Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz

Grandpa's Wonder Pine Tar Soap is One of the World's Great Soaps. Excellent for bathing showering shaving and shampooing. Many loyal user have been telling us for generations how "wonder"ful it cleans moisturizes and deodorizes. They have described it as being helpful in removing the scales of Psoriasis Dandruff Eczema and other skin irritations. There are no added colors or fragrances to mask the rich brown color and distinctive scent of natural Pine Tar Oil.
Overall rating:
4.532 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
71 out of 79(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Review 1 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
juliegrace
fromAustralia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 November 30, 2014
"Gave this soap to my adult son who loves it, so I then purchased 6 more so he had plenty of stock"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thegoodlife
Love, love this soap
 October 21, 2014
"If you don't mind, or you even like, smelling a little outdoorsy then this soap is for you. I use this soap sparingly because it cleans very thoroughly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mkiwi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 October 9, 2014
"worth the smell and you get used to the smell quickly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SamSamps
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smell like a man
 August 13, 2014
"My husband & 3 sons love this soap. I like the smell on them but personally do not like smellng like campfire unless I've actually been camping..."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ahbmom
My husband loves this
 July 21, 2014
"I always order multiples because he never wants to run out. Great product for shaving. Strong manly smell"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1Reese
fromTX, AZ, CA, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome For Your Body!
 July 4, 2014
"This soap was used by my Momma long before I grew-up and started buying it for myself, then for my own family to use! The Pine Tar Bar is for relief of so many discomfort issues with skin (read the box).
Great to use after a day out in the yard being eaten up with Mosquito bites, just lather up and let set while you wash your hair, then rinse off, pat dry. Lather is wonderful, the smell always brings me back to my childhood. Others, it may not be such a pleasant smell, but you will enjoy the relief to your skin! We use all Grandpa's Brands.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Golddust400
fromGary, IN
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Refreshing
 May 23, 2014
"First time trying a pine tar soap. I like it. It leaves me refreshed and uplifted."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeyvee
fromBaltimore Maryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A great body soap for itchy skin!
 March 3, 2014
"My skin got really got really dry this winter, and this soap really relieved that! The smell might at first put you off, but it rinses clean and does the job! I guess that why it has been around for 100 years, because it works!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oskari
fromOakland, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Power Wash
 February 28, 2014
"Wow! If you like irish spring you'll probably love this soap and it's has a much more natural feel. It's power washing soap that leaves you feeling clean and refreshed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CEDOBBS
fromWILLOW STREET, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Grandpa's Pine Tar Soap
 January 10, 2014
"There are a few different brands of Pine Tar Soap being sold today if you can find them. By far Grandpa's brand is the best!
I've been using Pine Tar Soap for about 15 years to control a skin problem. This soap does a good job!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ampersand
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect soap
 November 24, 2013
"I love Grandpa's Pine Tar soap. I have combo skin and it works perfectly to remove all make-up and makeup remover residue. I also use it with my Clarisonic in the morning.
My fiance, actually loves using it too, in the shower (as I do) so I buy it in "bulk" (3-pack) monthly.
I love the smell- it's very smokey/woody, which I personally love.
I like really basic, natural, kindof retro things that have stood the test of time, and this soap is all of those things.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeAverage
fromcentral, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A Fine Product
 December 5, 2012
"I've used pine tar soaps for over 35 years to address excema and just really bad skin. The original brands I used don't seem to be around or available any longer. I'm not sure when I found Grandpa's but it has to be at least 10 years ago. It does what it needs to do for me - it's no miracle medicine or anything like that but it does improve my skin. I do not find the smell of the soap to be a problem as reported by some - yes, out of the box it can be a surprise and I guess maybe for the first couple days of use someone will notice the smell in the bathroom but after that it's not really noticable. No one in all the years I've used it has ever commented on me smelling "odd" after bathing with it. If you have any skin problems I would recommend giving it a try."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mygrandmasaysimkool
fromAlberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
BEST EVER!
 December 3, 2012
"After years of trying various acne products (both high and low) I've finally found my holy grail product. Although I havn't been using this soap for long, it's by far the best product I have ever tried for my acne. It will make your bathroom stink (luckily the scent will not stay on your body) but I'm willing to over look that because of the great results it gives. It does not make my skin dry (I do have very oily skin) but it does dry out my hands (nothing a little moisturiser won't fix). I use this on both my body and face.
Please note: I did try the Thylox soap by Grandpa and had better results with the Pine Tar."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momsrockgarden
fromEverett, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 2, 2012
"My son loves this "soap" for his hair and body, he has allergy skin, (excema) this is the one product he always goes back to, a hard to find in the stores product, thankfully vitacost always has in stock, so now I always have some for him.. Not to heavy of a scent, pleasent. son is 24 so somewhat fussy to scents he might have on."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrandMaster
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Very distinctive fragrance, great for the skin.
 October 30, 2012
"This soap has a quite strong scent that you might not like if you're looking for floral or sweet smelling scents. It's definitely more suited to a man unless you're a woman who has a particular fondness for the smell of pine pitch which is pretty much what this smells like. The strongest smelling soap I've ever used but I would certainly buy it again.
The lather is rich, small bubbles, many of them. Leaves your skin feeling refreshed and not dry. Lasts a good while too, doesn't tend to melt away."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zephyr3
 October 5, 2012
"good price - fast shipping"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vicariously
fromMaine
Gender:Female
I use this to remove makeup -
 September 21, 2012
"before I wash my face. It works better than anything else I have tried. You only need a small amount on your hands and it gets everything - even mascara - off quickly."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RamaSan
fromSingapore
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
An Excellent Product
 September 12, 2012
"This has become my favourite soap for the body, face, as a shampoo and for shaving. It leaves me feeling clean and fresh. For shaving I found it to be superior to commercial shaving foam. I have thick facial hair but with Grandpa's, I found I need just one downstroke, no multiple strokes or upstrokes; no aftershave burn or nicks. What used to be a mundane chore has now become pleasurable and I look forward to taking showers."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
wannaKeephealth
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Like But Pricey
 August 30, 2012
"I like it more than the Ivory Soap which I have preferred over all the other bars at supermarkets for years! I really wish it was priced lower though."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KDP2
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Favorite
 August 2, 2012
"This is my favorite soap to use. You can even wash your hair with it. Good stuff."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next