Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Styling Products or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz

Non-Drying. Botanical Formula. BWC Natural Hold Spray provides styling hold without being stiff or sticky.  Botanical extracts of lavender ginseng cucumber and rosemary combined with pro-vitamin B-5 condition and protect your hair.  This gentle recipe holds without drying or stripping away natural hair oils.  Pure plant proteins and aloe vera add strength boy and shine. Never tested on animals.  No animal ingredients.
Overall rating:
4.263 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 19(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
DISCERNINGPURCHASER
fromNew Hampshire
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
DiscerningPurchaser
 May 18, 2014
"I gave this product 3 stars, NOT because it doesn't HOLD your hair in place....it DOES, but it has a very strong, "chemically" odor, and it leaves a dull finish on the hair, once the hair is brushed out. I also found that my hair "clumped" up after spraying it. You have to use this product sparingly.
Having said that, I do have very fine hair that's rather thin, and it's long, so I don't use much spray. If I didn't know that this product was "Cruelty Free" I would certainly think that some harsh chemicals were tested on animals -- just from the scent alone.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silverfox37
fromNew Hampshire
Age:75+
Gender:Female
This is the best hairspray I have ever used.
 April 29, 2013
"I love this product and have been using it for years. It holds my hair in place all day. Looks natural and leaves no buildup of the product in my hair. Therefore my hair always looks natural and shiny. I always get complements on my hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elke10
fromdelray beach, fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 September 20, 2012
"Non toxic and makes my hair keep it's shape."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MamaViolet
fromDes Moines, IA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good for you but not the best out there
 April 24, 2012
"I purchased this and another hair spray at the same time because I wanted to try different natural products. This one does have the benefit of having very low if any chemicals in it, however when compared to the other product I purchased (LA HOLD hair spritz by giovanni) it did not do as well. The sprayer on this one does not coat your hair evenly, and it has a stronger alcohol smell. The giovanni one seemed to work better on my hair and have a much better spray."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ARYM
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent product!
 November 9, 2011
"This is a great spray. Really holds, and has no artificial preservatives or ingredients!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JamieS
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great hair spray
 October 25, 2011
"Can't live without this product! I searched high and low for a safer alternative to more toxic hair sprays. Love it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mireviews
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
BWC hairspray - Great buy!
 August 11, 2011
"The hairspray is a great addition to my routine and it gives me that added bonus of no animal testing. It has been rather humid lately and it loses strength over time but with that minor flaw it is comparable to any name brand hairspray and I would highly recommend it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
konkie44
fromConnecticut
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:61-180 days
My everyday hair care product
 November 29, 2010
"I use this to style my hair when dry and give extra hold and shape to my hair when wet. I did not find it to be drying. The smell is strong but only when you initially spray it (mostly an alcohol scent) -otherwise it does not have any fragrance to speak of. I will continue to use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drezdany
fromEl Cerrito, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best hairspray for fine hair
 April 10, 2010
"I've been using this for years now. I have long, fine, straight hair, and this hairspray just gives the extra bit of volume and hold. I even have to send it to my mother in Germany, as she had tried mine once, and loved it. My mom also has fine hair. This hairspray is not sticky or greasy. Important is to spray this one on when hair still WET or DAMP, then dry out. When spraying on dry hair, it gives it a wet look, and you might not want that."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LaCajun
fromLittle Rock
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
BWC Natural hold hair spray
 December 31, 2009
"Works fairly well in my fine hair which I admit is hard to keep in line. Does take longer to dry then the unnatural hair sprays. Only wish that BWC become a full member status with Skin Deep."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bdegross
fromMinneapolis, MN
Love this product!
 July 24, 2009
"I have been using this natural hairspray for about a year now. It does a great job to give you mild hold without making your hair feel sticky and hard. I also like that it is listed as a healthy product on Cosmetic Data Base. No harsh chemicals going on your skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IMACAGirl
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:61-180 days
 June 1, 2009
"I've been using this product for awhile now and am completely satisfied with it. It has minimal fragrance, a nice hold, and is gentle on the hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bugsviking
BWC alcohol-free hair spray
 April 27, 2009
"I think this is a great, alternative product to traditional hairsprays with all their awful ingredients. It gives a nice shine to the hair, it holds effectively, and it is very reasonably priced. My only complaint is that it doesn't always spray on so well (tends to squirt sometimes) and can be a little too stiff."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautyiswithin
Love this hairspray!
 March 20, 2009
"I wanted a hairspray that was as close as natural as you can get and was affordable. I have found that with this spray. It does have a strong smell after you spray it but it holds my long hair all day. I will continue to buy it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janiejo
fromSeymour, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
very good
 February 13, 2009
"holds well, will keep buying this"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
stabbie
fromLong Island, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
A Nice, Cruelty-Free Hairspray
 December 7, 2008
"This is a very nice hairspray that holds well and smooths out frizz without leaving your hair hard and crunchy. It doesn't smell offensive and is attractively packaged. It is more expensive than some hairsprays, but it is worth it to have a cruelty free hairspray that works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ecogreen
fromDuncanville, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
best hair spray i'v used
 May 30, 2008
"I would use this hair spray always. and think everone should"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bjtav
fromHanson, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Okay
 March 11, 2008
"Less chemicals, but just average product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Beauty Without Cruelty Hair Spray Natural Hold -- 8.5 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product