Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz

Benefits normal to oily skin. BWC 3% Alpha Hydroxy Complex is a lightly-foaming soap-free cleanser that effectively removes dead surface skin cells daily impurities and excess oil without over-cleaning your skin. Nature’s own alpha- and beta-hydroxy acids gently and deeply clean and actively clarify your skin without disturbing its natural balance. Pure organic aroma-therapeutic essential oils tone condition and calm—leaving your skin clean clear and refreshed.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
23 out of 28(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
doglover30
fromWestern MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This one's ok but...
 August 30, 2014
"I like the sensitive face wash better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dumspirospero
fromNew York
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Works well
 February 22, 2014
"I've had a lifelong struggle with oily skin and acne. I've tried many, many products and this is the first one that has truly helped clear up the blemishes. It can be a little bit drying, but other than that I have no complaints. There are no harsh chemicals and I feel good about the ingredients I'm using on my skin."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromNY
fromNY,Ny
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Made my eyes swell!
 December 26, 2013
"Very drying and my eyes became swollen after I used it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
melloo
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Amazing.... but...
 October 3, 2013
"This facial cleanser is great for my oily skin. I use it with my Clarisonic to get a deep clean. My only complaint is that it lathers a lot, so I tend to get it in my eyes at least twice a week. And then I am stuck with red eyes before bed.
I'm going to try to use less to see if it helps."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorriel
fromColorado Mountains
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 August 25, 2013
"Skin feels cleaner. Skin feel smoother.."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dfaltings
fromLivermore, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice.....
 June 1, 2013
"It cleaned well and makes your skin feel good, but is too strong for everyday use!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scrappinchick
I've been using this for years
 April 11, 2013
"I finally gave up on the fancy department store face products when i discovered this line at my local healthfood store. I have suffered from cystic acne for most of my life. This product has helped tremendously. My skin has never looked this good!. It perfectly balances my skin.. not too oily and not to dry and it removes make up gently. It only takes a drop so 1 bottle will last me about6 months. I use the matching lotion and eye cream as well as my children use the other versions of the face wash. I highly recommend this line of products"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthlygal
fromSan Francisco
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Yup this is wonderful!
 February 16, 2013
"For me it's a perfect cleansing product. This is definitely a 'regular' in my nightly cleansing routine."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Frenchie
fromBeautiful Bluegrass
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A Bit Harsh
 February 7, 2013
"If you are using any other exfoliating product or medication, you will find this product to be harsh/drying. Be careful! If you have sensitive skin, I would be wary of using this product. Caveat emptor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaeRenae
fromMontevideo, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice fresh face feeling.
 January 15, 2013
"Works great. It leaves my face feeling wonderful. It lasts a long time too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CuteC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very nice
 November 19, 2012
"This is very good, it leaves my face feeling soft and it does not dry my face out! I love it, this is the first time I try it... but I think that I will most likely buy this again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zoev
fromBrooklyn NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just the right balance!
 August 8, 2012
"This cleanser smells delicious yet clean, cleanses my face such that it feels clean but never dried out and the price is good. I have problematic combination skin - late 30's still oily and acne prone yet can dry out and am of course trying to combat aging now. This product strikes just the right balance. Did I mention I love the smell?"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaroNTX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Terrific cleanser!
 June 29, 2012
"I wish I'd found this cleanser earlier! It cleans without stripping, leaves my skin feeling soft and it isn't harsh but removes the oil like nothing I've used before. Wonderful product -- now a permanent part of my skin regimen."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
knurse
fromNew Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent gentle cleanser
 May 14, 2012
"Very pleased with this product. It cleanses well without stripping my face."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
polevault
Safe and effective
 February 22, 2011
"The title says it. Looking for non-toxic products and this one is it for me. Foams nicely (I like foam), no perfumes, good price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greengecko
fromRuidoso, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Doesn't dry out my skin
 January 24, 2011
"This is a wonderful cleanser. I use it for my whole body. Our water here is very hard and almost everybody uses water softener. This cleanser doesn't leave a film behind like soap does. My skin feels clean without feeling too dry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KarenSW
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product - great value!
 September 26, 2010
"My extreme combination and complicated skin (oily, dry, aging) loves this soap. Its so gentle yet really cleans my skin well and doesn't leave it feeling parched. Based on many other department store brands I've tried at twice the price, this is really a great deal. BWC makes terrific products. I wish they made cosmetics."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
liken0otherr
fromNew York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great face wash
 August 25, 2010
"leaves my skin feeling super clean without over drying. Would recommend this product to anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
heo5526
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
No Chemicals on My Face!
 February 17, 2010
"This face wash is great, I started using it several years ago when I was switching over to products not tested on animals. Once I started using it I couldn't believe I ever used all the chemicals in normal face wash on my skin! This stuff is organic, and it works well at keeping my face balanced. My husband switched over too from Neutrogena-type face wash (the orange stuff), and now loves this. My skin is pretty clear, and neutral (not particularly oily, but not real dry, either), and his is a bit more oily. Works great for both! Oh, and this is definitely the cheapest place to get it"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beauty Without Cruelty Facial Cleanser Alpha Hydroxy Complex -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tebbi
fromArlington, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best face wash ever
 September 25, 2009
"Folks with oily/normal skin - look no further for an effective and cost-friendly face wash! LOVE the fact that not only does it help control my oilies (a forehead that you could fry chicken off of by the afternoon), but it has noticeably improved the texture of my skin. I even turned my fiance into a believer."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next