Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz

Grandpa's Wonder Pine Tar Soap is One of the World's Great Soaps. Excellent for bathing showering shaving and shampooing. Many loyal user have been telling us for generations how "wonder"ful it cleans moisturizes and deodorizes. They have described it as being helpful in removing the scales of Psoriasis Dandruff Eczema and other skin irritations. There are no added colors or fragrances to mask the rich brown color and distinctive scent of natural Pine Tar Oil.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
90 out of 99(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Review 1 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ClaudeDd
fromRed Deer, Alberta, Canada
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great Product
 January 7, 2016
"Leaves you feeling clean and refreshed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fallschirmjager
fromWaco, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
best price
 January 2, 2016
"speedy delivery, only retailer I use for this sopa which I have used since 1974"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ghot
fromColorado Springs
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nothing like it...
 November 27, 2015
"A lot of people have a hard time describing the smell of this dark, brown soap, but in a word: CAMPFIRE. No kidding. (Seal this soap in an airtight container if you don't want everything in your linen closet to smell like it.)
Even though it smells strong right out of the box, don't worry- you won't smell like a campfire after using it. It's rich, white lather cleans and calms itchy skin. My husband loves it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UmmSUH3
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Husband loves it for his beard
 November 6, 2015
"My husband read on a beard blog it was great for cleansing. He loves it and though it has a strong scent(woodsy, man scent) while using doesn't have a lingering scent rinses cleans."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kacki
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Soap
 November 4, 2015
"Used from face to toe. After a few days use my skin was very soft and smooth. The soap seems to exfoliate rough spots and I didn't need any moisturizer except on my face. The smell isn't so great. I would describe it like bacon. However, within a few minutes after showering you can't smell it on your skin anymore. It is well worth putting up with the smell for how great it is for the skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wooopoopoopoopoo
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best soap ever
 November 3, 2015
"just takes a moment to get used to the tar smell but it doesn't stay on the body and my skin loves it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobody52
fromKemp, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My husband loves this soap!
 October 31, 2015
"My husband has very dry skin and drove me crazy with his constant scratching. A friend used the pine tar soap and suggested I get some for my husband. I did and we both noticed a difference the first night. It has been wonderful ever since he started using it. Had to order more today because he was on his last bar and did not want to run out. Thank you for such a wonderful product. It has been a life saver. I am going to try it when the new order comes in. Didn't order much the first time because I did not know if it would work but it far exceeded my expectations."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
codfish
frommichigan
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
soft wonderful clean results
 September 23, 2015
"Took a minute to get use to the tar smell but now I love it.Even washed my hair with the soap and it worked beautifully."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bythesea
fromMA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Weird smell, but we really like it
 September 12, 2015
"Tried this soap based on other buyers reviews. I wasn't sure how my family would like it as it smells strong and I wish I could describe how it smells, but I can't.
At first, the scent is very strange and potent, but you grow to love it. It washes and rinses off well, it lathers up a storm, and is gentle so it doesn't dry out face or cause irritation. I feel great after I shower with it. Some say it clears up skin problems, but I can't say as I don't have any.
If you like trying different soaps, give this one a try. If you don't like it, you can send it to me.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potatoe2
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 July 30, 2015
"I've been using Grandpa's Pine Tar soap for a couple of years now and I love it. Even my wife, who has sensitive skin, has started using it and her skin loves it. I've also found that it works great as a shaving soap lathering better than just about any other soap I've used. It's my go-to soap now and I even take it when I'm traveling as it works quite well even as shampoo."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honey333
fromUtah
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap
 July 26, 2015
"Very happy with the soap! Strong smell but you get a great clean from it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBrazil
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
5 stars
 July 20, 2015
"5 stars for this soap"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rahatlukum
fromIsrael
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great natural soap
 July 12, 2015
"I like it very much, it doesn't dry my skin and cleans really well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JLFlorida
fromMiami, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent All Natural Soap
 May 27, 2015
"A mild non drying all natural soap which does an excellent skin cleaning job while keeping it moisturized. As for the smell it is exactly as nature intended pure pine tar to smell.
It is one of my favorite soaps and one of the best personal soaps on the market, on par with pure castile olive oil soaps such as the excellent ones offered by Kiss MY Face"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bluebirddays
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wow!
 May 18, 2015
"Wow, not in a good way. The smell was just too intense. I did buy the green tea loofah Grandpa's soap - much better. I'm certain the quality is in this soap but I'd never use it because of the smell."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anzie
fromWatertown, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My husband loves this!
 May 17, 2015
"I like that it doesn't have harsh ingredients and my skin feels clean."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swampdragon
great soap
 May 15, 2015
"I love the smell of this soap (though it might not be for everyone) and it lathers really well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adalton
fromMaryland
Pine Tar Soap
 May 5, 2015
"This soap smells amazing! It lathers well and is medicinal in nature."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SnowGypsy
fromKS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Grandpa's Products Are Great!
 December 5, 2014
"We love this soap. We tried an off-brand and it didn't compare. This soap leaves you feeling clean without drying out your skin or leaving you perfumed. You get a lot of suds and they are soft. Quality is the same batch to batch so they aren't cutting corners like so many other companies."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grandpa's Pine Tar Bar Soap -- 4.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
juliegrace
fromAustralia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 November 30, 2014
"Gave this soap to my adult son who loves it, so I then purchased 6 more so he had plenty of stock"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next