Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz

Moisturizing. Vegetable Based. Since 1878. Moisturizing Shea Butter Soap with Lavender & Vanilla ...is a captivating comfort soap. Shea Butter rich in Vitamins A & E and natural UV protection is helpful in healing eczema rashes burns and dry chapped skin. Lavender and Vanilla have long been recognized for their stress relieving and mood-lifting qualities. Nourish your damaged skin with Shea Butter's intense moisturizing action while the luscious aroma of Lavender and Vanilla soothes your frayed nerves. How can you shea "No"?
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Review 1 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wilddorothy
fromsmall town, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it!
 June 29, 2014
"it's great in the bath. great lather. my skin feels soft and moisturized. i put bars of it in my closets. it make towels and sheets smell wonderful. i also like grandpa's oatmeal soap. i wouldn't use anything except grandpa's soaps, since i discovered them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pauser
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Choice for Everyday Use
 December 5, 2013
"I recently discovered Grandpa's Soap and used the Shea Butter with Lavender for the first time this week. It's gentle and I really like the scent. My bathroom smells like Lavender too. I also like that there aren't all kinds of weird ingredients that I've never heard of - just basic soap. I prefer a little more lather than this creates, but it's a good choice for an everyday soap. If you can't afford a luxury bar of soap, this is a good budget option."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lishelly
fromWV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fabulous!
 January 24, 2013
"This smells incredible and feels great! I use it on my son and myself. This is great soap! It reaaly doesn't seem to strip our skin of moisture!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyMariesHair
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells and feels Great!
 January 12, 2013
"This product is Good for my skin and also smells light, Love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantine
fromMontana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this soap
 December 9, 2012
"I have delicate and sensitive skin that is easily irritated. I used to make my own soap but I no longer do so since discovering Grandpa's soaps... delicious!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mynudge
fromNew York State
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Thank You, Grandpa!!
 July 1, 2011
"This soap is very mild and has a pleasant aroma which makes me feel fresh. I tend to have dry skin and this product is very moisturizing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
terryv
fromKennewick, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 April 1, 2011
"very soothing on your skin"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bambalina
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful fragrance
 March 10, 2011
"If you love lavender this is a great soap! It is a softer soap so it tends to go fast. Great moisturizing properties with the shea butter. Its a true lavender scent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nukemmcssret
Good Soap
 October 25, 2010
"If you like Lavender and Vanilla then this soap is for you. It leaves you feeling soft and silky and really smelling good. Buy some today!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hd1200
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Nice soap
 July 14, 2010
"Liked this soap after first try and have continued to use it as main shower soap. Mild pleasant fragrance and very gentle on the skin leaving it soft and clean. Cannot think of any negatives."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PasadenaRN
Nice soap
 April 16, 2010
"I like this soap. It's smooth and creamy and smells nice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deb1960
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 March 3, 2010
"This soap really lathers up nicely. Some of the natural soaps don't give you that lather. Leaves skin feeling clean and with lots of moisture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sandybee
fromAmerican Canyon, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best Smell
 October 2, 2009
"This soap smells so good. It fills the bathroom. The soap feels good too. I like that it has natural ingredients that are good for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
starlett
fromAnchorage
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Best choice
 September 29, 2009
"Great soap for many skin types. Cleans well, does not dry and smells nice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
svan3
fromOklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Creamy lather
 September 21, 2009
"Nice smelling, creamy lather."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bekky
Nice
 March 23, 2009
"This soap is quite nice, and lasted a long time. The lavender smell seemed a little different from essential oils. It was more of a lavender perfume smell. But still good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sernadak
fromSouthern Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Pharmacist
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good Old Fashioned Soap
 February 24, 2009
"Grandpa's Shea Butter soap is wonderful! It washes off clean, smells great and is very moisturizing. The all natural ingredients are a great thing too. No chemicals or dyes. The only bad thing about it is that is doesn't last long enough!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaneAusten
Awesome soap
 January 26, 2009
"I really loved everything about this soap. Well, except maybe the strong smell. But I got over that. It leaves my skin moistened like no lotion or anything else has ever done. But you don't have that feeling you've just been "sliimmed" by the oil. It's a very clean feeling when you use it. And after rinsing, your body is moisturized but not feeling sticky or heavy. I really loved it. One thing that was disappointing was that it's such a small bar of soap for the price. I wish it was a giant bar at the same price. But if you can afford it, I would buy it, because it is better than anything I've ever tried before!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loving2bmom
fromSeattle WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Decent bar of soap
 June 16, 2008
"OK, when you read shea butter, lavender, and vanilla, you're thinking, "Oh, that sounds wonderful!" In reality, since it's not artificially infused it doesn't smell all that great. It's a bar of good, natural, reasonably priced soap. It does the job on the hands in the bathroom and it doesn't turn into a gooey, slimy mess in the soap dish.
I think they've done a pretty good job of getting a really compact/compressed bar of soap here. I didn't buy it for it's hand softening power. I bought it for the kids bathroom. For that, it's working just fine.
I'd probably buy it again just because for a chemical free bar of soap, it's a darn good price! I will not, however, be taking it with me to soak in the spa tub. That spot is reserved for something that smells a little better."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Grandpa's Bar Soap Moisturizing Shea Butter with Lavender and Vanilla -- 3.25 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product