Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz

Rice Pasta & Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese.  • Gluten-Free.  • No Artificial Anything™.  • Scored 9 out of 10 for Taste by Gluten-Free Users. From the time of Annie's first product a small but growing group of you who are wheat- and gluten-intolerant have suggested we produce a wheat- and gluten-free macaroni and cheese. It may seem a wheat- and gluten-free product has been a long time in coming! Thank you for your patience and support. Please know it has been especially gratifying for us to create Annie's Rice Pasta & Cheddar and to have it produced in a wheat- and gluten-free facility.
Overall rating:
4.328 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
58 out of 64(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Review 1 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kazanowski
 November 7, 2014
"Delicious"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcpare
fromMontreal, Quebec, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tastes just like regular mac and cheese
 November 6, 2014
"This product takes just like kraft dinner. It's delicious and gluten free. My husband loves it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PwderGMilk
fromLouisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great.
 October 2, 2014
"Comparable to Kraft mac 'n' cheese."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Littlemama522
fromVirginia
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I love these
 April 7, 2014
"I honestly could eat a vegetable, an applegate organic hotdog and a bowl of this every day for lunch for the rest of my life and still look forward to lunch. :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tdillo
fromSturgeon Bay, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Cheezy
 February 23, 2014
"Tastes a little fake to me, much prefer the white shells and cheddar mac&cheese by Annie's."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mussman
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My Kids Love It!
 December 2, 2013
"We live in Bali and visit the States twice a year. I always fill a suitcase with 5 cases and we are lucky is it last 2 months. When ever one of our friends comes to visit, the price of our guest room is a bottle of single malt for me and a case of Annie's Mac and Cheese for the kids. Truth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tearbear
fromPA.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Mac and cheese !
 November 13, 2013
"I served this mac and cheese to my grandchildren and wasn't sure if they would notice a difference from other mac and cheese mixes. You know how picky children can be about certain foods. I can say this product was a big hit . So now this brand of mac and cheese is the only brand I buy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sundi
fromAustin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
tastes just like the "real" thing
 December 1, 2012
"Since stopping gluten at our house I had tried a couple of mixes from other companies offering gluten-free options but was so disappointed I stopped trying completely. Decided to try Annie's gluten-free mac and cheese and decided to try it on a whim, and I'm glad I did. The rice pasta does NOT taste like paper or grit - it's actually delicious and has a great texture. I'll definitely buy this again and again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaeRenae
fromMontevideo, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
love this box
 November 4, 2012
"tastes great, cooks nice, gluten free"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrsMe
fromCentral WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good pasta but gets hard when cold.
 October 29, 2012
"I like this mac and cheese... BUT it's not that good GF pasta. I have used several other brands of GF pasta and they work pretty well like other pasta. You don't use it all, put it in the fridge, and it's fine. This gets hard as half cooked pasta. It can still be used if you heat it up with a lot of liquid. If you eat it all at once, no problem. But if you're like me and usually have left overs, it could be better. I still buy it though because I can get around it. Hubby still hasn't got the concept of "recooking it" so I can't send left overs in his lunch. Oh well, more for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
IrishFiddle
Not That Great
 October 19, 2012
"When I read reviews that said this product was like the 'well known' mac and cheese, that's what I kind of expected. I found this particular rice and cheese to be lacking in flavor. It's really very bland, and you definitely have to leave it sit for quite a while for the sauce to thicken up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flcat23
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yummy
 October 3, 2012
"For those times when you have to have mac n cheese, and don't have the time for the desire to make it homemade.
Better than kraft blue box, and creamier. Not as fake tasting and overly salty like the other.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ViveLaWoman
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best option Easy to make
 September 29, 2012
"This is an excellent addition to my Gluten free diet. Easy to make and easier to eat! YUMMY. A must have for all Gluten Free pantries. Only thing better is the Annies Deluxe which has the liquid cheese packet instead of the powder. Also, Vitacost is the cheapest place I have found the product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LGrose
fromIndiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Easy Mac and Cheese!
 September 25, 2012
"I love this stuff. I had missed quick, boxed mac and cheese until I ordered this. When you don't have time to make homemade, this is great! I love the taste, and it's really easy to make! I could eat the whole box in one sitting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
AtHomeMomLovesFood
fromHollywood, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I find this product just ok...
 September 23, 2012
"This pasta is great for a number of reasons: the vegan ingredients, the gluten-free-ness, the texture of the finished product, it does taste okay also, etc. I don't like it because: I was hoping for a cheesier taste. :( Don't get me wrong, it's cheesy, but if I could put the taste into words...the finished product tastes like the cheese powder before turning sauce. It's just ok for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lysia
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 September 20, 2012
"We found regular Annie's Mac and Cheese years back and started using it rather than the other. We were thrilled to learn that there was a Gluten Free version available after I found out I was allergic to wheat. It is just as good as the regular Mac and Cheese which is better than the other name brands on the market."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
anonymouse
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ugh
 September 12, 2012
"This is not something I like doing, but I have to give this a bad review. This is honestly the most disgusting rendition of mac and cheese I have ever tasted. So much so, that I vowed never to bring it into my home again. My eldest found it a disappointment but my husband and youngest do not seem to mind it. (On the side, my husband likes most things and is not a picky eater.)
I can honestly say, it was more like fake cheese and rubber. No exaggeration. That is what it felt like I was eating taste and texture wise.
To be fair, my best friend seems to like it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
octGF
My kids love this!
 August 1, 2012
"I am not a fan of most mac and cheese but my kids love this and ask me to order each time I place an order"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RacquelD
fromJohnstown, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best GF Mac & Cheese
 June 27, 2012
"My son loves it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Pasta and Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
inspiredbyjulia
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this mac and cheese
 May 3, 2012
"If you need to be gluten-free, give this a try. The pasta is not mushy like many other rice pastas and the cheese sauce is comparable to non-gluten free mac and cheese box mixes (although I never follow the box instructions to add 1/4 cup milk, then it would be way too thin for me). My only gripe is at the small amount of pasta in the box. If you have to feed more than 2 kids, cook two boxes. ;)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next