't much out there to compare too when you are serious about ingredients- sometimes the good stuff is going to cost more."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
catsandcats
fromHanover, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Terrible tasting product.
 April 29, 2014
"I was extremely disappointed with the taste of this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
suescorner
fromCarlsbad NM
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Protein Snack Option
 December 12, 2013
"I don't do grains well, and have many food sensitivities... and many of the protein bars on the market today have sugar alcohol as sweeteners or artificial... this is the best I've found for having such food sensitivities, and I can still have a healthy snack... yes, it's a little higher in natural sugar and carbs, but for a food sensitive person, it's the BEST option I've found."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lala8
fromcentral PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great bar!
 October 6, 2013
"I eat one of these bars just about everyday. They are satisfying and keep my blood sugar stable. Instead of eating a high calorie snack or meal, I just replace that with a bar and feel very satisfied. The bar is great with coffee too!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Struessel
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious energy snack
 September 5, 2013
"This bar is great tasting and good to take on the go,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cici1992
Age:18-24
 July 23, 2013
"I have been eating these bars for quite some time and I absolutely love them!!! They have large macadamia nuts in them, chocolate chips, and after eating them I get a nice burst of energy. I very much recommend this product to anyone who likes chocolate and does not want to feel guilty about a nice chocolatey treat!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dalynn255
fromGreen Bay, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Delicious & Filling
 May 20, 2013
"Pros: Filling, healthy, & delicious
Cons: Very cocoa tasting
I personally enjoy a heavy cocoa/chocolate taste so for me they were perfect. For anyone who doesn't like a heavy cocoa taste these probably would be too rich.
Overall I thought they tasted great and kept me feeling full.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NMS1
fromMcMurray, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Satisfying
 June 2, 2012
"I was looking for a high protein bar that was all natural. This bar fills the bill, but it is on the sweet side for me. There is still more grams of sugar than I like to eat in a bar. It tastes like a brownie and is chewy, although, there are very few nuts. I'd like to see Garden of Life creat another bar with less sugar/honey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
wellnessman1
fromSan Francisco area
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Very good addition to my food bar armamentarium
 March 26, 2012
"As a 12-year user and seeker of good meal replacement bars, I rarely add any to my lineup. This is an exception and will become a regular in my travel bag. Pluses include good chocolatey taste, what seem to be chocolate chips, and the macadamia nuts. However, the nuts are also the source of my major complaint. Since the nut bits are necessarily small, I imagine that Garden of Life buys leftover small bits from suppliers rather than breaking down whole or half nuts. The smaller the bits, the more the surface area; the more surface area, the more oxidation; the more oxidation, the more rancidity. I have detected at least some off taste in some of the nut bits in every bar. Better quality control through removing the yellow bits and keeping the whiter ones would eliminate this problem. I would also like to see a more Zone-friendly ratio of protein to carbs, which would involve kicking up the protein level by about 4 grams per bar. Overall, I'd give these bars an 88% rating."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
GJFOWLER
fromNorfolk VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
average at best
 February 19, 2012
"tastes ok
better items out there for smaller price
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
strive4excellence
Fantastic
 February 3, 2012
"These bars taste like a treat.
I love the fact that they have a lot of protein, and are light on the sugar...and they don't have that typical "protein bar taste."
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KittyKatgirl3
fromBellport, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent product!
 January 31, 2012
"I really love these nutritious food bars...good ingredients, good taste
and filling too! I take one with me so I'll always have something available for an 'emergency' snack or meal on the go.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tuliointl
good stuff
 January 17, 2012
"good stuff"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DDPR
fromKissimmee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Finally Back but Different
 December 3, 2011
"I'm glad this product is back after months of disappearing from sight. They are different now. People complained about it hardly having any mac. nuts. Now they have two regular size nuts but is it my imagination or does it have less of a chocolate taste now? Did they put less chocolate because of more nuts to make it the same calories? Am I nuts, lol? I liked it the old way better but it's still great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
talula381
fromGreen Bay, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Yum!
 May 8, 2010
"Super yummy! Has a slight "good for you taste" but you get used to it. Not sure why they call it mac nut because I didn't find a single one...but oh-well! Besides that...I love this bar...by far one of the best truly "good for you" meal bars out there. Look at the ingredients...WOW!...nothing weird! : )"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sharlynn
fromCentral California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great on the go snack
 April 16, 2010
"I am a busy person and need to have snacks that keep me satisfied and taste good. I like that there are nuts for the crunch and I think they taste good. I think those that like earthy tasting foods will enjoy this bar. If you like junk food, then don't bother. These bars work great for me and I will continue to eat and enjoy them!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taste:
1 / 5
1 / 5
loveandaffection
fromChicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not to my expectations
 November 26, 2009
"These bars were ok. The taste is really bland after you eat them you have to wash it down with water so you wont have that after taste in your mouth. I must confess that this was one product that took me by surprise. I am not a Dark Chocolate lover, but hey it does the job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DNAmom
fromTinley Park, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Yuck
 September 27, 2009
"Sorry but I got to tell it like it is. YUCK! I'm really not overweight but I have saddlebags and I would pay top dollar & still eat a product that tasted terrible but "burned fat." Well this tastes terrible & the saddlebags are still intact. Their was nothing macadamia about it either. I'm making myself eat them but I'm thinking about pitching the last 5 - no need to put myself thru that. Sorry, I wanted to like them. P.S. They should really remove the word macadamia."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HayleyC
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Super Chocolatey
 September 6, 2009
"The first bite, I thought I had made a mistake. By the time I finished that bite, I couldn't put the bar down and I have been craving them ever since. I let my mom try them too and she liked them as well. They are super chocolatey, but not sugary, so it is NOT like eating a big piece of chocolate cake. . . more like eating a very healthy meal that happens to taste like chocolate. I don't really notice the flavor of the macadamia nuts, but I like the crunch."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life fucoPROTEIN® High Protein Thermogenic Bars Chocolate with Macadamia Nuts -- 12 Bars
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TravelingGirl
fromNew Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Rich flavor and long-lasting satiation
 May 27, 2009
"I can see that not everyone is crazy about these bars, but I can tell you two things about me: I am a chocoholic (the darker the better) and I tend to binge eat.
I eat healthfully for the most part so I am accustomed to the slightly unusual taste and consistency that protein bars have. However, the chocolate macadamia crunch bars have an intense dark chocolate flavor and a chewy consistency, which I love.
Best of all -- and this is huge for me -- one bar will actually satisfy my craving to binge completely, and for hours. I take small bites so it lasts longer.
The calorie count is the same as a chocolate bar, but you will be doing your body a favor to eat this instead of traditional candy.
P.S. The peanut bars have about 30 less calories, but they do not satisfy the urge to binge."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next