Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

New! Advanced Formula. Since 1878. Helps to Remove Flakes of Dandruff Seborrhea & Psoriasis. Grandpa's Wonder Pine Tar Shampoo. Helps to remove flakes of dandruff schorrhea and psoriasis ... is one of the world's great shampoos!
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
20 out of 23(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RosalynP
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The best I got to try!
 June 2, 2014
"This shampoo is the best I got to try over a several anti-dandruff shampoos that were recommended. It really helps, reduces the amount of dandruff and really reduces the itchiness that comes along especially if you have skin conditions like seborrhea.
It's the only one I actually repurchased.
Note that the pine tar really smells, so your hair will smell somewhat like BBQ sauce afterwards... (at first it was really weird but I got used to this).
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muff2
fromDenver, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product works
 February 27, 2014
"Nothing else has worked to control my husband's itchy scalp. Once a week is all he needs to use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TandaBear
fromVancouver, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
cleans and keeps the dander off my scalp!
 February 18, 2014
"Since I started using Grandpa's shampoo my hair has been dander free."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hearnow
fromLake County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great stuff
 March 7, 2013
"We know of no other shampoo that works to prevent dandruff so well as Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo. It leaves a pleasant after fragrance that's not at all strong."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Juiciana
Age:45-54
Great shampoo
 January 30, 2013
"My husband had problems with dandruff, no other shampoo helped to reduce the problem. Now he uses the shampoo daily and it helped a great deal. It smells a little bit but is worth it, because it is helpful and mild enough for sensetive skin."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nk534
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
LOVE Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo!
 January 14, 2013
"The shampoo leaves my hair soft and shiny. Some people might be put-off by the initial strong pine tar aroma of the shampoo, but it doesn't leave a strong aroma after the hair is rinsed. Bottom Line: I'll continue to use this product...as long as they don't change the formula, like what happened to the previous shampoo that I used for about 20 years!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mothe
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent shampoo!
 January 11, 2013
"I have enjoyed this shampoo since I first tried it years ago. Personally, I like the smell. It has a clean smell, lathers very well with just a small amount, leaves my hair soft, and also helps maintain my scalp.
It doesn't have a flowery fragrance, but it's not nearly as severe as the name implies.
It's certainly worth a try.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
charly2012
from中国
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
非常好的产品
 September 27, 2012
"洗发水给了我很大的帮助。"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nukemmcssret
Do you like your hair?
 October 25, 2010
"This product makes my scalp feel refreshed and vitalized. My hair is soft and needs no conditioner after using Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
infogal
fromMissouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
shampoo
 October 14, 2010
"So far this shampoo is working great for me. I can usually only use a shampoo for 5 to 6 months before I have to change. I am hoping this will be diff. It cleans my hair well and leaves it with no itch or flakes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
belloq
TALLOW IS ANIMAL FAT!!!
 June 16, 2010
"This product contains tallow. Tallow is animal fat. I find it disturbing that ingredients are published for nearly all other products here, and most other Grandpa's products are publicized as "no animal by-products" so one may assume, and perhaps be misled, that all of Grandpa's products are animal-free. I would not have purchased if ingredients were listed. I also noticed that ingredients are not listed for the Grandpa's pine tar soap bars. Now I'm stuck with four of Gradnpa's Pine Tar products at about $16 and won't use any of them."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rsteele24
Tar Shampoo....
 May 12, 2010
"This is the best shampoo to get rid of any danderuff and residue on your hair. My daughter loves it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mejda
fromDekalb, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Did not work for me
 September 8, 2009
"I used this product for about a month, but found no relieve from my scalp condition. If anything, the itching got worse. So I discontinued its use and went to buy and use another shampoo. Sorry."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happyj58
fromSanta Clarita, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best shampoo ever
 July 23, 2009
"This is hands down the best shampoo I have ever used. It has an unusual pleasant pine tar scent. Great lather. I wash my oily hair everyday, and I still have all my hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Itchyscalp
Disappointed
 December 31, 2008
"I used to love your shampoo until you altered the contents. I used it for several years. The pine tar by itself was great but you decided to add a sulphur component to which I seem to be allergic. Besides, there are a dozen shampoos that depend on sulphur compounds and now yours is just another one of many that I cannot use. And to think I bought two bottles before I noticed the change! Please go back to your old formula or I will be forced to use expensive prescription shampoos!"
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wrot11
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Cleans hair well
 September 19, 2008
"Lasting scent my children like"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MasterChief47
fromHuntsville, Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo
 July 26, 2008
"I use this product as a body wash, it has a great frangrance and I really feel clean after a shower. To me there is something about the smell of pine that seems fresh. I highly recommend this product as a shampoo and body wash."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharlynn
fromCentral California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Really cleans
 May 16, 2008
"I have used other Granpa's products and this like the others cleans really well. The pine smell stays with you a bit long, so I only use it if I am not going out around others that day. I would purchase it again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Grandpa's Pine Tar Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product