Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz

Non-Toxic. No Dyes Fragrances or Chlorine. No Petroleum-Based Cleaners. No Phosphates. Not Tested on Animals. Safe for Septic Systems. Kosher-Certified.   "In our every deliberation we must consider the impact of our decisions on the next seven generations." -From the Great Law of the Iroquois Confederacy.  . We Disclose All Ingredients. You have the right to know what makes our cleaning products SAFE for people and the environment as well as EFFECTIVE at getting the job done so we include a full ingredients list on all of our cleaners. Thank you for purchasing this Seventh Generation product! -Jeffrey Hollender President and Chief Inspired Protagonist.  . Did You Know? If every household in the U.S. replaced just one box of 75 oz automatic dishwashing detergent containing phosphates with our phosphate free product we could save 100 million pounds of phosphates from entering our rivers lakes and streams.  . Safe. This product is formulated to be safe for your family and the environment. Our unique ingredient combination is a biodegradable chlorine and phosphate free alternative to conventional dishwashing detergents.  . Effective. Protection Agent Alkalinity Builder: Helps to protect dishes and dishwasher parts and helps achieve target pH. Water Softener: Removes water hardness for enhanced cleaning performance without the use of phosphates. Anti-spotting Agent: Provides sheeting action and anti-spotting performance
Overall rating:
4.491 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
49 out of 55(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Review 1 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smilinglady
fromIowa
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Gets rid of dishwasher 'blight' on glasses.
 July 20, 2014
"One tablespoon per load does a great job so large box of powder goes a long way!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
daddyjmbo
fromportland oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
good, safe product
 June 20, 2014
"I feel good about this product--it may not get the dishes quite
as clean, although it does a pretty good job, but it's environmentally friendly and not expensive. I will keep using it and I recommend it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sukul
fromhamden, ct
great product
 June 1, 2014
"We use half the recommended amount, and dishes come out sparkling clean."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bbinthesprings
fromPasco, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Seventh Generation Dish Detergent better than gel!
 May 29, 2014
"I was pleasantly surprised after ordering this product and thinking I was getting gel dishwasher detergent that it does a much better job - will stick with it! Good price of course from Vitacost my favorite online store!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Senthil
fromBoston
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best laundry product
 January 28, 2014
"This is the least ecologically damaging laundry detergent. Though it's expensive (relatively), look at the long long term, the policy makers should ban other detergent which harm so much damage to the earth. due to the phosphate. I love 7th generation products for their conscience and Vitacost for making it available at an affordable cost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
OrangeHibiscus
fromBangkok
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Left a white coating inside dishwasher
 January 24, 2014
"For a couple weeks before this came in the mail, I was without dishwashing detergent (overseas) and was using five drops of liquid dishwashing soap and then baking soda to fill the rest of the soap dispenser, which I'd read online that you can do. That little concoction worked great, but then when the Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent came, it didn't work nearly as well, and in fact, left a sort of white scum all over the metal inside of the dishwasher. Easy to scrub off, but didn't make me feel like the dishes were getting very clean."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Budgie678
fromVA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 21, 2014
"This is a very good cleaner and at a good price. It really cleans the dishes well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JMBJMC
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I like this Detergent!
 January 11, 2014
"I tried four different powders in the last year and this is my favorite. I used to use Cascade and when they took the phosphates out I didn't know what to do. Terrible looking dishes! Then I started adding a product called Lemi Shine to help with the water spots. After a time I started researching on Vitacost to see what they had to offer. I tried three powders with them and I also tried Wave Auto dishwasher gel with built in rinse aid by Earth Friendly products. So what I came up with to use was Seventh Generation powder in my first detergent compartment and then I use just a little bit of Wave in my second compartment. And that seems to be working fine. I am very satisfied. I was ready to stop using my dishwasher before turning to Vitacost .After phosphates weren't used a lot of the detergents were also gettting very expensive This is affordable for me. I don't have to use a lot."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BettyL
fromPittsburgh
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Product does a great job!
 January 1, 2014
"I like using this product because I trust it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOrganic
fromLafayette, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Does a great job
 November 20, 2013
"We've used this dishwashing detergent for several months and I've always had great success with it. Our dishes always come out clean."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bidijaw
fromOklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Definite yes
 October 13, 2013
"I have been making my own washing detergent due to allergies for the past few years. I saw this, the price was right and I tried it. I will continue to purchase this and use it.
It cleans superbly and doesn't irritate my allergies.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
georgiapeachy
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Non-toxic and it works!
 July 30, 2013
"This is the best non-toxic dishwasher powder or liquid we've ever tried. It's the only one that works just as well or better than the Cascade we were using before. Unlike our old products, this one has an "A" grade on Environmental Working Group's database."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
farnsworth
fromBeachwood, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
great company and product
 July 20, 2013
"recommended by EWG"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ggpat
fromMcMinnville, Or.
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Cleans the best.
 June 29, 2013
"Not only cleans the best, but good for the environment & lasts a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jess418
fromSpringfield, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great green product
 May 27, 2013
"This is my go to detergent. It cleans everything and I know it's safe for the earth and my family. Just be careful not to overfill the dishwasher or you might have a film on your dishes."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teach
fromMiddletown, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works great
 May 17, 2013
"We have had no trouble with this product. No smell, no residue, no spots!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
oliverocks
fromPortland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Cleans well
 May 11, 2013
"I really like this powder and finds that it cleans dishes better than liquid. I also like that it is bio-degradable and earth friendly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erica7
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great job without all the chemicals!
 April 22, 2013
"Washes dishes clean without all the chemicals! Tried other natural products that did not work as well. Give this one a 10 and ranks as one of the best chemical free products by the EWG. Great price through Vitacost as welll."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wichester
fromWI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
does the job safely
 April 10, 2013
"I feel good using Seventh Generation products. This product does a great job of cleaning without chemicals. I have been using it for along time now & love the Vitacost price. A little goes a long way."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seventh Generation Automatic Dishwashing Detergent Free & Clear -- 75 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grace1980
fromSan Francisco
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The Best
 April 6, 2013
"Works great, great for the environment, and great price. Cannot ask for more."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next